We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leal's is the standard I go by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leal's Mexican Food Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Leal's Mexican Food Restaurant
3100 Mabry Dr, Clovis, NM 88101-9234
575-763-4075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Clovis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Far, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Leal's is the standard I go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Leal's is the standard by which I judge all other Mexican food restaurants. You know, "well that wasn't as good as Leal's" or " that was almost as good as Leal's." I've been eating at their place for 30 years and it has always been good food. They have never missed.

My only complaint is the place is just too noisy. You can't have a decent conversation in there when it is busy.

The prices used to be really reasonable, on the side of a bargain for what you get, but like everything else it has gotten more expensive through the years.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“First rate Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had lunch at Leal"s Mexican Food Restaurant today. Service was outstanding and the food was great. The chip and salsa they serve with the meal is some of the best. Anyone looking for good Mexican food should try leal's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not much at this restaurant that I don't like. Generous portions. The chili rellenos and cheese enchiladas are my favs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Little at this restaurant that I don't enjoy. Chili relleno with cheese enchiladas are my favorites. The chips and salsa are so good that I could quit after eating them alone. Service is prompt. Drinks are refilled without asking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Try the stuffed mushrooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went to Leal's for lunch today and must tell you about this dish. Not on the menu and not always available, but when it is - YUM. It's a Portobello mushroom stuffed with chicken and cheeses, served with salad and rice, and it's one of the best choices there is. Service today was great as it usually is, chips and salsa ditto.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfforth, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food and super service! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We always eat at this location when we are passing through Clovis. We've never had a bad experience here- wonderful food, and very fast, friendly service. The fajitas are AWESOME!!! I highly recommend them!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leal's Mexican Food Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Leal's Mexican Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leal's Mexican Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.