We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corrales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1098 W. Meadowlark Ln, Corrales, NM 87048   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Corrales B&B and Inns
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed three nights in the cozy and clean Quail Room just prior to the 2012 Balloon Fiesta and our first visit to the Albuquerque area. Dallas and Nancy were both superb hosts and the breakfasts in the outdoor patio and afternoon cookies were excellent! Romeo, one of the local roadrunners, joined us for breakfast several mornings and quail and bunnies made themselves at home during the day in a delightful desert garden venue. Dallas and Nancy provided helpful suggestions and directions to enhance our stay including recommending the ABQ Trolley Tour. (Be sure to make tour reservations online in advance. The B&B has a computer/printer.)

Room Tip: The Quail Room is the only one with a bathtub. The queen bed is very comfortable. The Sandia Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
184
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Finally was able to get a room. Everytime I tried to book a room the Chocolate Tutrle was full. Not this time. We were a ble to book for one night during the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and was not disappointed. Nancy and Dallas our hosts were very welcoming and fun. Not only pointing us in the right direction for a nice dinner but very helpful in our attending the Balloon Fiesta.
Our room was large, very clean and had a small paitio out side the back bedroom door. (Unfortunately we didn't have time to use it.) Coffee, soft drinks, warm cookies, snacks available all day. But the best part was breakfast. Nancy just sort of , whipped up some french toast with fruit..well...if we all could just whip up something as good! And the weather was such we were able to eat outdoors with the mountains as a backdrop. And, oh yeah...a hot air balloon flying overhead.
Stay again? You bet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a must-see in New Mexico! Words are not enough to explain the kindness and loving attention Nancy and Dallas offer. Food was delicious, our room was great and clean! The garden is full of flowers and birds...my husband and I couldn't ask for more.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend. Nancy and Dallas, the owners, are knowledgeable about Corrales and hospitable. Breakfast was delicious! Nice little touches and extras to make guests feel comfortable. Would stay there again, absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at the Chocolate Turtle in September. It was just wonderful.
The B&B is beautifully decorated, and nothing was overlooked in their effort to make me feel
comfortable and at home. A special treat was seeing the roadrunners. Breakfast was delicious
and beautifully served in the back garden. Dallas and Nancy were so helpful in answering
all questions and give tips. It was obvious that they enjoy what they do and they do it so well!
I look forward to staying at the Chocolate Turtle again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Corrales, New Mexico for our daughter's wedding. Her fiance is from the area and they recommended the Chocolate Turtle for our stay, which was just for one night. It was our first trip to the Southwest and our first bed & breakfast stay anywhere. It was wonderful! We fell in love with the beautiful, tasteful southwest decor and our spacious and comfortable room and private bath.
Nancy, one of the owners, was a delight and took the time to familiarize us with the nearby flora and fauna, many examples of which were right in their backyard. Breakfast was served on the back porch, surrounded by the beautiful garden and wildlife. We watched hummingbirds, rabbits and flocks of birds while we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. A roadrunner, who visits every day, came by for his snack. I was able to capture many photos and great video footage right there in the Chocolate Turtle's backyard. As an added bonus, several hot-air balloons passed right overhead. The location is ideal, being just minutes from the launch area for the Balloon Festival, nearby Sandia Peak and many small shops and restaurants, yet it's quiet and peaceful when you're there. Dallas was away during our stay, but Nancy was just great. She makes you feel like you're staying with an old friend. I heartily recommend the Chocolate Turtle! We plan to go back soon. Maybe we'll meet you there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I spent the last week of August at the Chocolate Turtle. Two years ago, we stayed there for three nights and were favorably impressed. Corrales is a wonderful, historic farming village and only a 20 minute drive from downtown. This makes Chocolate Turtle accessible and appealing for the setting. The owners, Nancy and Dallas, are the consummate bed and breakfast owners--warm, efficient, diplomatic and always looking to please. The Turtle is extremely clean, inviting and homey. We especially looked forward to breakfast on the lovely, sun-drenched patio with beautiful mountain views and a lively acre and a half filled with varied, high desert landscaping. To our delight, road runners frequented the patio and entertained us. The stay was delightful and memorable.

Room Tip: The Sandia Room is spacious and comfortable, ideal for two or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1098 W. Meadowlark Ln, Corrales, NM 87048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Corrales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corrales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and relaxing is a perfect description of the Chocolate Turtle, a colorful southwest style B&B located in the Village of Corrales, a historic farming community in the Rio Grande river valley of New Mexico. Adjacent to Albuquerque and a short drive to Santa Fe, the Chocolate Turtle offers a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountain from its patio and portal. Most mornings you can enjoy breakfast while being entertained by the roadrunners and quail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chocolate Turtle Hotel Corrales
Chocolate Turtle b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Turtle Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.