We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the high desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colfax Tavern

Colfax Tavern
US 64 Colfax, Cimarron, NM 87714
505.376.2229
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Cimarron
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oasis in the high desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Friendly watering hole between Cimarron and Raton, the Colfax Tavern has been a fixture here since before I began to frequent it in the 1960's. Roger Smith the owner has deep knowledge of the area , it's residents, and it's history, and is quick to share a story or two if you are interested. Well stocked bar with a surprisingly wide range of beers on tap and bottled. Outdoor area where the old dance hall used to be provides a venue for live music and stargazing. If you are looking for COLD BEER this is the place!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to get away...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently moved to Cimarron and finally had the opportunity to visit. We decided to have dinner on Valentines day and so did many others! The place was packed.. yes I was surprised as this bar is out in the middle of "nowhere"... We absolutely loved the pizza! In fact we loved it so much we went and had lunch the next day. This is now my husband and my new favorite place to go on the weekend! I would recommend this place to anyone who wants some great food and a night away!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great local place, decent food, strict rules”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

You can't miss the 'Cold Beer' sign and the red awning in the distance after coming from Cimarron. This is the Colfax Tavern. Roger is nice, but he is reserved and strict. This is a real local place and Roger gets most names.

The food is decent. The pizza only comes in one size and you can get all of the toppings for the same price. The pizza does have a crust that one finds on other pies, so it is a little different from other wood fired dough pizzas. The meat dishes tend to be better, and I have seen customers say that the meats are good. There is a sign inside that states, 'Nothing much happens in the Colfax Tavern.' Well, the tables were full when I stopped in there with a friend.

They have live music, but the sound is not that good. There were only two small speakers set up. This Tavern is in the middle of nowhere, so they don't have issues with noise complaints.

The other issue was the alcohol strictness. This might be due to the severe laws against alcohol in New Mexico. Roger closed the bar early that night, and some of the staff take notice on how many drinks you order, so they even cutoff regular customers. Other staff were quite nice and were always helpful to service their customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Man behind the bar was not nice.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

There was a man behind bar and a woman (she was pleasant to talk to). The man seemed rushed around 9 p.m. I ordered an appetizer and he did not seem happy about it. When I got it, the breading was falling off because they turned off the oil ( the lady told me and didn't charge me for it) about 30 minutes before.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Ghost of a Bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had been to Colfax Tavern before but this time was terribly disappointed. From the grumpy old waitress to the owner only having time for his 'selected few'. The food was very disappointing and the service nonexistant. Sorry I bothered to stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colfax Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Colfax Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colfax Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.