We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit, but you don't want to sleep here...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge Resort and Spa
601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to visit, but you don't want to sleep here...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Cool place, old charm, great....however, lumpy beds, no water pressure and you can get a better shower using the Dixie cup in the bathroom. How do they get the vacuums and cleaning supplies up the stairs? Maybe that's why the rooms aren't very clean. We wanted to turn on the ceiling fan, but didn't want to blow the 1/2 inch of dust all over the bed. $109.00 a night. Save your money, just have lunch or dinner and then run for it.....

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor to avoid stroking out on the stairs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to light. Our guests’ feedback is paramount to our success. We invite you to contact us directly so we may pinpoint specifics for training and upgrading purposes. We hope to have an opportunity to change your opinion in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
33
96
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

April 30, 2013


Dear Lisa,(Mgr.)
It has now been almost a week since our conversation as my wife and I were leaving the Lodge. At the time, I DID appreciate the fact that you sought me out to discuss reasons for my dissatisfaction with our stay.
I have still been thinking about the entire situation. First, I want to add a couple of things that I did not include last Wednesday. As we told you, our dinner experience was, overall, quite pleasurable but I would like to mention an issue that your staff members should be given clarification on. I had been at the check-in desk to deal with the credit card charge problem just before we went into the dining room. As we were leaving the desk, I asked if we were able to choose from any item on the menu as a part of our package. The answer was, “Yes.”
When we first sat down I placed our meal cards on the table. The first wait-person at the table asked if we had a “package”. (As you know, we did have the golf package.) After we told her that we did, in fact, have a package, she then told us she thought that we would need to see another menu, that package holders did not order from the regular menu. She left and came back to explain that she had been mistaken and that we WERE able to order from the menu; there was not a separate menu after all. There was also some confusion at the end of the meal as to our dessert options and one wait-person was at the next table and there had to be conversation between the two people confirming what was correct. I am sure the couple at the next table had no interest in their dinner being interrupted by this discussion. It sort of left us feeling that having a package made us somewhat lesser guests.
Now, back to our discussion as we were leaving last Wednesday(April 24). As mentioned above, I do think you did the right thing by finding me and having a “face to face” discussion. And I was really feeling better about everything until you said, “ I do apologize but there is really nothing I can do at this point.” As the person in charge, there is ALWAYS something you can do. A free round of golf for us would have been a nice gesture, for instance. That would have only cost a little gas for the golf cart.
At dinner that night before, we had witnessed some guests who were enjoying the Chateaibriand and thought we might consider coming back for that for our 30th anniversary meal. As we were leaving we stopped at their table and asked if they would recommend it and they gave high marks.
Your comment about” not being able to do anything” struck me as pretty cold and reminded me of a term used in Texas—“shooting yourself in the foot”. For that reason, we will NOT be returning to the Lodge.
Our gift certificate was from dear friends of ours, xxxxxxxxxxxx, who have been to and stayed in your Lodge on many occasions xxxxxxxx will, no doubt, be very disappointed to hear that our stay was less than satisfactory.


Sincerely,


Rickie Prichard

Room Tip: Do not stay at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, General Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Prichard, We continue to appreciate, respect and take your comments very seriously. As discussed, we have used this as a training/learning opportunity. We welcome you to contact us directly to discuss the details of our latest correspondence. Warmest Regards, Lisa Thomassie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had breakfast and dinner at the lodge both days. The folks that run the place were friendly and accommodating. The room was small, particularly the bathroom, but what should you expect for an historic building. It was clean and comfortable. Meals at Rebecca's were excellent. We also played golf at the nine hole golf course which had two tees on each hole so you could play 18 holes with some variation. The course was built in 1899 and was satisfying for my bogey golf ability. The town is small with not much to enjoy save for a few drinking establishments. The lodge and area has a great and interesting history.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! It is very rewarding when a guest leaves happy. There are many outdoor activities around Cloudcroft; hiking, bike riding, horseback riding, Frisbee golf, historical walking tours and more. During the winter we enjoy ice skating (the only outdoor rink in New Mexico!), downhill and cross country skiing, and tubing. While here, take time to visit with one of our friendly front desk representatives or the Cloudcroft Chamber of Commerce for the best list of local ‘to-dos’ and events. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found the Lodge charming, friendly, and an enjoyable weekend experience! The staff is welcoming and the hotel is just a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Mountains! Don't miss dinner at Rebecas. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lisa, the Manager, and her crew are caring and wonderful people. Kudos to them for offsetting some of the issues inherent in this grand old lodge. They make every effort to make your stay a good one. The facility, however, has some challenges. But, let's start with the positives about The Lodge...

First, this is a really interesting place, rich with history. This place goes way back for my family, as my Mom spent part of her childhood here, and I spent a small amount of my early childhood visiting here, as well. My grandparents were managers here in the late 1930's and one other time in the 1950's. This visit was after not having been to The Lodge for over 15 years.

Secondly, The Lodge staff are extremely accommodating and do all that they can to make your stay a good one, regardless of what happens.

Thirdly, We had a nice dinner at Rebeccas (the only restaurant in The Lodge), but then the Sunday brunch food quality was just so-so - this is covered in a separate review. The staff in Rebeccas were quite nice to us - Susie at the front arranged a beautiful table for us at the Sunday Brunch... Waitstaff were all very good to us.

There is food at the bar, but pretty much one central food service staff.

The Lodge is surrounded by the Lincoln National Forest and very nearby are oodles of beautiful places to hike, walk, ride mountain bikes, and at the Lodge, play golf on one of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever seen - and it is an old one, rich in history, as well.

The lobby has an enormous fireplace that is gorgeous and outside in the back, the lawn has seating that enables people to take in the view over the golf course area.

Hummingbirds abound in the spring through the autumn months - audible when you sit outside in the back of the Lodge, or when you walk around in the front. Sunset views out the front are gorgeous and surreal.

It is a cool spot in the hot summer - but be forewarned, it is at nearly 9,000 feet above sea level, so those who are sensitive to altitude changes need to acclimate before coming up and staying overnight...

Not enough time is spent on highlighting the really unique golf course, the outdoor opportunities that surround this place, and the overall natural beauty. The aspects of the outdoor activities related to the Lodge are way under-advertised...

Negatives are that the place needs a lot of work; some capital investment could go a long way to restore this place to reflect it's "lodgeness" - we have old pictures of the place, taken through my grandparents' time there, with amazing wood and tile throughout - Native American rugs - so beautiful... Someone decided to go "antique" - and as styles move on, the present theme is outdated and needs to be reviewed and revised...

I will note that the "haunting" and the central theme of "Rebecca" is way overblown and worn out. Despite my experiences here early in my life, I had never heard of this phenomenon until I was in my mid-30's... I believe that it was a theme created to attract people to this venerable old lodge, blown up as a marketing scheme back in the 1980's or so, but not a true representation of the grand history of this place. It borders on "real silly" in my opinion.

There are a lot of other colorful stories told about The Lodge and it's guests over time, however, and these likely could be highlighted more in the history to enable guests to realize how cool this place truly is.

The guest rooms are quirky and various in their comfort levels. Sad to see some that the vintage mosaic ceramic tile floors have not been preserved and refurbished. This place used to have the bath tubs on claw feet, which I used to love. Perhaps it was too expensive to preserve these and just modernize?

Too many stairs present an issue, especially for older folks, and those coping with the altitude. The facility could become more ADA compliant and put in at least one discrete elevator to help people who have difficulty with stairs. The good thing is that the Lodge crew do help in any way that they can to haul luggage up and down the stairs for their guests.

Despite all of my critical remarks, the place is grand in that it has a rich history, and is a unique place in this area of the US - both a geologically and environmentally - a true surprise as you ascend from the desert. I would hope that the owners/investors would pay attention to it before the issues with the facility begin to keep business away.

Bottom line, there are so many possibilities for this place to be stellar -- it will just take some capital investment and perhaps a new theme to turn The Lodge into a really fabulous resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We value every guest comment and take them seriously. Thank you for taking the time to share your observations and historical connection with The Lodge. You have a wonderful perspective and the fact that you share not only opportunities for improvement, but the positive points as well, is greatly appreciated. We hope to serve you again in the very near future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We live just a short distance to the east (90 miles) and have been to the Lodge on many occasions. We decided to spend our anniversary here this year and have dinner at Rebecca’s. The Lodge has lots of charm and is very unique for the area. Service was excellent from the front desk staff. Our room was in the main Lodge....the rooms could really use updating though as they are showing their age....one could still redecorate with period furnishings to keep with the vibe of the place. The rooms are smallish which is to be expected of a 100 year old facility. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd Floor in the main lodge are only accessible by stairs for those who might have trouble navigating stairs. The location is lovely and makes for a nice weekend away from the heat of the summer. The elevation is nearly 9000 feet up here so the temps are usually in the 70s F even in the middle of the summer. Lots of pleasant hikes in the area. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience here at The Lodge. We’re glad you enjoy The Lodge and we hope to serve you again in the very near future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We live in Carlsbad, a mere 115 miles away and needed a short break. Pat was very helpful in helping me find a great room, and rate, even though it was last minute notice. We can not say enough about how friendly ALL the staff was. Hotel was full, since it was a holiday week end and everyone was wonderful. Dinner was delicious, I especially enjoyed my appetizer of Blacked Chicken Cheesecake!!! Our steaks were done to perfection. We highly recommend this hotel. Do NOT expect the usual "chain" type places, this one has charm instead. We also hiked the rail trail and on a clear day you can see the valley below and the White Sands.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. I found the staff very helpful in helping me pick out the one best su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for these kind words. Our biggest reward is when a guest leaves happy. Your comments have been shared with Pat and her manager! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old hotel that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.