We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinosaur Tracks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Lake State Park

Clayton Lake State Park
Rural Rt. Box 20, Clayton, NM 88437
505-374-8808
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Clayton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 500 dinosaur footprints were discovered in this park, which brings in tourists and scientists from all over.
Euless, Texas, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinosaur Tracks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited the Clayton Lake State Park specifically to see the dinosaur tracks. I haven't been there since I was a teen and my friends had never seen real, not-in-a-museum tracks before.

It's best to visit in low-light conditions. We visited during the early evening (5-7PM).

Take some time to admire the lake and fauna. We saw lots of cottontails, jackrabbits, and hawks.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Neat if you are passing through the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This NM State Park features a 170-acre recreational reservoir and a fossil trackway of dinosaur footprints. We visited in June of 2014 and there were lots of campers and day fishing families as well. The dinosaur footprints are on the other side of the lake which is about a 1/4 mile trek that is pretty level. The footprints were pretty neat although there are really only two that are worthy of photography. Glad we did it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Picturesque scenery, lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were made to feel very welcome by the park ranger, and allowed to select our own RV site. We didn't have any hook-ups at our site (these were all occupied), but we did have a large covered picnic table, and a splendid and uninterrupted view of the lake. Our nearest neighbour was 30m away, and the park was not at all crowded. We did a challenging 90 minute round the lake walk and also saw the dinosaur footprints. Would stay here again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Dinosaur tracks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Well done explanation of the dinosaur tracks. There is a walkway around the area describing the different dinosaur tracks. Well worth the small fee. Betterr to photograph in early morning or late evening light, but still possible to get good photos in the harsh sunlight of mid-day.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Impressive Dinosaur Tracks, Staff and Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Located 15 miles north of Clayton, New Mexico (but close to TX, OK, and CO), this park is definitely off the beaten path but well worth a stop if you are in the area or want to see some 100 million year old dinosaur tracks that are easily accessible and plentiful. This area is also unique in that the dinosaurs' tails also left tracks as is pointed out in the six minute introductory film on tracks at Clayton Lake State Park VC. There is a cast of a huge print in the VC, but for a close up view take the one quarter mile boardwalk out to the dam spillway and learn more.

The park also has fishing (trout, walleye and catfish), boating, stargazing (a state of the art observatory was added in 2006 to make use of the clear, dark skies and the wide open spaces), bird watching (Audubon has designated the park an important bird area), and camping.

I was really impressed with this park and the friendly and knowledgeable staff. The Superintendent said people come from outside the US to use the observatory. The park is in an area of scenic roads and byways. I saw more pronghorn in the area than I could count. Morning and late afternoon are the best times both for viewing the tracks and for viewing wildlife.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Clayton Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.