We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Place Bed & Breakfast Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Place Bed & Breakfast Hotel
204 W. Lima, Box 587, Columbus, NM 88029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbus B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Clean and friendly. Martha & Juan (proprietors) also live there, and their son made breakfast, which was good and filling. They don't serve dinner - I bought food as the grocery store 1/4 mi east of the B&B

Room Tip: I had a queen-sized bed on the second floor, similar to profile pic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
visalia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

I have stayed at Martha's place many times.And I have never felt more at home at a B&B.In fact on all of my trips thruogh Columbus I am carrying oversize tanks.Martha and javier have always provided me a secure place to park my equipment.All of the drivers that work for me have stayed there and loved it.They ask me once in a while when can they go back to Martha's.I realy feel like a family member when I'm there.I would highly recomend Martha's to all you weary travelers,truck drivers,law enforcement personal,couples,singles,bikers,and vacationers.If you want a comfortable room,and a twilight zone trip to the old west then you must stay at Martha's.If you are country at heart you'll love it there.You may not enjoy yourself if you are a city person.Nathan Dotson Definite Transport & Tanks.Visalia Ca.

  • Liked — great bed,shower,food
  • Disliked — tv reception
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

I have stayed at Martha's place several times and hope to stay many more times. It is clean, friendly and relaxing. Javier and Martha are wonderful inkeepers, with lots of wonderful stories to tell about Columbus and it's surroundings.
Breakfests are simple and you can eat in your PJ's if you so desire.
I highly recommend Marth'a place and I promise you won't be disapointed.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

I was delighted with Martha's B&B. I found the host and hostess both charming and informative, the facilities adequate, the food great, and the view spectacular. This is good, because lodging choices in Columbus are limited to Martha's, and a rather grim looking motel.

My second floor room (#4) was fairly basic, and totally satisfactory. I chose it because of its French window opening onto a deck looking out over the center of town--the site of the Commerical Hotel burned in 1916, and beyond into Mexico. Obviously this window faces south, and gets plenty of sun. Since there's no air conditoning, summer travelers might want a rooms facing north. In April the big overhead fan and the breeze from the opened French door kept me comfortable.

Columbus isn't exactly a center of frenzied night life--or for that matter, frenzied day life-- so about the only thing there is do after one has soaked up the ambience is eat. I ate a late lunch at the Patio Cafe ( I don't recall the address--just ask anyone you see.) This place has a charming courtyard and serious hamburgers. Together with a huge portion of delightfully greasy French fries, I didn't eat again until my host Xavier made breakfast. No Nuevo Mexican cuisine here, just a plain downhome breakfast--bacon, eggs, home fries, hot buttered toast--and a side dish of green salsa. Judging from these meals, in Columbus cholosteral is not an issue...and I LUVED it! After all, I was on vacation. My breakfast was made even more pleasant by Xavier's company as he patiently answered my questions about Columbus.

A night in Columbus isn't for everyone, but for anyone interested in the history of this place, Martha's is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

We just stayed at Martha's Place. It is an absolutely charming B & B. Martha and her husband, Javier, took such care to ensure that our stay was memorable. We felt like house guests of old friends. It has such a cozy atmosphere, I recommend it highly. It certainly wins hands down over the cookie cutter motels in Deming.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

Stayed at Martha's place for a week, No question about it We would go back, Place is cheerie, clean and Martha is a great host.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

Literally Martha's is the only place in town - because there is no other place.
We traveled with friends and the room that was offered was in use by the proprietor. The closet was full of clothes and miscellaneous items in the bathroom which was full of sand.
There is only 1 restaurant that is open only part time.
Stay here if you have to, otherwise drive back to Deming where there is a selection of hotels.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
Hacienda de Villa Motel 4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
View all 1 hotels in Columbus, ranked by popularity

Been to Martha's Place Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Place Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Address: 204 W. Lima, Box 587, Columbus, NM 88029
Location: United States > New Mexico > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Visiting Columbus, New Mexico in 1988, I fell in love with the Village. So much so, I decided to stay and share in the Southwestern experience with the careful planning, and building of my home and "Your Home Away From Home".I invite you to join me here at Martha's Place to relax and rejuvenate yourself. Take a hike, ride your bike, climb the local mountains, study the local and migrating birds, photograph the natural desert or just soak in the soothing warm sun, and breathe our clean & clear high-desert air.Look forward to fresh morning coffee including all your espresso favorites, and real home cooked to order breakfast every morning. You can spend time shopping and eating fine Mexican cuisine at the famous Pink Store in Palomas, Mexico. (It's just three miles to the south of us.), or meander through our historical walking tour, Pancho Villa State Park & Train Depot museums, and the old Columbus jail. All located just a stones throw away from the front door of the hotel. Or just sit on our patio and visit with our small town folk & 'Old Timers', and enjoy the views past the Spanish fountain, letting the soft sound of its running waters drift you through New Mexico's own 'Twilight Hour' sunsets, right along to our horizons to the heavens star filled nights, and take home the memories. Our doors are always open, and the welcome mat is always out at Martha's Place, in the Historical Village Of Columbus, New Mexico. Sincerely,Martha Skinner"Mi casa es tu casa!" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Place Bed & Breakfast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martha's Place Bed & Breakfast Hotel to your Saves list