We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Vista Lodge

Save Saved
You added Laguna Vista Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Vista Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 East Therma Drive, Eagle Nest, NM 87718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct for discount
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and Quite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four for two nights. Upon check in the front desk staff let me kids choose a mini stuffed animal to keep before we went to our room. The rooms were spacious and the lodge itself was quite and clean. The room had a mini fridge, coffee maker, ironing board, and a flat screen TV with a wide selection of channels. The lodge also included Wi-Fi. The rooms do not have air conditioning and at times it can become stuffy and hot. We slept both nights with our window open, but being that it faces the front we heard some talking through out the night. The lodge provides ice in the saloon, but the saloon doesn't open early. The woman at the front desk was kind enough to provide us a few cups of ice in a bag to keep some things cold for our drive home. The location of the lodge is perfect and is very near Angel Fire, Red River, and Cimarron. I would definitely recommend this lodge for a trip to Eagle's Nest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Didn't look like much from the outside so we were kind of worried when we pulled up. They have had a recent renovation and the rooms are very nice and they are very clean, even the bathroom is clean. The location is quiet. The mattresses are new and wonderfully comfortable. The water was hot.

The internet connection was buggy but when we checked in the owner told me that he was having trouble with the service and was waiting for it to be fixed. So no big deal.

The heating registers in the room make a clicking sound when they heat up. If you aren't used to that then you might want to bring some ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaVistaLodge, Front Office Manager at Laguna Vista Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. It just so happens the WIFI was fixed this week and you can connect all over the property now. Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently stayed at the Laguna Vista Lodge. On the positive side, the tv was wonderful (big flat screen), it was very clean, it has a coffee maker and the staff were friendly and very helpful. On the somewhat negative side, the furniture and bedding was a bit outdated. The place was very quiet and if we travel through Eagle Nest we'd stay there again. It's also conveniently located to Angel Fire which had a grocery and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and once again it was clean, comfortable, and affordable. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and they have nice towels that aren't worn thin.

My only complaint is the lack of an exhaust fan/vent in the bathroom.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I had stopped at the Laguna Vista Bar in Eagles Nest New Mexico to share a Beer; we like to adventure into the older bars for the history. When we walked in Patty Sweeters was behind the bar and a few of the locals were having a few drinks along with the owner of the bar Bert Clemens. We mentioned we like to check out the history of the older bars; Patty then told us about the brothel that was started and ran by Eleanor way back when and gave us a tour of the upstairs and mentioned that Eleanor still hangs around. Once back at the bar Patty mentioned a book that featured the most interesting saloons in New Mexico along with Colorado and Texas then Patty showed us the book and found the article of Laguna Vista Bar which we bought and had Patty and Bert sign. We stayed for awhile and visited with Patty, Bert, Jodie and her husband, Ron, Debbie and a few others which I cannot remember their names.

As we were leaving they asked us what we were going to do for Thanksgiving and we said we really weren’t sure; they then invited us to have Thanksgiving with them at the bar along with the locals for a Thanksgiving pot luck dinner. My husband and I talked about it extensively and decided to stay and spent two nights at the Laguna Vista Lodge in one of the cabins; it was very roomy, quite, nice and clean and we really enjoyed our stay. We drove around Eagles Nest, Cimarron, Angel Fire, and Red River and enjoyed very much so. On Thanksgiving Day we arrived at Laguna Vista bar for the pot luck thanksgiving dinner which was the best Thanksgiving dinner we both enjoyed and the food was fantastic; the locals really made us fill welcomed. We then spent several hours visiting with Ron and Debbie which I felt I had known them for quite some time.

Bottom line is my husband and I really enjoyed our stay in Eagles Nest New Mexico and we are looking forward to visiting real soon; we want to thank the locals at Eagles Nest and the surrounding cities nearby for making two strangers fill welcomed.

Bryce & JoRae
Sandy UT 84094

Room Tip: Cabins; very roomy, quite, clean, slept excellent and it made us fell like we were at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit with a kitchen at the Laguna Vista lodge. The accommodations were perfect and we felt very comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the lake. We stopped in at the saloon and sat by the fireplace enjoying drinks and playing table shuffleboard. The staff was extremely friendly. It was a great value and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children the two bedroom unit is very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed on the first floor in a room w/ King Size bed. Very comfortable bed and the room was spacious. We had reservations but found out this is the only Lodge in town that is open 24x7. We arrived during the summer slow season with a bit of rain. We saw a few walk in customers getting available rooms. The town people and shop keepers were very friendly. The local town tavern was quaint with lots of history. The local folk lore had ghost mystery and current treasure hunt opportunities. The atmosphere was laid back and pleasant. The big lake behind Laguna Vista Lodge looked like a lot of fun with opportunity for boating and fishing or winter sports. Took lots of photos. Had a really good time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the restaurant / tavern. Some rooms are closer to the caretaker office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Lodge

Address: 51 East Therma Drive, Eagle Nest, NM 87718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Eagle Nest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Eagle Nest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Vista Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to welcome you to the Laguna Vista Lodge, Historic Restaurant & Saloon. We hope that your visit with us will be a wonderful time.All of the rooms are nonsmoking, they have coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, refrigerators, and personal care amenities. Daily housekeeping staff.We have Deluxe Rooms with One Queen and a Full Futon. All rooms have new King or Queens Pillow Top Mattress. These rooms are very large with a large dressing room and all the amenities. The Sportsman Cabins have a full kitchen, living area, and bedroom.The two-bedroom kitchenettes have 27” TVs with easy hook-ups on the front for plug and play games. All of the rooms have VCRs or DVDs, and DirecTV with over 103 channels. A small selection of movies is available at the front desk. We also have a guest laundry room. Three picnic areas and indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, including a fifty-foot stage. If you are on a do-it-yourself budget, the courtyards with stage and five-foot grill are available for rent. Just give us the food order and it will be waiting for you, or we can cater your parties.Park by your room and walk to everything in Eagle Nest.The restaurant offers tours of the original 1890s hotel (later brothel). Full menu with great desserts, serving breakfast on the weekends, and catering for your special occasion is available.The Saloon offers package/carry out, pool table, regulation shuffleboard, private parties by the fireplace and live entertainment - not to mention the colorful locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Laguna Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Hotel Eagle Nest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.