We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toribios

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Toribios
1637 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, Taos, NM 87529
(575) 751-4431
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 Restaurants in El Prado
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A really pleasant surprise. Very tasty Mexican food at this roadside stand. The fruit waters are sensational. Huge portions. Reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great chili relleno burrito!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

whenever i am leaving town to head home, i love to stop by toribios to get their chili relleno burrito, which is really REALLY good! i have not had anything else there, but this burrito is worth stopping right before the old blinking light.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome price and awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

try the horchata its homemade! and all the burritos are amazing? and the price is really tough to beat.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food and nice servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We heard this was a good place from a local and decided to check it out. As the other review mentioned, it is not much for ambience, and you order your food at a counter window. Most of the people we saw coming in were locals that were taking their food to go, but we ordered and sat outside at a table on the patio. We found it kind of kitsch and enjoyed the beautiful evening, so it was just fine for us though I could see how a lot of people would not like the atmosphere. All of the food was good and they have great salsa and really good tortillas chips. We ordered everything from fajitas, rellenos and tacos to a tostada and taco salad (there are 6 of us) and everyone enjoyed their selection. The ground meat on the taco and tostada was seasoned and tasted kind of like chili. They had generous portions and we found it very reasonable. Plates (fajita and rellenos) come with refried beans, rice and a small pile of lettuce with chopped tomato, onion and fresh jalapeno pepper. The staff was very nice and accomodating, and they even gave us a souvenir mug! We really enjoyed it and definitely would recommend it. It also was voted a "Best of Taos" restaurant and is conveniently located near the intersection where you get to the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge (it's about 7 miles from there). Probably would make a great lunch takeout and then you could eat at a picnic shelter overlooking the Gorge/Rio Grande River.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Far better than it looks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My wife and I always make it a point to eat at Toribio's when in Taos. This place definitely does not look like much, but offers outstanding rellenos, tostadas, and watermelon agua fresa. There are some available seats inside and outside, but not much for ambience. We get our food to go, and enjoy it back at the house. Surprisingly, it is a little pricier than most of the comparable hole in the wall restaurants.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toribios also viewed

 

Been to Toribios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toribios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.