We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad the Eklund is open again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eklund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eklund to your Saves list
Hotel Eklund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Main Street, Clayton, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Coupland, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So glad the Eklund is open again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

After the Eklund was closed, we kept checking back to see if it was open again and finally were rewarded when it reopened earlier this year. We had our usual suite opening onto the balcony overlooking downtown Clayton. We enjoyed it and the restaurant. New owners and staff very helpful. We will continue making the Eklund a stop on our way from Central Texas to visit family in Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Did not stay at hotel but had dinner. Food and service was were excellent. Nicest place in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lascrucesnm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff is knowledgeable, warm and welcoming. Terrific food (they currently serve lunch and dinner) and the New Mexico wines are a nice touch. The downstairs and dining room are awesomely over-the-top western Victorian (you can also eat in the saloon), but the rooms are true to the heyday of this historic railroad hotel, comfortable and uncluttered. The bathrooms are immaculate. There are no coffeemakers in the rooms, but good coffee (and real milk) is available 24/7 at the check in desk, and there's the delightful Crossroads Coffee just up the street. Don't miss the breakfast burritos at Mary's Back Door Deli!

Room Tip: The hotel is there because of the railroad, which is nearby. There will be the sound of trains going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Eklund Suite with the front balcony. It was wonderful. Great bed and bedding and the bathroom is charming. They have done a great job redoing it. The restaurant is wonderful as always and we will be looking forward to the breakfast menu! until next time....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stopped for dinner on our way home from colorado. The hotel was beautiful and very historic. food was great. I hope we can stay there on the way or way back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I had previously stayed at the Eklund Hotel on my way to Taos, New Mexico. We stayed there the very week it reopened. Keeping in mind that they were still in the process of getting the saloon reopened, the restaurant back up to speed, and the computer system on track, it was a bit disorganized, but well worth the confusion. We were placed in a lovely two-bed unit on the second floor balcony. The place was clean and the beds very comfortable. The price was definately right! It was $50. less than the other two major hotels in town. The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast yet, and the menu was limited, but there's a great local coffee shop on the next streetcorner that had great breakfast burritos and wonderful coffee. Try it again. I think you'll like it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We did not stay, but dined in the restaurant and it was really great! The atmosphere is like stepping back in time to an elegant hotel of the 1800's. We were a bit ashamed to be wearing blue jeans, but everyone else had them on. The "Surf N'Turf" dinner was delicious and had very generous portions. The service was very attentive. Everything was superb, so much so that my mom said, "Now that we have experienced this, we may as well turn around and head home!"

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eklund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eklund

Address: 15 Main Street, Clayton, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eklund 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eklund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eklund Hotel Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eklund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.