We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. Unique. Love it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge Resort and Spa
601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice. Unique. Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I've wanted to stay here for a while, what a treat. My sister and I treated our mother to this and she loved it. We all loved it. Stay here when you can if passing thru New Mexico. There were 3 of us we stayed in the two queen room. Very comfortable beds and room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind words. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
33
96
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I would have rated it 4 stars (never a 5 star when it's as downright uncomfortable as this place is), but the rooms are just too small. However, it gets four stars because it has great ambiance. Lovely early 1900s atmosphere. Expensive for what you get, though.
The staff in general seems to be very professional, but there's an overall detached feel, perhaps because it's late in the season? The person at the front desk in the morning looked downright scruffy.
The bedroom, and we might have had a larger than average one, because it was on the end, upstairs, so it had an extra window. .. has a lovely feel and beautiful decor. But it was ridiculously small and uncomfortable, and that could have been made better, so easily. There was a luggage rack in the tiny closet, and I cannot imagine why it was provided because there was literally no place to PUT it in the room. Very little open space at all to set down my purse. A small surface area to place my laptop and makeup mirror would have been MOST helpful, since there is NO surface area in the bathroom - you might could set down a toothbrush, no more.
It's fine for one person, but if you're a couple, you might ask for a larger room.
Oh , and another real issue - to get to our room, we had to lug our bags up several steps to the lobby, then DOWN couple steps in the hall , then UP two flights of stairs and down a hall to get to our room. And there were dirty towels or something lying all over a sofa just outside our room. I'm not sure why there was a sofa out there, ... .maybe to give you a place to relax, since you couldn't in that room.??
I think the ambiance is so lovely , it's worth a visit , if you're prepared to deal with a lot of stairs, and be rather cramped in a relatively expensive hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel was built in the early 1900s and probably remodeled to allow private baths in each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for visiting The Lodge and taking the time to share your comments. Your observations have been shared with the appropriate managers for team improvement. Some of our rooms are small and arranging these rooms is a challenge; your input is appreciated. The Lodge is 101 years old, and your assessment that we’ve remodeled to include private baths for each room is spot on. We welcome you to contact us at cwatters@thelodgeresort.com and let us know which room you were in, we would like to address the room layout with your input in mind. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I made our first trip to Cloudcroft and stayed at the Lodge. Normally, I like to stay at chain hotels, but this place was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very nice and helpful with all of our questions. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms, which was very nice. Our room had a great view from the back of the hotel and was very quiet and relaxing. We dined one evening at Rebecca's, which had good food. The bar at the front of the restaurant was also a nice place to relax and enjoy a drink. The atmosphere was great and just what we needed! If you go there, be sure to ask for the key to visit the tower at sunset, it's beautiful!

Room Tip: You can choose a preference between rooms on the 3rd floor or renovated rooms on lower floors. Perso...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You for your kind comments. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are looking for a lovely HQ where you and your family can enjoy 1000s of square miles of forests, mountain streams, golf, alpine hamlets, horseback riding, and a myriad of magical mountain delights and come back to a place that adds to that glorious environment, The Lodge is that place!

You can Google it for its history so I won't belabor the reader here, but let me say that historically it has housed everyone from Hollywood movie stars to presidents and rebels. The inside of the Lodge is charming as are the grounds. I'll let the photos speak from themselves.

If you are ever staying in the El Paso, Albuquerque, Alamogordo area do yourself a favor and spend some time at The Lodge.

Oh, and don't forget Rebecca's, the Lodge's restaurant. One of my favorite dishes is their Monte Christo! It alone is worth the trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and photos. We concur that this area and The Lodge are terrific places to be. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

With the fun golf course, spa, restaurant, quaint rooms and friendly staff, cloudcroft wouldn't be as desirable place to visit. The Lodge makes up for a lack of shops in the town. The views are outstanding and the golf course is high value. The Scottish tees make the corse all the more interesting. I would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We hope you do come back soon! Thank you very much for taking the time to share these lovely comments. It is such a pleasure to serve our wonderful guests. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time on our day trip to The Lodge! The hotel was historic and different from a typical "hotel"! We loved our small room which looked out over the lawn. The weather during our August trip was amazing!
We dined at Rebecca's and felt it was a little over priced, but the food was good. Our service for dinner was not that great, but had a better server at breakfast!
Overall, great experience though!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We hope you do come back soon! Thank you very much for taking the time to share these lovely comments. It is such a pleasure to serve our wonderful guests. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We came across this hotel by accident. We had not intended to stay in Cloudcroft for the night, but decided to ask if there was a room available and there was. It's a really nice place in a lovely mountain area. Since it was July, the relative coolness of the area was welcome. The staff were great and we enjoyed our stay. The price of the room was about the same as a nice motel room. We ate dinner in the very nice restaurant. It was expensive but delicious and was an unexpected treat. We highly recommend the lodge.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the first floor to avoid climbing stairs. We did have to go up or down 3 ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The weather has certainly been awesome this year, afternoon rain and cool temperatures. We welcome all feedback, and would like to invite you to contact us directly so we may pinpoint the service issues with your dinner. We are pleased that the rest of your trip was wonderful and again, we appreciate you sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old hotel that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.