We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent getaway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda
Save
You added Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda to your Saves list
County Road 98, PO Box 11, Chimayo, NM 87522 (Formerly Hacienda de Chimayo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Chimayo B&B and Inns
Buena Vista Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent getaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

A very comfortable hacienda that is exactly what one would expect in Chimayo...adobe, log ceilings, high ceilings..the service, friendliness and especially the in room delivered continental breakfast were topnotch...they are across the street from The Rancho de Chimayo, a top restaurant, and you can exchange the continental breakfast for a 50% discount on a full breakfast on weekends( which was also excellent)...great to have a choice

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenbank, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

WE first stayed at the Hacienda when it was only a year or so old. We have returned multiple times and stayed in almost every room each of which has its own wonderful charm.

The joy of being there is to be steeped in the beauty of the area, the history, much of which is not well known and certainly not advertised.

The Hacienda itself if a joy because of its simplicity, proximity to the great restaurant across the street and the wonderful back roads to explore the marvel of northern New Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

For this trip we wanted to enjoy some local color and decided to select small establishments like Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda when visiting Taos, Santa Fe and Chimayo. By far, the Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda was the loveliest. The staff was very helpful and kind to us. Our room was wonderful - large and well kept. The building is quite old but was so well maintained - including a fireplace and a balcony - and all rooms open to a small, but lovely courtyard. We had a very comfortable kingsize bed and got a wonder ful night's sleep. Our continental breakfast included a fresh muffin and a generous dish of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola and their pinon coffee. We would recommend Rancho de Chimayo to anyone looking for a quiet and comfortable lodging.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at this hacienda about 15 years ago and I was very relieved that it has lost none of its charm. The rooms have wooden floors, antique pieces, kiva fireplaces and look on to a wonferful, flower-filled courtyard. We were given the option of a continental breakfast in the courtyard or walking across the street to have breakfast at the Rancho de Chimayo at half price. We chose the half price breakfast and it was fabulous - service was wonderful and the food was terrific and a great value. We enjoyed ourselves immensely, this is such a wonderful place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of Santa Fe. We easily walked to the El Santuario Church from our hacienda and it was very enjoyable and peaceful. The staff are very accomodating and friendly and our rooms were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Southwest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

The rooms stank, the bedding covers haven't been cleaned in a long time, the lighting was mostly limited to overhead lightbulbs on the fan, the breakfast was cut up pieces of a muffin, there wasn't a window in the room -- only the door, which must be a safety code violation...

Worse, beyond all of that, was verbal personal assault leveled at me by the woman who brought our breakfast. I asked why our room had not been cleaned the day before. She said I lacked the decency to leave the room key. She acknowledged that I had not been asked to leave the key. Then she repeated it was a matter of decency on my part.

I complained to management and got a small refund. The woman in charge said she would scold the rude staffer because she has a history of mouthing off to paying guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I can never understand why people kvetch about the smallest things, like the previous reviewers. We found Chimayo a wonderful place to stop en route to Taos (the inn is just off the scenic high-road), and for sheer cultural draw ended up spending about three hours near the Sanctuary, checking out shrines, retablo shops, and the spice merchants. The inn itself is a classic hacienda: rooms around a central courtyard with a nice fountain in the middle. People relax there in the evening with their bottles of wine, and a full continental breakfast is served there in the morning. The rooms are spectacular -- everything works, so the place has clearly been updated. You are nestled far away from the seedy bustle of Espaniola (15 minutes away); the town is very quiet. It's a great stopover place, especially if you want to check out the current retablo crafts. Note: we found no cell-phone service here, and obviously no wi-fi; but that's not why you choose a place like the Hacienda. The other thing is that, until the restaurant across the street is reconstructed, the only decent restaurant is 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

I wish they would have put more effort into making this place really shine. It has potential, but if falls short of what it should be. On the plus side, this is an adobe hacienda in the countryside with ambiance, quiet, a few antiques, and a sense of history. Our room ("Seis") was large. Across the street is their justifiably famous restaurant.

As an offset, though, we had to contend with an atrocious shower (5 minutes to get hot water), a toilet that often refused to flush, gaps in the screens, shades missing on windows, paint that had been spilled on the floor and sloppily applied around gorgeous wooden beams, etc. It's sad, because this could be a knockout kind of place with some effort applied to do it right.

  • Liked — Quiet, close to restaurant, sense of history
  • Disliked — Failure to take care of the little details (such as working toilets, hot water)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda

Address: County Road 98, PO Box 11, Chimayo, NM 87522 (Formerly Hacienda de Chimayo)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chimayo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chimayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Chimayo Hotel Chimayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho de Chimayo Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.