We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way over priced just to stay at a historic hotel. Never again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eklund to your Saves list
Hotel Eklund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Main Street, Clayton, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Stillwater, ok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Way over priced just to stay at a historic hotel. Never again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff was helpful and friendly. That's the only nice thing I have to say. Got to our room and it hadn't been cleaned, dirty linen in a pile on a chair. Got another room, toilet backed up. Continental breakfast sucked. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

It's not a cookie cutter modern motel. It's a great experience in a well preserved turn of the 20th century hotel. Lovely saloon and dining room. Friendly staff. Grace, charm and history. It fits perfectly into this old time small town. Take advantage of the opportunity. The desk clerk will fill you up with the building's and town's history. If you can book in one of the three rooms that are on the front of the hotel you can sit on a huge shared balcony and enjoy the peace of days gone by, Black Jack Ketchum's hanging being a exception.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Really good hometown hospitality. We've always stayed in Clayton on driving from Colorado to OK/TX/LA, and usually at one of the newer hotels. Couldn't resist giving this historic hotel a try. What fun! Very clean comfortable room. Yes, the bathroom is cold -- but very clean!

The host/owner was truly cordial and helpful. The dining room was inviting so we had a late snack, which was tasty and pleasant. Breakfast was truly outstanding -- a good variety of high quality FOOD. The service was oddly designed, but worked great.

You won't want to miss this one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was our first visit and after reading other reviews, I have to agree that it is an authentic stay in an historic hotel with lots of history. We loved the comfortable queen bed and balcony room. You could imagine staying here in the 1800's and watching the action on the street below. We enjoyed visiting with the couple in the next room who were also enjoying the balcony and sipping on a bottle of wine. In fact, they joined us for dinner in the saloon while we listened to live music along with the locals on a Saturday night. Food was adequate and not that important as we were enjoying visiting and listening to the music The queen bed in room 206 was so comfortable - probably a new mattress. No coffee in the room, but it is available in the lobby. The next morning, the quiche and ham & cheese croissant sandwiches along with fresh cantaloupe was the best! Oatmeal and cereal are also available. We did hear the train whistles during the night, but it really added to the charm.

Room Tip: Room 206 is a balcony room - nice to have fresh air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Along with the St. James Hotel in Cimmarron, this is one of the few strongly authentic southwest experiences I've seen in the area. And I'm from the southwest. So many bars and restaurants that are "historically authentic" have been extensively updated to meet modern tastes and conveniences.

I won't say the food here is the best in the world. It's certainly pretty good, and I really like their mexican food when I come through town. But I can almost guarantee this is as close as you'll get to old-time America, without being too dressed-up. And since it isn't dressed up, the atmosphere may seem a little dim or old-fashioned (not "hip" old fashioned but real) for some. I like it.

There are even century-old bullet holes in the bar!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was in town for a marathon and the Eklund did a great job of hosting us runners. Warm welcome, great service, very helpful. They've done a lot of work and are very happy to explain the hotel if you are interested. The rooms were great. Ours was very large and very comfortable and had an amazing balcony shared with other rooms. Too bad the weather wasn't the best to enjoy it. We had a private event in the restaurant and the buffet was great - if that's representative of the food, eat here as well!

Room Tip: The only downside is close railroad tracks. I always travel with earplugs and had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupland, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We always stay at the Eklund on our way to visit relatives in Colorado, and we always enjoy it. During our last stay, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help us when we had car trouble. Without their help, we would have had a hard time continuing our trip. They were helpful in getting our car towed and helped us get a rental car. We can't thank them enough. As usual, we enjoyed the suite on the second floor that opens out onto the balcony. We love to sit out there and look at the historic Luna theater and the other buildings. We also enjoyed our meals in the saloon and the complimentary breakfast in the dining room with quiche and croissants. Thanks again to Jeanette, Jo Beth, Jerry, and everybody!

Room Tip: We like the suite on the second floor with a door to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Address: 15 Main Street, Clayton, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eklund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.