We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and horrible food!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Hotel & Restaurant

Saint James Hotel & Restaurant
route 21, Cimarron, NM
(888) 376-2664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Cimarron
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
1 review
“Bad service and horrible food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Waiter was rude and took a long time to come back to the table after getting straws. Cheesecake was frozen solid! Grandmas chocolate cake was made by a step grandmother who apparently didn't like me very much! It was nasty! The ticket had gratuatity added for 5 people eating dessert! I paid almost 7 dollars for what?

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    16
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as expected!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I called in here on a road trip around southern Colorado and New Mexico. Husband is big western fan so really looking forward to the history of the place. It was a relatively quiet afternoon so we decided to ave a late lunch with a glass of beer. The young lad who was to serve us was abrupt and rude. He asked for ID for the beer even though we are bith well passed middle aged. His attitude was so abrupt that we left without eating or drinking. Really terrible experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fun place to visit. Very historic. Classic Victorian western ambiance. The bullet holes in the ceiling in the bar and the stories of the place made it real interesting. Very period furnishings, if not original. Great place. Oh! The food? It was OK.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked a table at the St James Hotel restaurant on the basis of the reviews on Tripadvisor, so thank you all for the best steak I have ever had. Went for the 12oz Filet Mignon and it was superb. Unfortunately as the nominated driver I was unable to enjoy the delicious beers – unlike my very happy brother! Very busy restaurant, so was glad we’d booked our table early. If you’re in the area you MUST stop and go for a steak.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great History and Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Saint James Hotel and Restaurant is down the road from the Philmont Scout Ranch. If you have the time, stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal and take the time to view the bullet holes on the ceiling of the bar and all the cool items from yesteryear. The food was delicious! I had the bison burgers and the french fries were heavenly. Great service to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint James Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saint James Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.