We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dam Site Resort and Marina

Dam Site Resort and Marina
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elephant Butte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dam Site Resort and Marina
Save
You added Dam Site Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Lakeshore Road, Elephant Butte, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Oklahoma City, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here over Fall Break, looking for something to do since the National Parks were closed and we couldn't visit White Sands or Carlsbad Caverns. It was fun to stay in such a historic building, and found our rooms very comfortable and enjoyed looking at the historic pictures of Elephant Butte in the hallways. Waking up and going outside on the front porch to enjoy the view of the lake was great. I wish there had been a coffee maker in the building to enjoy some coffee before we went to the Marina restaurant for breakfast. Hopefully they'll add one. There are short trails right by the hotel to give you he best views of the Butte, and we rented kayaks in the small town nearby. This is the desert, so we found a crazy looking bug called a Whip Scorpion in our room. It turns out it is harmless, but it certainly got our attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had a great experience with my cabin stay at the Dam Site Recreation Area. The cabins (built by the CCC in 1940) are true to their original design and construction, but appear to have been well maintained with all plumbing, air conditioning, etc. working nicely. I stayed here on one night of a long family road trip and it was a refreshing change of pace from the usual hotels. It was nice to leave the windows open at night for fresh air and wake up with a great view of the marina.

One note: If you are arriving late, as I was, make arrangements in advance and be sure to ask for directions (it's dark in the state park). (I didn't call until after office hours, arrived very late, and I ended up being pretty confused and waking the management up at 11:30 at night. Credit is due to them for being remarkably friendly and helpful despite the circumstance!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been going to Elephant Butte for 26 years. We stay at the cabins most of the time and expect the showers to leak and the place to have bugs. This past weekend we where surprised because it was the cleanest it has ever been. They have new management and are starting to fix the place up. My only complaint would be that they need to be easier to reach when you want to check in. We called on our way there because we knew that we would arrive after office hours. We had to leave a message because no one answered the phone. When we got there no one was in the office and there was a note to go to cabin 15. We could not find anyone at the cabin either. We ended up going to town and coming back later and finally where able to check in after leaving three messages. If the cabin hadn't been nicer than past visits and if we didn't enjoy the lake so much this could have made been more upsetting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found the Dam Site Resort and Marina online, and booked the large cabin. Based on the website we expected a rustic cabin experience; however, we were shocked to see that the place was filthy. It had obviously not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The shower leaked all over the floor, there were giant hair balls blocking the drains in the sinks and showers, years of grease caked on the kitchen walls, and the floors were filthy, but that wasn't the worst of it. After spending the day on the lake, we returned to the cabin for bed. When I pulled back the covers I found tiny white bugs roaming the sheets, a large black beetle, lots of hair, and a spider the size of a silver dollar. To make things worse, the staff in the marina was rude. We will never return, and I hope that you will think twice before booking a room here.

Room Tip: If you enjoy sleeping with bugs, this is your place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just love this area. One of a kind view of the Elephant Butte, a volcanic neck sticking up out of the lake! Great restaurant and patio. Wonderful Lodge to stay in. Very peaceful, nice big rooms. Very Historic location! The reservoir popped up along the Rio Grande when the Elephant Butte Dam was built in 1916. At that time the largest dam in the nation!!! First dam built by the CCC.

You should come visit and hang out for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

this place is not really a resort...it is simply a lodge above a marina on Elephant Butte lake. That said, if you want to be away from it all (not that T or C is not already away from it all) and like a well put together rustic setting, this is an interesting place to stay in the area. The lodge is a substantial building built originally to house the engineers who built the dam back in the 1920's (?). It is beautifully situated above the lake and marina amid terraced landscaped grounds. The rooms are basic but esthetically quite nice in a back woods cabin sort of way. There is no front desk or lobby and no amenities except for internet access--only guest rooms--but that is part of the charm. There is a huge southern style covered porch for sitting, reading, visiting, drinking wine, etc on the front of the building facing the lake. In boating season there is a cafe down the way; the marina also has a rudimentary store. We stayed here in both the winter and just now in late May. Both times we were in the only rooms occupied in the lodge (privacy!). In the winter it is austere and a little surreal in its isolated beauty and silence. T or C is only about 10 minutes away; cost is about $80 per room

Room Tip: not for culturally mainstream folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is not a resort, but a lodge that has been nicely restored recently. The lodge sits above the lake and marina on state park land. There are two marinas at Elephant Butte. This is the small marina. The lodge was housing for the executives who were involved in building Elephant Butte Dam in the early 1900’s and it is very nicely restored, with many photos of the project on the walls of the hallway. Be sure to check them out.

It is not luxurious, but it is very clean and charming, with hardwood floors throughout and some of the original architectural details remain. The furnishings in the room are somewhat artisan, which means not always the most comfortable but very cute. The beds were fine. About half the rooms open onto the front veranda that runs the length of the lodge. Ask for one of these. We stayed in room 3 which was very large and bright. There is a restaurant next door that is open Friday – Sunday for lunch and dinner and serves basic but good food. We ate at the bar and had a great chat with the very friendly bartender. The grounds are yet to be landscaped.

If you enjoy history and the charm that comes with non-chain lodging, give this place a try.

To check in you walk down a very long path to the marina. It’s not clear when you get there where to check in. Be sure to take your credit card to check in or you will have to walk all the way back up and back down before they will give you your parking pass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dam Site Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dam Site Resort and Marina

Address: Lakeshore Road, Elephant Butte, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Elephant Butte
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dam Site Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.