We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Pit Barbeque

Texas Pit Barbeque
209 James Canyon Hwy, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
575-682-1101
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Cloudcroft
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dont bother...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

#1 Expensive and there is zero value here
#2 Owner clearly hates the customers and the business
#3 tiny portions
#4 meat was TOUGH as nails...
#5 why bother.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    15
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This isn't Texas bbq”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Went there with my now husband, I recently moved to NM in August of 2013, and had lived in Ft.worth Texas all my life up until then.... This place has no business using Texas anywhere in there name... This is so far from what Texas bbq taste like... food was bland, my husband had to use the bbq sauce to even eat the food, and it was horrible.... would never go back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
1 review
“Meat portions are small and very bland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

So we decided to stop by this "Texas Pit Barbeque" joint on our way home since we were all very hungry and did not want to wait another 2 hours to eat. Well, my husband and I both left saying we should have just waited. Luckily our daughter enjoyed her chicken sandwich (yay :) ). We both ordered dinners with different meat portions and the chicken, pork ribs, and brisket were all very bland! :( Luckily my sausages were not, well because of course those are packaged and premade. The barbeque sauce made eating the meat portions a little easier. The corn on the cob was frozen and then boiled. (yuck!) Oh and our bill for a party of 3 was over $42.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First and last visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Took a two meat dinner plate for the road...asked for brisket and beef ribs, however they only had pork ribs, oh well. Ok smell was good, however brisket had no flavor, even with the bbq sauce, the pork ribs were rough. Not sure if they really have them smokes.The mashed potatoes had white gravy, I prefer it with brown. The piece of corn on the cob was alright.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This homey little restaurant is a fixture in Cloudcroft. Atmosphere is okay - typical barbeque joint. Food is so-so. Hamburgers look and taste like they came out of a freezer package from a warehouse store. Sauces and toppings have the same general taste. The food isn't bad; it's just pretty plain. On the plus side, prices are quite low - maybe $6.50 for an entree plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Pit Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Texas Pit Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Pit Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.