We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most unusual place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City of Rocks State Park

City of Rocks State Park
327 Highway 61, Deming, NM 88034
685-536-2800
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Deming
Type: Geologic Formations, Parks, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of New Mexico's most visited sights, this state park is uncommercialized and filled with strange rock formations.
Southern New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A most unusual place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We live near here and always recommend it to people. It's kind of out in the middle of nowhere and totally unexpected. Very unusual rock formations and very easy to hike around. Great place to take family.
We learned recently that much an an old western "The Tall Texan" was filmed there. No surprise...lots of good hiding places there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    49
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deming, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent place to camp, picnic or day hike among prehistoric rock formations. Looking for petroglyphs among the rocks is fun. Visitor center has a small museum & video explaining how the rocks were formed. In the summer there are Star Gazing programs at the observatory on site. Great place to spend the day or several. We live in Deming & love going there several times a year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloride, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My kind of rock formations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Loved the varied shapes and texture of the rocks. I'll come back later to camp for a few days. Very interesting. Wish I had more time this trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very unusual rock formations that you can hike, picnic, and camp among! We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon here. Easy hikes around and on top of these rocks enable you to see for miles and miles around. Just beautiful. The ranger in the visitor's center was very helpful and informative. She explained about local wildlife and how the rocks were formed from volcanic activity 30 million years ago. You can pick up a hiking trail map at the visitor's center or online.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Since we were in the Silver City/Lordsburg area we decided to visit the City of Rocks. Not being familiar with this area we were impressed that an attraction of this caliber was in the area. Noting the rock formations and the history of the area made this stop worthwhile. We did not camp there but there are facilities to camp in the park. The area is very remote but the roads are paved. The service staff was very helpful and answered all our questions. There is a short video for those who want to learn more about the park. Make sure you have plenty of gas in your vehicle as there are no gas stations in the vicinity.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City of Rocks State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City of Rocks State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.