We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Burrito” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Spot

The Coffee Spot
900 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, Taos, NM 87571-6162
+1 575-758-8556
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in El Prado
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner from 6am to 10 pm every day. Our food and pastries are all made from scratch. Gluten free and vegan dishes are available.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner from 6am to 10 pm every day. Our food and pastries are all made from scratch. Gluten free and vegan dishes are available.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Burrito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stopped in on our way out of Taos. Fresh Coffee and Great tasting Breakfast Burrito. The Staff was friendly and eager to take our breakfast order.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good coffee, pastries, food, and space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Probably the best coffee shop in Taos/El Prado if you like to eat and like to sit down and use the internet. For decaf people like me, they make you and Americano, the pastries were exceptionally good, and seating options were better than average for a western cafe. Being from the Midwest, i've grown accustomed to comfortable couches and chairs, which don't often exist out west (try the Javalina in Silver City NM if you want comfy places to sit), but, overall, this place was great. Only problem was occasional internet connection issues, but this did have something to do with my computer, so not on their end i don't think, and when others had such problems, they did restart their router and all was well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“No Thanks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stopped here on the way out of town so that I could get a cup of coffee. Prices for coffee seemed high. Seemed dark inside. Just did not like the atmosphere of the place so we left.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Owner at The Coffee Spot, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi there, sorry you missed out on our coffee. You are right, our prices for regular coffee are high. We brew a full half pound per gallon of organic local coffee. FOr a lower priced option, try asking for less coffee in a bigger cup, mixed with some hot water. It won't be as deliciously rich, but it will still be pretty amazing. Also, you save money if you a) bring your own cup, or b) decide to drink it at the Spot. Also, I recently noticed two burnt out light bulbs up front and replaced them. I am willing to bet that you noticed them too! Anyway, I appreciate all kinds of reviews, and I thank you for yours. I will try to offer some lower priced options for coffee on the new menu. Hope that you give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice, cozy place to stop on the way out of town to ski valley. Yummy breakfast sandwich with grilled local pepper egg, cheese,, bacon. Gluten free muffin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the best place to imbed yourself in the local Taos culture. Coffee, breakfast and service are excellent. I start my day at The Coffee Spot every time I am in Taos - love it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Spot also viewed

 

Been to The Coffee Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.