We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitaliy and great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eklund to your Saves list
Hotel Eklund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Main Street, Clayton, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitaliy and great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Eukland Hotel in October of this year and enjoyed our overnight stay thoroughly. We arrived to to a warm welcome. Our room was charming, warm shower & great water pressure (one of my pet peeves if the water pressure is low). Bed was comfy and sheets clean.

We ate at the restaurant at the hotel. The chilie rellanos were a-ok and my husband and I loved the craft beer selection.

My favorite part of the story is yet to come. The Hubbs and I were headed out quite early, 4am to be exact. As we packed up our vehicle we heard a sound and Jeannette, the owner, poked her head out the front door. This kind lady offered my husband & I breakfast of fresh cinnamon rolls and tea since we were leaving before the complimentary breakfast was served to all at the Eukland. She lead me back to the kitchen and got some food for us for our trip and sent us on our way. This kind of personal and kind interaction is why I will recommend the historic Eukland Hotel to all those I know. Thank you Jeanette for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McCormick, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is an old hotel that has been lovingly renovated. It is still a work in progress according to the owners, but we liked it. Be prepared for an eclectic experience out of the old west. It has modern conveniences, like wifi, but the atmosphere and decor must be like it was 100 years ago. The service at check-in and at breakfast was also very good. It was nice discussing the history and future plans with one of the owners at breakfast. The included breakfast.is simple but satisfying.
There is also a restaurant that serves a nice selection of comfort food. A good thing since it was pouring during our stay. We were there on a Saturday night and it was full of local folks; a testimonial to the quality of food and service as well as value.
We were near the end of a five-week road trip where we stayed at some very nice B&Bs. This was quite a bit different, but it made us smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Friend and I traveled from Kansas to Santa Fe. We stopped at the Eklund for lunch on our second day out. I am not a fish lover but my salad with salmon was light and delicious. The flavor and flakiness of the salmon was remarkable. Friend had the chile relleno and he did not stop talking about how good it was for the rest of the trip. If you are a beer drinker, you must try the Black Jack stout. Wonderful java flavor. We stopped there on our way back and enjoyed the whole thing again.
We had planned to stay overnight on the way home in their beautifully remodeled rooms, but plans changed so that did not happen. Hope we get another chance.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor queen - bubble tub and private balcony to sip your glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful old hotel! Beautifully redecorated a few years ago. You can't get this kind of ambiance at any of the big chain hotels! They did a great job of rolling out the red carpet for our group of 30. We had dinner in the dining room (with a special menu which they had prepared for us ahead of time). Breakfast, which was included, was not your typical free hotel breakfast....omelets, croissant breakfast sandwiches, homemade cinnamon rolls, etc. Our motorcycle club has stayed here numerous times in the past and hope to stay here in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had heard about the hotel from friends who had gone on previous trips. It was more than I had imagined. The staff was very friendly and cooperative(except 1 person-he was efficient but had an early morning didn't want to be there attitude). We arrived a little earlier than expected and with close to 30 people showing up at once, was a touch overwhelming. But they handled it well, from the check-in desk to the bar staff showing up and getting right into serving everybody to the dinner crew who did a good job getting us all fed with salads, main courses of prime rib, salmon and chicken offerings to dessert. The room was spartan, but the bathroom could of handled a party of 6 in there. Disregard the slanting floor unless you drop something round and have to go chase it. The bed was comfortable, the room was warm and the quiche, egg sandwiches and cinnamon rolls for breakfast the next morning topped it all off.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Folsom room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Love this place, I have been stopping here on my way to NM and the Rocky Mountains for over 30 years. I finally had a chance to take my kids and they enjoyed the stop. We ate in the bar area and everyone enjoyed their meal and the stuffed animals on the walls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family members had stayed at this hotel a few years ago, loved it and thought it was a good idea for us to stay there during our 2 week vacation. There were 7 of us and we had made reservations 6 months earlier. We were all traveling together. When we arrived on motorcycles, they had is move our bikes 3 times. Then when we went to check in, the front desk girl was rude when we all walked in at the same time. She made rude remarks about the previous owners and was rude to two of the people in our group. We then went to dinner. The dining room was closed so we ate in the bar. We all ordered steaks with all the trimmings. We were then told they had no bread and no potatoes. The steaks were very small and tough. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Address: 15 Main Street, Clayton, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eklund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.