We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Little B&B Deep in the High Country of New Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
64 County Road 100 (physical address), P.O. Box 142 (mailing address), Chimayo, NM 87522   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Quaint Little B&B Deep in the High Country of New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying a few nights at this lovely B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of the home and setting as well as hospitality of the staff. From sitting on the back patio watching the numerous hummingbirds at their feeders to enjoying freshly cooked delicious breakfasts each morning. We're so pleased we chose the Vista Room as it's upstairs with a full outside deck where we enjoyed sunrises and sunsets and views of the mountains. The living room is stocked with books and area info and the dining room with teas, coffees and snacks. We will definitely return and hope to spend more time with the unexpected treat, the B&B cat, Griffin. Thanks for making our stay an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Vista Room. We recently rebuilt that big, private deck on the Vista Room and put part of the deck under-roof. Now you can enjoy the outdoors, even during the summer rains! It is just a wonderful place to sit and sip your morning coffee and look at the mountains. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    31
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
83
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The mornings were very peaceful, watching the hummingbirds and enjoying the quiet. Evening in the hot tub was very relaxing. The breakfast was sensational and they accommodated our special dietary needs. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room did not have A/C which we would have preferred instead of fans.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Heart of the House" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you stay with us, reserve the Vista Room or the Kiva Room. Both of these rooms have AC. Our ground level rooms stay cooler but they have ceiling fans only. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful couple of days celebrating our anniversary by staying at Casa Escondida. Belinda and her staff made our stay very comfortable and specialized in wonderful extras designed to make an anniversary celebration special and memorable. This B&B is situated in the beautiful countryside in historic Chimayo, and close to Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Taos, and the beautiful Espanola Valley. The rooms are very clean and cozy, with luxurious extras included with the room, such as his and hers bathrobes. Even a plate of tasty biscochitos were provided. The breakfast dishes varied every morning and the delightful dining area encourages conversation with the other guests. Breakfast time was truly one of the real highlights of our stay. If you are planning to visit the Santa Fe/Los Alamos/Espanola/Taos area, don't overlook this gem of a B&B..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Happy Anniversary! We will expect to see you again next year….if not before! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very centrally located for visiting Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Monument (ancient ruins), hot springs, Pueblos and more, while also providing a quiet, relaxing and “authentic” New Mexican experience. We are open all year, so we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a very cute place - off the road so it was nice and quite. They accepted our dog and even left her some treats which is bonus points for us. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful! The staff is very helpful and friendly. I would have liked the location a tad closer to either Taos or Santa Fe, but that was my lack of planning. The room we stayed in was a bit tight for two adults and a large dog, but we made due. There is no a/c on the ground floor rooms. For us, it was fine as we stayed at the end of June, but might get toasty as the summer goes on. I would return here for sure if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Casa Escondida means the “hidden house”, so we are indeed off of the road and provide a quiet, rural setting with mountain views. We happily accept pets in 4 of our 8 guest rooms. Humans get Biscochito cookies upon arrival. Pups get doggie treats upon arrival. We are located between Santa Fe and Taos but both are a very common day trip from our location, which means less packing, moving and unpacking because you can visit all of the most desirable destinations in northern New Mexico from our central location. There is no AC in the ground level rooms but even during the summer months the night time low is in the 50s. Very comfortable sleeping weather but if you want AC, the Vista Room and the Kiva Room (upstairs) have AC. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return for a future stay. We look forward to seeing you and your pup in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I travel to a church encampment very year in Red River, NM and often stop to eat at the popular Rancho Chimaya on our way. This year we decided to stay in the area overnight and stayed at Casa Escondiida which is off the old road to Taos from Espanola. This B & B is so relaxing with many amenities to make your stay very enjoyable. I especially enjoyed sitting on the patio and watching a variety of birds come to the feeder. The staff was very helpful in answering questions about the area as well as preparing delicious snacks and breakfasts. If you ever find yourself in this area, it is well worth the stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got some much needed rest and relaxation. We are about 1 mile from the famous Rancho de Chimayo Restaurant, which many visitors drive long miles to dine at. The restaurant has been serving-up wonderful, traditional New Mexican food for over 50 years now. Of course, we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast too. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brick nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

the B&B has been a feature of our yearly visits to NM for the last three years. The rooms are quaint with real NM features and the breakfasts are terrific. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It is in a rural part of the state and the night sky is an added attraction.

Room Tip: there are casitas as well as a good number of rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We glad that you make us part of your yearly visit to New Mexico! We are a rural location that is quiet and serene but also provides easy access to Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier, Pueblos, hot springs and more….like the beautiful night sky that you mention. Thank you for your review. We will look for you next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Arrived late in the day refreshments were there to take along with some snacks, asked where we might dine and they gave us direction to a Mexican café. where we enjoyed our delicious dinner. arrived back at our Suite where we retired for the night had a wonderful stay and look forward to staying there again. a must see the Cliff dwellings of the local Native tribes of the area. You must see Taos just north of the cliffs the city is situated on the top of the Mountain a local place for Artist . lots to see there. enjoy the ride along the Rio Grande as it snakes along the road leading to Taos see River rafters trying their skills shooting the river and its rapids. Stop to have a sample of the local wines. enjoy Northern New Mexico. We did!

Room Tip: Rooms that have a patio., so you can enjoy the views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Forward thinking on the environment excellent rated.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaescondida, Owner at Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your review! Yes, we can direct you to some of the best and most authentic New Mexican food in the area, as well as sharing all of our favorite sites and activities. Ancient ruins, scenic drives, historic Santa Fe and Taos, rafting, hiking, horseback riding, Pueblos, galleries, museums and more. Start your list for your next stay! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast

Address: 64 County Road 100 (physical address), P.O. Box 142 (mailing address), Chimayo, NM 87522
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Chimayo (only 35 minutes north of Santa Fe), this is the perfect, central location for visiting all of the most popular destinations in northern New Mexico (Santa Fe, Taos, Bandelier National Park, Pueblos, hot springs and more)! Six acres of mountain serenity. Guest rooms are filled with hand-picked antiques and accented in a rustic southwestern style. Start your day in our sunny breakfast room. Conclude your day in our outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.