We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante

Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante
300 Juan Medina Road, Chimayo, NM 87522
505-351-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chimayo
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wonderful food wonderful ambiance.....just a great experience. You must try it....by the way the margaritas are over the top

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    131
    36
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Consistent Northern New Mexican comfort food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

With a scenic drive on the high road from Taos, the one must stop place is this multi-generation familystyle restaurant. We had eaten there years before and were delighted that the family reopened after a rather devastating fire several years ago.

Even though eating lunch at 2:30, the restaurant was probably 50% filled. We started with just chips and salsa as we were starving and needed a quick fix. The salsa was prepared with fresh tomatoes that were bright red and tasty with just a touch of "hot" and without the distracting cilantro that can overwhelm a salsa. The prickly pear iced tea was sweet without being sickingly so and complimented our entire meal

Our lunch entrees were the stuffed Sopaipilla Relleno with beef and the chilli rellenos with Christmas sauce, Spanish rice and beans. Both meals were hearty and tasty. Again, this is a family-owned restaurant that stays true to their roots and cooking traditions. There is nothing fancy about the food other than the fresh ingredients and consistency of preparation. It is worth the 30 minute detour out of Santa Fe but if you are driving to or from Taos on the the old highway, this is a must stop place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Meh! Mostly a tourist trap.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ordered the chili relleno platter and it was so heavily battered and deep friend that I stripped off the fried batter before eating it. The chili relleno at Doc Martin's in Taos is much much better. Just wasn't real impressed with this "famous' restaurant. It's mostly a tourist trap at this point. My advice to travelers: Skip it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Want to really taste northern New Mexico cuisine! This is truly the real deal. Don't miss the stuffed soapillas. The service can be spotty, but eating out on the porch is delightful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We drove the high road to Taos to Chimayo and stopped for lunch. A wonderful ambience and great service! Someone else at another table ordered a drink that was a gorgeous shade of fuchsia so I asked the waiter and found it was a pear cactus lemonade. I ordered it and it was delicious, although a bit on the sweet side. We had a wonderful lunch of combination platters to try a variety of foods. I am a vegetarian and was thrilled to know they had veggie green chili and veggie tamales! The tamales were fabulous - lots of veggies and masa. I also had a burrito and enchilada that were smothered in green chili sauce and had a great flavor. My husband had a carne dish that he also raved about. This is a great stop on your travels in the area and fun to poke around the building with its various rooms and local decor. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.