We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good New Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando's New Mexican Cafe

Orlando's New Mexican Cafe
1114 Don Juan Valdez Ln, El Prado, Taos, NM 87529
575-751-1450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in El Prado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good New Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I ate at Orlando's New Mexican Cafe today. Good clean food with great flavor. I had the soft tacos with chicken. The salsa had a little bite but was very tasty. My husband is a connoisseur of cheese enchiladas and he gave his dinner two thumbs up.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    181
    66
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We discovered Orlando's the second night we were in Taos and wished we had found it the first night. It was a beautiful evening so we asked to be seated on the outside patio. The tables were not crowded too close together and the appropriate background music was just loud enough to be heard but did not drown out our conversation. The staff was quick and friendly. The menu has all the favorites and some more creative items. We enjoyed a pork tamale and chili relleno. Both were served with pinto beans and pasole. It was all delicious. We are looking forward to another trip to Taos and will certainly make Orlando's our choice for dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A nice intro to New Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had our first meal in New Mexico here and enjoyed it very much--I had some very tasty blue corn enchiladas with shredded beef and red chile sauce, which was spicy but not overwhelming. I liked the posole quite a bit as well. Our server was friendly thought not 100% attentive, and the atmosphere was a lot of fun. I think I would eat here regularly if I lived in Taos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great place to stop on our road trip through Taos! We ate outside with our 3 kids. Very kid friendly, great service and fun atmosphere! Definitely would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was back in the area again this year to enjoy the mountains, cool temps, and relaxation. We traveled to Taos to shop and of course to eat at Orlando's. We both had the chili rellenos with green sauce. Awesome! Guac and salsa were also very good. Service outside was very good (we were there at lunchtime)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's New Mexican Cafe also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Orlando's New Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando's New Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.