We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi in Taos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi a la Hattori

Sushi a la Hattori
1405 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, Taos, NM 87571
(575) 737-5123
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in El Prado
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in Taos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Don't miss this restaurant if you like Japanese food. You will be surprised to find such a hidden gem in Taos. Great sushi and friendly atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, NM
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Supermarkets offer better Sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had the misfortune to dine at this miserable restaurant in El Prado near Taos. The Sushi that I had was absolutely the worst I have ever had. Even our local Sprouts market offers better Sushi. The only thing worse than the Sushi was the attitude of the waitress who brought the menu to me and when I asked her a question she said,"I'm busy right now" and ambled away with her flippers in tow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So much better than it has to be; great satisfier of your sushi cravings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Do not hesitate to indulge your sushi cravings while in Taos; Sushi a la Hattori could hold its own in many much-larger cities. I tend to like their nigri sushi better than their rolls, but that may be just my own personal preferences in sushi. Hamachi, maguro and fresh salmon are particularly excellent. I also like the salmon skin salad -- but be sure to order it "non-spicy" if you want a traditional version. Cooked dishes that I've tried have been very good, and they have a great bento lunch special on Fridays that attracts even a lot of non-sushi eaters. I believe the owners originally came from San Diego, where they had a sushi restaurant. I heard they were looking to "semi-retire" when they moved to Taos, but the restaurant has been going gang-busters since it opened. Doesn't hurt that it has a wonderful view of Pueblo Mountain (also called Taos Mountain).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“When it was still crowded after lunch we knew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was well worth eating at…and the setting was amazing…worth the visit …. then … the food….fresh attractive quantity worth the price…eat outside if you can ..the view is worth the price of the food…Taos roll….California roll all were very fresh and tasty …fresh wasabi too….

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have friends who lived in Japan for five years, and they say Hattori is better sushi than any they had there. I've never been to Japan, but Hattori is my all-time favorite, as well. It's a tiny place, so you may have a wait on a weekend night, but they also have lunch specials during the week that are a bargain.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi a la Hattori also viewed

 

Been to Sushi a la Hattori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi a la Hattori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.