We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liz O” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Save Saved
You added Elephant Butte Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Butte Inn
401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elephant Butte
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Liz O”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on our way to El Paso. The lake view rooms were very nice: upgraded, clean and comfy. The verandas were perfect for enjoying the green yard and looking at the boats on the lake. The staff, though is what makes the Inn outstanding. We travelled with our disabled adult son and the staff (especially Sonny) did everything they could to make us comfortable. I had a wonderful massage with Alex who was friendly and professional. Additionally, the front desk helped me find a local church and get to mass on Sunday. We will go back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you here as I guest. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the kind words. Our staff works diligently to make our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
27
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We've stayed there several times and I've been remiss in reporting how great a destination it is on Trip Advisor. Okay....so it isn't new, doesn't have the fancy beds that some of the nicer chains have, but it is absolutely the best place to stay in the area. We love it! The staff couldn't be friendlier; from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the cleaning and maintenance folks....ALL of them are as friendly, nice and accomodating as you could ask for. They seem to understand that guests in your hotel truly are "guests". At this point in time it almost feels like home to us. The location (very close to the boat ramp) is great for us, and the fact that they are pet friendly seals the deal. Then there's the restaurant; best food in the area and compares very well with any fancy "big city" restaurant. We'll stay there as often as we can!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are quieter, but it's more convenient to the parking area to get a "m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
The staff would like to say "Thank you" for the kind words. Our staff strives to treat our guests as they would like to be treated. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I hosted several day long meetings at the Elephant Butte Inn meeting room. We arranged for snacks and lunch buffets and they were all very good. Nice meeting facility, was very roomy for the participants and staff made sure we were all comfortable. Wonderful atmosphere to get work done with a large group. Would highly recommend their meeting facilities.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We like to stay at the Inn because it is so close to Sierra del Rio golf course. The staff at the Inn are very friendly. They have a wonderful Sunday morning brunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Clean room. OK view of the lake. Great restaurant. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: lake view is an extra $10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This place has the best food I have ever ate it has different types of cuisine. The staff is pleasant and friendly. It has great service and quick. Defiantly will return. Highly Recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on a two day fishing trip on Elephant Butte Lake. The hotel is just outside of the state park so you can literally walk to the lake from there.
The rooms are nice, especially for the price (we paid $79/night) and are well kept. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and, according to the advertising sign outside, has live music on the weekend. There is a continental breakfast included which helped us get our day started.
We took our boat and there was a special parking area which included electrical plug-ins for our trolling motor batteries. How was the fishing? Well, it could have been better. Two fish in Two days but heck, it was in March and will only get better as the weather gets warmer. Can't wait to get back there again, this time I better live up to the name; FishPacker.

Room Tip: Lake rooms have a nice view of Elephant Butte Lake and flat screen tvs. Mountain rooms face the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Butte Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.