We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Stay - Loved our Room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Lodge Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Lodge Resort and Spa
601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Nights, Pay for 3!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved our Stay - Loved our Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed on the third floor in a room in the tower with a king bed. The room was comfortable and the bed was perfect. The view out our window was of the valley below and White Sands in the very distant horizon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    65
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
29
90
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were last at the Lodge 2 years ago. It still has a breathtaking view from the mountains to Whitesands. The golf is still fun and reasonably priced, but the rooms are showing a little wear.

This time we chose to stay in the Retreat (across the parking lot from the main Lodge) as my husband didn't want to haul our stuff up to the 3rd floor. There is no elevator and the king rooms are all upstairs. Anyway, the Retreat rooms are suites...bigger and more expensive. The room was large with a separate living room, a large bath with a jacuzzi tub and double sinks and a bedroom with a high canopy bed. It also had a balcony that overlooked the forest and the road. First let me say it was clean... But there was something on the bed skirt...I don't want to guess. The linens were okay but a little threadbare, only 2 bars of soap yet the suite had 3 sinks, a tub and a shower... The furniture and coverlets were pretty worn, the TVs old style but worked. I was a little disappointed. But the worst was the common area within the Retreat. The furniture there was even worse. The pool table torn and the sticks warped and no chalk. The common kitchen (I guess all 4 rooms could be rented together as a family retreat) had used dishes setting out the entire time we were there. The TV in the common area was at least 15 years old... A GIANT old big screen... We never turned it on although we tried to play pool....

The staff is very nice.

We ate meals at Rebecca's. The food was outstanding. That's one of the main reasons we come here. But I must say, the service was SLOW. We waited an hour and a half for our dinner on a Monday night...they did have people from Rand McNally there for some kind of review so they were getting all the attention. But we waited for breakfast too... Best French toast ever!

In conclusion, the Lodge is a neat old hotel, but for me, I'm not so sure I'll be back again except to play golf (which is really fun) and to eat at Rebecca's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lodge. We are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. It is an ongoing challenge to keep this 101 year old facility modern and we are constantly updating (including TVs). Your comments have been shared with the appropriate managers and will be used to make sure we are focusing our efforts in the right places. We are glad you enjoyed golf and your food. Hopefully we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is in a lovely property with stunning views. We booked a Superior King and we were given a room on the top floor. We don't mind old, creaky rooms... but the bed was not good. The mattress was old and worn out, it felt it had a hole in the middle and was very uncomfortable. The worst thing was the ventilation noise... old hotel... old ventilation for sure. We noticed a noise when we went to bed and it was only a few hours later that we actually found out it had a very precise schedule... every 20 mins the buzz would start for 7 mins... then off again... then on again. Needless to say we didn't sleep at all. The next morning we complained and we were not offered another option in the Lodge, but only down the road in the Pavilion. We accepted it as we had no choice and it ended up being the right decision. We also had dinner at the restaurant. I wrote a separate review for that but worth mentioning here too. I ordered pork chops that arrived pink and my husband ordered a medium steak which arrived well done. Not a good experience there and very very expensive. The waiter did not smile once and the other staff seemed pretty clueless. The Lodge would not be our choice if we would ever go back to Cloudcroft but the Pavilion would be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We encourage guest feedback because it is the most precise way for us to measure our success. We apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We are pleased that your stay in the Pavilion was satisfactory. The appropriate managers have been notified and improvements are being made on the room you stayed in. Please let us know if you return to Cloudcroft as we would like the opportunity to give you a better memory of The Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After looking around NM for a place to spend New Year's, I happened upon their website. Love at first sight! Historical and lovely. We drove to The Lodge from the airport in Albuquerque and were tired when we arrived. Reception took good care of us: friendly and efficient. Our room was comfortable even if it was a bit small. Dinner that night, a buffet, was outstanding. Many things to choose from (meats, chicken, salads and starches), good wine selection and wonderful service. There was a pianist playing who was excellent and very friendly. Sadly for us, we were so tired we pooped out before midnight and never attended the party they were having at a nearby facility. They even were providing free rides to and from the party for guests...what a great idea!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for visiting us over the holidays and taking the time to share your experience. Your satisfaction is the best reward for us. We would love the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The buildings and grounds are very well done. The room we had was a king bed on the 3rd floor. You might want to ask for help in carrying your luggage that far since the air is so thin at 10,000 ft. When you first arrive you are not used to the thin air. Three suggestions; new pillows, new matresses and change the toilet seats to wood from the cheap plastic. Other than that it was very enjoyable. Restaurant was very nice and the food was good. The outside gazeebo area was great at night with the fire pit, full moon and whispering pines. AC worked fine when needed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are pleased that you had a good time. Maintaining a 100+ year old property is an ongoing challenge (and our passion). We kindly request that you contact us at (800) 395-6343 x400, at your convenience, so we may look closely at the room you stayed in. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a mixed experience. The Lodge in Cloudcroft is located up on a hill and it makes quite a visual impression. The historic structure is lovely and pretty well kept up. I had seen some other reviewers mentioning that the property is thread-bare, but it looked quite good to me.

For the positives, I have to say the building itself is fantastic. The rooms are small, but comfortable. Ask at the front desk for the key to the tower, it's worth the view. The staff was very nice, especially the bartender. They work hard and were very pleasant. The lobby with its grand fireplace is especially nice to hang out in. The Wi-Fi is great.

For the negatives, the bed was the tallest one I've ever seen in a hotel. I suspect it may have been an antique, but it was quite a climb to get up onto it. Because of this, it made the small room feel even smaller. I would be concerned for anyone who has physical limitations.

We found what appeared to be a bloody washcloth beside the toilet. Totally disgusting. It made me wonder about the care that is taken with cleaning the rooms since there was such a major oversight. I still feel grossed out about this. We mentioned it to the lady on duty at the desk and she said she would file a report for the manager.

The restaurant is a puzzle. We had a quesadilla and carrot cake that was quite good and ate them in the bar, which has a nice atmosphere. For breakfast, we ate in the Lodge's restaurant, called Rebecca's. My mother order a vegetarian omelet and received one filled with bacon. My eggs were not cooked to order and the home fries resembled rabbit pellets, completely cooked into oblivion. These were not complicated orders to get right.

I don't think I could bring myself to go back, as much as I love the building itself.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with super tall beds, you might inquire if any of the rooms have shorter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We welcome all reviews and appreciate the constructive comments. There is no excuse for a less than perfectly clean room; we have followed up with the Housekeeping Manager and have been reassured that quality assurance and staff training have been stepped up. Your breakfast experience has been shared with the Chef and your compliments to the bar team. We do hope to have an opportunity to serve you in the near future. Once again, we appreciate your invaluable feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, nm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Lodge is a beautiful old hotel on the top of a hill. But that is not as important as a good nights sleep! The mattress and pillows in room 304, and probably in all the other rooms as well, were totally worn out. The bed bowed to the middle in both directions and the pillows were very hard. Neither my husband nor I could sleep. To make matters worse, we both woke up with backaches!
The restaurant is very pricey for the service that you receive. My friends were there the same night for a wedding reception. The food was supposed to be served at 8:00. It was after 10:00 before it came out! Unacceptable.
My husband and I ate breakfast there. His omlete could have fed four people! What a waste.
They could do better by serving smaller, healthy portions. The restaurant can be avoided. But again, who wants to pay any amount for a lousy nights rest?
We will not return without first calling and asking if there are new mattresses.
By the way. I have never written a hotel review before, even though we travel a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystal W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We encourage guest feedback. You are our most important critic. Thank you for letting us know which room you stayed in so we may address the reported issues. The Restaurant Manager and Chef have been alerted to your experience so the appropriate action may be taken. Hopefully, we have the opportunity to change your impression of The Lodge in the future. Again, thank you for helping us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Corona Place, Cloudcroft, NM 88317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Cloudcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cloudcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old hotel that combines luxury with rustic charm, and contains an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Cloudcroft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.