We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1890 Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eklund to your Saves list
Hotel Eklund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Main Street, Clayton, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“1890 Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Road trip from Oklahoma to Colorado and we made the little town of Clayton New Mexico. There are a number of standard hotels here, a Best Western, Super 8, etc and they are all basically similar, but we opted to stay in the turn of last century downtown hotel - The EKlund Hotel. It has a very nice decor, a saloon and restaurant and outdoor patio. It is probably not well suited for families with small kids, as the rooms are a bit small, but our second floor room had a door that let to the balcony over Main street. The balcony had tables and chairs where we could enjoy the afternoon. Fairly close to the tracks, but everything in Clayton is close to the tracks. The dinner and breakfast were as passable as likely anywhere else in town. Our rate was a sweet $75 per night compared to $130 for the Best Western. No pool, but lots of room in the lobby and lots of historical goodies to look at.

Room Tip: 206 was nice and the bed was comfortable and it has the door to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

For many years going to New Mexico and Colorado I had wanted to stay at the Hotel Ekland but so much of the time it was either in disrepair for closed all together. For this trip I was excited to see that Grand ol' Lady had been reopened. I was even more excited to learn that their elevator worked so that my friend would be okay accessing the second floor rooms. Even on the phone the staff was very friendly and efficient. Once we arrived we were given excellent service and even though we were not hungry for dinner the breakfast that was served was delicious and beautifully displayed.
What a grand effort the new owners have put forth to bring this beautiful old piece of history back to life. I only wish that more of this attention was being paid to our historic buildings rather than tearing them down to build a modern monstrosity in it's place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel. Well maintained, clean, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. The salmon was excellent. This is an old hotel so if your looking for glitz you won't find it here. They even welcomed my dog. If I lived around here this place would be a mainstay.

Room Tip: The king suite was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Actually we didn't stay here. We chose another hotel in Clayton because we didn't realize this place had an elevator and the couple we were with would have had difficulty with steps. However we had dinner in the restaurant and the front desk gal (Irene) gave us a tour of one of the rooms. The rooms have such character and are so quaint. Appeared to be very clean and newly decorated. I'm so disappointed that we didn't stay but we definitly will next time we are going thru the area. I give this a 5 star rating

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Eklund used to be a nice place, but not any longer. Surly front desk. The rooms desperately need repair, paint and a good cleaning. It used to be a good place to eat as well, not now. The food tasted like army field rations and they were out of the dessert that the waitress suggested so we were brought something else without being consulted. We were also charged for the dessert that we didn't get. At about 10 pm, another guest walked into our locked room. The surly desk lady had given that guest the wrong key (room numbers are plain on the key fob) and sent her to the wrong room. In this part of the Southwest a mistake like this can get an innocent guest shot in a doorway. Be aware they could care less about security. Also had the wrong amount charged to our credit card for four days. The included breakfast was a weird egg thing in a baggie and Tang. There are several options of chain motels in Clayton, and I'd advise you to use one of them instead of the Eklund

Room Tip: Do yourself a big favor and go down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have travelled past this hotel several times and always been enchanted by the look of its immaculate architecture and garden bar, so when we needed an overnight stop in the area, keenly booked a night. The room, service and hospitality was top notch.

The night we stayed coincided with a banjo player entertaining - and although our first thought was "this could be painful" we had a brilliant night in the garden bar enjoying dinner, cold beers and the warm summer night.

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights at the eklund and everything was perfect. The staff was courteous and friendly, and the beer garden was a nice addition. The food was excellent (try the salmon tacos!) and the rooms were well appointed. Ask for a balcony room if they're available. Overall excellent experience, we recommend it to anyone passing through or just looking for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Address: 15 Main Street, Clayton, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eklund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.