We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Southwest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corrales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1098 W. Meadowlark Ln, Corrales, NM 87048   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Corrales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best of the Southwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our stay at the Chocolate Turtle was magical. The Turtle is a hidden gem in the Rio Grande Valley featuring Sandia Peak as a wonderful backdrop to its beautiful gardens. To us, nothing says relaxed New Mexico elegance better than the superbly appointed Chocolate Turtle. Our hosts, Dallas and Nancy, made us feel like family, and we miss them already. No trip to New Mexico is complete without a stay at the Chocolate Turtle as far as we're concerned. It's our Southwest home away from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Really enjoyed reading about your experience at the Chocolate Turtle! Your descriptions were lovely and I especially appreciated your comment that "nothing says relaxed New Mexico elegance better than the superbly appointed Chocolate Turtle." So glad you enjoyed your visit- we miss you too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
190
34
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family stayed at the Chocolate Turtle at the beginning of this summer while we were visiting family in Albuquerque. We were warmly welcomed even though our flight was very delayed and we got to the bed and breakfast very late at night. The room was beautiful! It was thoughtfully decorated and had so many little details to make us comfortable. From the chocolate turtles (that my daughter loved) to the well-stocked bathroom, it seems that the owners have thought of everything. Our room had a little outside sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a wonderful experience every morning. The meals were all delicious and made with wholesome, fresh ingredients. We enjoyed talking with the other guests. I would recommend the Chocolate Turtle to anyone visiting the area. We had no complaints. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Chocolate Turtle. Sorry that your flight was so delayed, but we are always happy to welcome our guests, especially after you have had such a stressful travel day.Really hope that you will be able to return next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and pre booked the up up and away balloon package.
Chris and Bruce the house sitters could not have done more for us, from really good advice on what to see and do to helping me make some calls back to the UK when my bank wouldn't believe that I was on holiday in the USA and froze my card twice in as many days.
They also provided us with a pack up for the early morning departure for the balloon trip and then breakfast on our return.
The Chocolate Turtle itself is a lovely place to stay our room was spacious comfortable and very relaxing.
We would make his our first choice of place to stay if visiting thre area again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks so very much for writing a review regarding your experience at the Chocolate Turtle . So sorry to hear that you had an issue with your credit card (we've had some similar experiences and it is so frustrating.) Really happy that Chris & Bruce were able to help you out. Glad you selected our Up , Up and Away Package- how exciting that you were able to take a Hot Air Balloon Ride!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. Chris and Bruce were the inn sitters while the owners were away. They were attentive, warm and welcoming. We absolutely loved the place and the backyard was relaxing and alive with cute critters like bunnies, quails and humming birds.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Three friends and I had a "girls weekend" in Albuquerque April 20-23. We like to stay somewhere unique, and the Chocolate Turtle lived up to our standards. It is a charming, beautifully appointed B&B and I strongly recommend it. It's off the beaten path, but worth the effort. Our hostess Chris was wonderful. She made us feel welcomed and warm, like family. And words cannot describe the delicious breakfasts. It's a destination worth returning to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTOWNERS, Owner at Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Glad you had a fun Girlfriends GetAway at the Turtle! So happy our small B&B provided a relaxed setting for you nd your friends. We feel so fortunate to be located in Corrales- it provides such a unique setting- you feel like you are away from everything yet we're just minutes from Albuquerque and lots of fun things to explore. Chris's breakfasts are yummy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Bruce and Chris were amazing hosts at the Chocolate Turtle! We truly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heart beat! The breakfasts were delicious and new each morning, and the small touches around the b&B really put it in a league of its own. The town of Corrales is really neat to see and The Indigo Crow and Village Pizza were excellent places to eat nearby. I can't recommend the Chocolate Turtle highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Don't know what to say that hasn't already been said. This place is the absolute best! Never have we stayed in a B & B that has thought of their guests every need! Chris and Bruce are just wonderful and taking good care of you and making you feel welcome.

The welcoming fresh flowers, cold water in the bedroom, all the snacks, coffee etc., the forecast displayed, beautiful yard, even a jigsaw puzzle. We hated to leave.

Since we head to New Mexico each summer now, we will be booking our stay for next year a.s.a.p.

Room Tip: Sandia Room perfect for family of 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1098 W. Meadowlark Ln, Corrales, NM 87048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Corrales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and relaxing is a perfect description of the Chocolate Turtle, a colorful southwest style B&B located in the Village of Corrales, a historic farming community in the Rio Grande river valley of New Mexico. Adjacent to Albuquerque and a short drive to Santa Fe, the Chocolate Turtle offers a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountain from its patio and portal. Most mornings you can enjoy breakfast while being entertained by the roadrunners and quail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chocolate Turtle Hotel Corrales
Chocolate Turtle b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.