We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloudcroft
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Cabins
Save
You added Spruce Cabins to your Saves list
100 Lynx Ave., PO Box 315, Cloudcroft, NM 88317   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekly Special
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in a cabin with the family. Cloudcroft is a nice little town, cabins were nice, heater worked plus they had wood for the fire. Place taken care of very well. It had all the things you would need for a nice stay plus a great location to enjoy the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttscott1160, Owner at Spruce Cabins, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed you visit. Please feel free when you are here again if there is anything we can help you with feel free to stop by the office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. We stayed in cabin 4 and we choose it because it is across the street from the Nostalgia Room. Our family had our mother's 80th birthday party and we wanted to be close to where everyone was. The cleanliness of the room, the little bags of toiletries was really nice. There was even a iron and ironing board. Plus the picnic tables and chairs outside make it so nice for socializing. The ladies in the office are always nice! My husband and I still laugh because after one night my husband had to stumble home and it was great it wasn't far!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Their little rhyme on the desk says it all "No refund, no way, you pay, you stay" To which I would add "Stay Away". They are not kidding. You pay up front for the stay. Our cabin had no screens, so it had flies during the day, and moths during the night. Keeping the windows open meant sharing the cabins with any insect that wanted in. The paint outside was new, nothing inside was.

I will confess that the beds were comfortable. One small step.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great place to stay, great prices. Stayed a week and got the last night free. The staff was nice and the owners are doing a lot to update the property. Loved cooking outside and our kids loved the Boston terrier dog "Remi" as the office people to see her tricks. Will come again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great staff and accommodations. We stayed in cabin 4. We have stayed iin this cabin for a few years. We like it because it has a walk in shower. My husband is mobility impaired and this cabin is easy to get around in. Spruce Cabins have increased the number of cabins and are in the process of updating. Remember this is Cloudcroft and cabins,enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found that we had to cook our breakfast with windows closed and no ventilation because of flies coming in due to lack of window screens. Also for sleeping it was very nerve wracking to be at the mercy of whatever might want to come in the very not screened windows. Also check on whether there are sunblock curtains or blinds in the bedrooms--again, some cabins do and some don't--ours did not. All in all there I got a sense that there is great variation in the repair, updating and furnishings of these cabins--so BEWARE and really look into the status of the one you think you might want to rent. We had the bad luck to pay for what I can best describe as non rennovated 50's squalor. We had a frustrating time coping with the drawbacks of our unfortunate choice of cabin, coupled with the fact that cabins are close to road, and in July 2012 there was Monday through Friday noise from 7 AM to 5 PM because of forest clearing on the hillside across the road. This was of course beyond the control of Management--Spruce just happened to be at the end of town where this "logging" activity was in full swing. However, the location is vulnerable to noice being very non residential. We were elsewhere as much as possible.YUCK, either we will try Spur Landings or house rental next time, or avoid Cloudcroft all together. Only pluses: nice towels, comfortable mattresses, nice exterior upkeep to the property, and cleanliness within the tiny squalor of our cabin. PS: There was no point in complaining--or trying to leave...the Management policy was clearly stated in a notice in the rental office: NO REFUNDS. Oh, and yeah, they run your credit card through for ENTIRE AMOUNT when you check-in. I wanted to leave within 4 hours of arriving and unpacking, but we decided to suck it up and stay rather than try to find other accommodations and then put the credit charge in dispute and possible end up paying for double vacation lodging.

Room Tip: Find out if you are getting a cabin with screening on windows.--..many of the cabins strangely lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed two nights and we were pleased with the cleanliness and usefulness of the one-room layout. Cloudcroft is a lovely place to get away and Spruce Cabins is a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Cabins

Address: 100 Lynx Ave., PO Box 315, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cloudcroft
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Lincoln Nation Forest at an enchanting elevation of 9000 feet above stress level. Spruce Cabins features year round accommodations. With fifteen cabins most having fireplaces ( wood is provided), Kitchens and outside charcoal barbecue grills and picnic tables. Pets are welcome for a fee. Free Wi-Fi and all cabins have color TVs with cable. We also have Club Spruce! A gathering room for rent with kitchen, two half baths, Cable TV, Wi-Fi and computer station, with it's own outside area including picnic tables fire pit and gas grill. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.