We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Blue Corn Enchiladas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando's New Mexican Cafe

Orlando's New Mexican Cafe
1114 Don Juan Valdez Ln, El Prado, Taos, NM 87529
575-751-1450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in El Prado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Antioch, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Blue Corn Enchiladas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Loved the blue corn enchiladas. Their green chili is good as is their sangria. Had a bit of a wait as it is deservingly so a local and tourist favorite but the hostess had it timed right and we enjoyed the cool courtyard, sipping flavored water. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. Loved that it was beans and posole instead of beans and rice. Nice change.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    181
    66
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita, AZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I stopped here to get food to go on our drive back to Santa Fe. I had blue corn chicken tacos and they were delicious. My wife had blue corn chicken enchiladas with possible and beans. She loved it. This place is the real deal for authentic Mexican. Tons of flavor without any painful, spicy heat. Will look forward to eating here again...EXCELLENTE!!
The food was very reasonably priced as well. Great value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“saw all the cars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were leaving Taos NM and looking for a place to eat lunch and we saw all the cars parked in there lot. Turned out to be a great spot to eat. Very friendly food was great and so was the price

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enchiladas in many distinct flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The short wait was well worth it. Outdoor dining on a pleasant Taos evening was the perfect end to a great fishing day. Chips and salsa were fresh and good. What can one say about beer?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mexican food without the hot hot spice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We treated ourselves to an evening out at this restaurant and were very happy with both the service and the food.
Plenty of staff to serve you , plenty of staff performing in the open kitchen preparing food which was delicious the two chefs at the pass were making sure all was as it should be leaving the kitchen. Meanwhile you were given a Hugh plate of chips and tomato dip to be going on with whilst your food was cooking.there are two floors in this restaurant or opt for an outdoor eating experience as it was raining and very humid the day we went we opted for downstairs inside.
There was no hurry to move you from the table after you had finished your meal , and there was good portions of whatever you ordered. Unlike some Mexican it was flavored with herbs served on sizzle platters with all the associated dips etc. well worth a visit , and not overly expensive .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's New Mexican Cafe also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Orlando's New Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando's New Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.