We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Exciting, and Fun make the Santa Claran the only place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Claran Hotel Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Claran Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   464 North Riverside Drive, connected to Santa Claran Casino, Espanola, NM 87532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Exciting, and Fun make the Santa Claran the only place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This top notch hotel is more like an upscale resort. The beautiful decor from the lobby through the hallways to your room are top notch. General Manager Dennis Pendergast oversees a professional and friendly staff- Gilbert and Michelle at the Front Desk could not have been nicer or more helpful. The adjoning casino is exciting, clean, and with three different restaurants to choose from. The steakhouse was exceptional, with great variety as we enjoyed the Ruby Trout entree along with our other courses. My husband raved about the Black Mesa Golf Course as a must do for any golfer, one of New Mexico's best. We even got a kick out of the "Elvis" show in their Event Center. All in all, lots to do all in the same place with very affordable pricing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
41
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed in a standard double queen room. The room had a gorgeous view. The entire place is new and clean. The beds were super comfortable with an impressive array of pillows available to suit sleeping preferences. The bathroom was really outstanding with a large and beautiful vanity area and really lovely shower. I would expect to pay far more for this room in any larger city. We had a great time. The front desk was helpful and friendly--all the staff greeted us warmly. There is a casino "attached." The food at breakfast at the cafe was outstanding, inexpensive and plentiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Traveling north for our week long stay in New Mexico, we were ready to call it a night by the time we got to Espanola. Driving through town to get a feel for the other hotels made it pretty obvious we wanted to stay at the Santa Claran. We were more than happy to find out from a very helpful lady in the lobby that not only was there a room available, but we would also get a discount and free money for going over to the casino to play. We were in.

All that aside, the room was amazing. It was definitely affordable luxury and for our first night in NM, it would be hard to top. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was very clean, and we loved the modern southwest décor and especially the artwork and photos in the room and throughout the hotel.

We used the exercise facility which was a nice bonus. It didn’t seem quit done though because there was a weight bench, but no free weights. And the room could have used a clock. Other than that, this was the perfect place to stay.

Oh, and the view from our room gave us one of the best views of a sunrise the whole trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel was very modern, clean and NICE. Our room had lots of space and nice upgrades. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Espanola NM area.
It's also near the Santuario de Chimayo about 15-20 minutes away. It's worth the drive! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here one night while passing through town. We were quite pleased with our room. It was clean, spacious, and well decorated.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The Santa Claran Hotel is a brand new hotel. It's very tastefully decorated in the Southwestern style with beautiful native american art displayed. The common areas are gracious and comfortable. The room with king-size bed that we had was large, airy, beautifully decorated and spotless. The bathroom was large and the shower was great. The bed was really comfortable and the bed linens (including pillows) were very good quality. The A/C and heating system worked really well. The gift shop in the lobby of the hotel (not the gift shop near the Casino) sells beautiful pottery and jewelry made by native Santa Clara artists at reasonable prices. The hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They made excellent suggestions on points of interest and restaurants to try. The Cafe in the hotel has good food at good prices. There's also a Steakhouse in the hotel that we didn't try. There's a Casino attached to the hotel but it didn't make the rooms noisy and the hotel security was very good. We were just going to stay at the hotel for one night but we decided to stay for a week and use it as our base for exploring this area of New Mexico. It's in a central location - there are several short scenic drives and lots of points of interest nearby (Bandilier National Monument, Los Alamos, Taos, native american pueblos, several great New Mexico wineries, etc). We thought Taos was crowded, touristy and expensive. The AAA rate for the Santa Claran Hotel was approximately $70/night. I'm sure we would have paid over $200/night for similar accomodation in Taos.

Definitely try Angelina's restaurant but skip El Paragua - it's expensive and over-rated. It seems to be living on a reputation it acquired in the 1970-1980's. The house Margarita costing over $8.00 was extremely disappointing and my husband had a very dry, tough Pollo Mexican (roast chicken).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Claran Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claran Hotel Casino

Address: 464 North Riverside Drive, connected to Santa Claran Casino, Espanola, NM 87532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claran Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Claran Hotel is conveniently located North of Santa Fe and South of Toas in the heart of Northern New Mexico. The blend of Native American, Spanish and Mexican influences are featured in this newest hotel in the North of New Mexico. With its finely appointed atmosphere, quiet surroundings, majestic views and noted hospitality and service, the Santa Claran is the best value, within minutes of the historic, natural and spiritual attractions of the Santa Clara Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Claran Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Claran Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.