We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are heading for Taos, don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante

Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante
300 Juan Medina Road, Chimayo, NM 87522
505-351-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chimayo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“If you are heading for Taos, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had lunch here on the recommendation of someone who used to live in New Mexico. It's an It's an old farmhouse that has been in the ownership of a Hispanic family for generations.

It is on the high road to Taos, close to the old church with all the crutches and objects that have been left to give thanks for healing.

A lovely restaurant and superb New Mexican meal. It's pricier than the average eatery, but given the quality of ambiance and food, well worth it. Do try it out.

They have art on the walls, too.

We paused in the gift shop on the way out but didn't buy anything. Mostly chutney, honey and odds and ends. It doesn't do justice to the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    138
    39
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baker City, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving traditions---”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

---plus Sopapillas and Mrs' Jaramillo's welcome greeting at the door make this a memorable tradition for Thanksgiving. We are so grateful that the restaurant was reopened after their fire and that great cooking, both traditional Mexican dishes and a avery traditional pilgrim's thanksgiving dinner, are included within. Go whenever you can but do so on Thanksgiving as a salute to your family and to the Rancho de Chimayo!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“Tom O”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a Sunday drive last weekend and while on the drive, wanted to include someplace new to eat so we decided to driive to Chimayo, NM from Santa Fe and try the Rancho de Chimayo restaurant. We planned on making our destination for lunch, which we did, as lunch is served until 4:00PM. As you enter the property, the driveway is decorated for Christmas with colorful lights. The restaurant inside is also tastefully decorated with Christmas decorations making it feel warm and inviting. We noted the restaurant could seat a lot of people as there were many different rooms individually decorated differently so we imagine it could get rather noisy in the summer busy schedule.
We started with drinks and I had a beer whereas my wife ordered the house frozen margarita which was tasty and had a lime flavor. The menu was varied and included seafood, steak, and various Mexican dishes with a local flavor. Remember, Chimayo raises local chiles that taste different from other locations of New Mexico. We ordered guacamole and chips, both which were tasty and fresh. We shared a bowl of green chile stew which was made on a tomato base and included pork, potatoes and chiles. We also shared a Mexican entree called Platon Especial for $14.50 which included a taco with shredded beef, a chile rellano, a tamale, an enchilada and rice and beans along with sopapillas.
The service by the wait staff was exemplary which included the waiter, server, and a bus person. I noted the wait staff constantly refilled coffee, water and were always checking on the patrons.
Overall, we would return to the restaurant in the future without any hesitation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Authentic Northern New Mexico Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a true northern New Mexico food experience. Although it is a tourist spot complete with bus loads of Texans, it is still worth the visit. The finest Chimayo red chile dishes, green from Hatch and Socorro, sangria that is right out of a Spanish bar, and a rambling old original adobe. The garden terrace in the summer is a nice hideaway but the winter experience is the best -- pinon wood burning in the kiva fireplaces, hot posole, red smothered enchiladas, sopapillas and honey butter -- all the best and all authentic -- do not miss this

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“A New Mexico gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have been coming to Rancho Chimayo for years. This is an absolute must if you find yourself in this part of New Mexico. The food is authentic, well priced and is served in a charming environment. After lunch, be sure to make a stop at el Santuario de Chimayo. It is truly enchanting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.