We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely get a massage.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge Resort and Spa
601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely get a massage.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

No elevator so if you cant climb stairs ask for ground floor. Room on 3rd flr was small but had a great view. Air condition vent was directly above bed blowing cold air - we told front desk so hopefully they will fix it. Food was good. Don't miss Sunday brunch and also a couples massage by Jim/Robin!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
33
96
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ingram, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The lodge was beautiful and the staff wonderful. They went out of their way to accommodate us.
The rooms, while beautifully appointed, are very small. Beds very comfortable.
The restaurant, Rebecca's, was wonderful. Supper a bit pricey but not for the quality of food, I ordered the rack of lamb and was the best I've ever had.
Breakfast there was excellent and reasonably priced .

Room Tip: Look at the rooms and request larger one if preferred. We were very surprised at the small size but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Their payment policy is that you pay 100% of the bill up front, when you make the reservation and, if you cancel, you do not get your money back. I was told they leave it on the books for you so that you can rearrange a stay at another time. Nice way of saying money up front, no refunds.

My credit card was charged 3 times for the entire stay. It took me calling repeatedly and about 6 hours to speak to something besides an answering machine. Not at all responsive to customer needs.

The room was small and a bit cramped but we were mostly using the room as a place to sleep and bathe so…no big deal.

We stayed the first 3 nights without any serious issues. On the fourth night around 8 PM (bedtime for us), we started hearing whooping, shouting, raised voices, and very loud music. My husband called the desk and was informed that it was the local Project Graduation (sober celebrating for high school graduates) Party. The party was outside at the edge of the parking lot about 3-4 doors down from us.

The desk attendant told my husband it was only for a 'few' hours, when he asked how long, he was told until midnight. That is late for people who get up between 3 & 4 AM. My husband called again and asked to speak to the manager (There had to be some solution, right?) He was told the Manager on duty was not available because she was tending bar. (Staffing issues?)

We waited a few minutes. I called asking to speak to the manager again (it is now pushing 9PM.) When she finally came to the telephone, she stated all the appropriate things; there were no other rooms except those near the party, she would start calling some local condominiums, and ask the kids to hold it down. I told her that was not fair to the kids; they will only graduate high school once in their lives. I did not want their night messed up, too, just because someone at The Lodge had made a bone head decision. After hanging up with her, my husband and I talked a bit and decided we were leaving. I called the desk told them we were leaving.

The closest place, going in the direction we were headed next, was about 90 miles away in Artesia, NM. We checked in there at about 11:00PM MST. For this we paid an addition $130.00

It is my guess that whoever made the decision to book us and at least one other couple at the Graduation Party venue thought we would just tolerate the noise because there are no other options in Cloudcroft.

I was told by the desk clerk on duty when we left that we would receive some kind of refund. We have been home 2 & 1/2 weeks without hearing anything from anyone at The Lodge.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. Try one of the cabins or condos in Cloudcroft
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Beautifully decorated with antiques, and equipped with the legend of its ghost "Rebecca", the Lodge is a relaxing place. They gave us an upgrade in the retreat suites, a sweet treat for us. After our 1 night there, we wished we had booked a longer stay, but we needed to be on our way. Our "suite" was a several room abode complete with a quiet porch, small refrigerator, coffee maker, and sink in the "living room" that also had a gas fireplace. The bedroom had a large canopy bed. And outside our door was a common area that had a small kitchen area and entertainment space, likely used for groups staying together (for retreats, I suppose). It was a short walk up to the main hotel where we could wander the halls looking at old photos and learn the history of Cloudcroft and the origins of the lodge. Although it could have used a bit of a facelift with furnishings and finishings, the comfortableness outweighed any of that. We had a jacuzzi in the bathroom, which we enjoyed, and double sinks (something I rarely see in hotel rooms), everything was in fine working order, and, altogether, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Lodge.

Room Tip: not sure why we received an upgrade, perhaps they were just overbooked in the regular rooms and we g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Enjoyed lunch at 9000 feet in the Lodge's Rebecca dining room. The ambiance of an earlier time was relaxing after a long drive. Be sure to end your meal with the cherry cobbler, vanilla ice cream and coffee!

Room Tip: Enjoyed lunch at Rebecca's and plan to stay at the Lodge in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We first stayed at the Lodge back in 1976, long before it's first renovation. It was quite sparse at that time. Now it is a very accomplished facility with a Victorian flair. Our first room of our one night stay on the Saturday night before Mothers Day was room 115, a very nicely appointed room with a king bed. However, at midnight we had to request a transfer due to mechanical noises in either, the ceilings, walls or hallways. The staff agreed that there was a problem and transferred us to room 105 which was a very nice two room suite with antiques and a jacuzzi tub. We certainly appreciated their prompt attention to our problem. Such is the nature of old hotels - sometimes mechanical issues appear without warning.

The Mothers Day buffet was absolutely spectacular with ice sculptures and a wide variety of fine foods. We had a table with a great view of the mountains.

We have travelled all over the world and believe that the staff, food and accommodations measure up to some of the nicest places where we have stayed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is the second time we stay in the Lodge and Spa, checking time is after 4 p.m. I try to checking a little early because we had a 3pm appointment at the spa, unfortunately we were not able to do so. The Spa was incredible had a 90 min couples massage James and Robin are wonderful, caring, and professional, then we checked-in, the room was big and had a nice balcony but it was so windy and cold we were not able to enjoy it. Had reservation for dinner their food is really good, just the lettuce for the Caesar salad was old and brownish, the entry was good and dessert better. The service was great specially from the assistant waiter James, a young man with a great smile doing an excellent job making us feel important and confortable. We had reservations for breakfast but we were NOT advise that breakfast was served from 8 am to 10 am so we did not make it on time we got there at 9:55 am. The only thing that I really did not liked was some extra charges in my final bill on Sunday morning when we checked-out, like a gratuity charge for $50+ and another $20 from something else?? The front desk Lady Marty, was not able to tell me why and she said "I will email you tomorrow Monday when the accountant sees your account, well is been a week already and she never send me the promised email!! the account was fixed eventually during the week but I never received an explanation on those extra charges. The town is very small so there is really nothing to do.

Room Tip: Try the Spa for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old hotel that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.