We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Save Saved
You added Elephant Butte Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Butte Inn
401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elephant Butte
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was dreading my company's 3-day meeting at Elephant Butte Inn, especially learning it was an older hotel recently renovated. But I was pleasantly surprised from the get-go. The staff at the front desk were polite, knowledgeable, and fast. My room, while nothing fancy, was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities I needed—TV, wi-fi, fridge, coffee pot, and hair dryer. Additionally, it was soundproof enough that I heard none of the revelry going on around the hotel, and slept well. The bar was fun—great staff there as well—and the restaurant served some excellent food, far superior to any other I had in town. ALL continually remarked on the landscaping around the hotel, how pretty the flowers and grounds were, and the big bonus was the “gazebo” we discovered at the edge of the property, facing the desert and beyond that, the lake—there, in the evenings, I was entertained by rabbits, quail, and verbose coyotes. Great stay and I'd certainly return.

Room Tip: While rooms by the pool are probably a little nicer, the ones by the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, General Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Vicki, Thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have your company here with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
27
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thatcher, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night. First let me say that the room was beautiful as were the grounds. We had a "lake view" room. This was a push to say it was lake view and it was more expensive than the road side rooms. My problem was with the insects. When we entered the room there was a dead roach on the tile inside the room. There were also one or two dead flies. That isn't the worst of it. I have a travel toothbrush with a cap that covers the toothbrush head. When I showered and cleaned up in the morning I went to brush my teeth and a roach was caught in the small space between the handle and the cover. It was still wiggling!!!! I mentioned the problem when we checked out and was told about the "beetles" being bad this time of year. I stated that my father was an exterminator and I know the difference between a roach and a beetle. I was given a refund of $15.00 on a $115.00 room. This was our first stop on a New Mexico and thank heaven the rest of the trip was much better. Would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Though you really cannot see the lake the lakeside rooms are better. There is a large expanse of gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, General Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment about our beautiful room and grounds; we work diligently to provide the best accommodations for our guests. This summer has been a very uncommon summer in our area. We have had more rain than usual which is a great thing for an area suffering almost four years of drought. However, it has created an issue with an onset of insects. We have always had regular exterminator services for our rooms and grounds but this has been an extraordinary situation. Please read the rest of the Trip Advisor comments; you will see this is not a normal issue for our property. Thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Elephant Butte Inn is a wonderful place to have a wedding. The rooms, staff, and grounds were fantastic. Our wedding turned out better than I ever expected. The staff was very accommodating and they got all the details exactly right. The entire event was classy and we had the best service. Our wedding day was truly fantastic and I could not have done it without the help from everyone at the Elephant Butte Inn. The food at our reception was sensational! I was very impressed with our experience and highly recommend for a wedding/reception or just a nice place to stay. Family oriented, extremely helpful and just an overall top notch place! I can not say enough about how impressed we were with everything. Thanks for making our wedding a very special day, one we will cherish forever. Truly an awesome place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We were thrilled to host your wedding....it was a beautiful event! The work that you put into this special day was phenominal. Thank you for your kind words and best of luck for a beautiful future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake havasu City, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We cannot say enough about the cleanliness and friendly staff at this fine resort. From the moment we arrived until we left the entire staff including the grounds people we friendly and eager to make sure that we had everything we needed. The outside patio where they allow pets while dining was great. The waiter even brought a container with water for our dog. It was super clean yet did not smell of that awful disinfectant that some places use. Super comfy bed and four pillows on each bed two softer and two firmer. We cannot wait till we can go back.

Room Tip: all areas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wanted to take another route to get home to West Texas from Albuquerque so I headed down I-25 with a plan to finally see the city of Truth or Consequences and found that there is a 25 mile lake (though very low level of water right now) at the connecting town of Elephant Butte. After driving through the little village we de died on The Elephant Butte and eating at the their in-house brand grill!

My daughter and I had some delicious steak and cheese enchiladas then an excellent nights sleep here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had reservations to take my son to the SpacePort the next day so on a recommendation we stayed at the Elephant Butte Inn. From the moment we approached the reception desk to our check out we were treated warmly and professionally. The lakeview room we had was newly furnished and was quite comfortable with two queen beds. Dinner in the Ivory Tusk Tavern was delicious (have the enchilada plate with both red and green chilies).

I highly recommend staying at his friendly, clean and comfortable property.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean and convenient. Great place to stay with friends and family. Restaurant service is slow and they need to staff up on holiday weekends, but other then that, everything else is enjoyable. Very convenient to lake and activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Owner at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We strive to offer the best accommodations and services but this holiday was far busier than previous years and our staff seated and served guests as quickly. Thank you for choosing Elephant Butte Inn & Spa and for your comments...most appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to the Elephant Butte Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Butte Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.