We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando's New Mexican Cafe

Orlando's New Mexican Cafe
1114 Don Juan Valdez Ln, El Prado, Taos, NM 87529
575-751-1450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 restaurants in El Prado
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Simply the best Mexican food I have ever had in New Mexico -- which is saying something. We liked it so much the first night we went back the next night, a first for us. Here it's all about the food. The place is homey and rustic but you may not be impressed until the food comes, which is quick. Big portions, top quality, nice presentations, efficient service and green chile to die for, reasonably priced too! Orlando's is our new favorite New Mexico restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    267
    135
    57
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best New Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We read good reviews on Orlandos, so we tried it, and were very glad we did! The blue-corn chicken enchiladas with green chili are the best I've ever had - and the posole was perfect. We had to try the avocado pie, which was frozen, smooth, and tasted of lime, kiwi, and just a hint of avocado. Very good. We also found the prices to be very reasonable. We are delighted to have such a good restaurant to come back to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican Cuisine not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friends said to go early to get a table. They were right. We arrived before 5pm and enjoyed a drink by the outdoor firepit. The food was outstanding and we will return! Don't miss Orlando's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good consistent affordable local Northern New Mexican fare with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very popular restaurant of north side of Taos. Good for the whole family. Very affordable and dishes have been the same consistency since opening over 15 years ago. Most entrees around $10. Straight forward New Mexican dishes with traditional green, red and caribe chiles sauces. No reservations, so you might have to wait for a table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbloo, Owner at Orlando's New Mexican Cafe, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear "good consistent affordable". Thank you for the good review. You hit the nail on the head the three things we strive for. Consistency is most important , our cooks know not to change the recipes trying to make it better. Some cooks have egos and try to put their own twist to things so its different the second time around. Affordability, so everyone can come and even come again the same day. We have some customers who just about eat here every day. And straight forward, keep it simple not to try to make it something fancier that it really is. Well thanks again and say hi next time you are in . Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Quick, friendly service, nice setting, great food. Tres colores was fantastic, the perfect sampler plate. The chile rellenos were the best we had on our entire SW trip! Get there early or expect to wait, even on a Monday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's New Mexican Cafe also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
 

Been to Orlando's New Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando's New Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.