We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay Before a Beautiful Train Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elkhorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elkhorn Lodge
Save
You added Elkhorn Lodge to your Saves list
Rt. 1, Box 45, Chama, NM 87520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Blue Ash, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay Before a Beautiful Train Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was the perfect stop after a long day of driving. As I pulled into the property, three dear rushed by me! I had the chance to slow down and take some pictures of them just staring at me. So awesome! My room was clean, and it had everything I needed to rest comfortably. They have a little restaurant that had an amazing burger! Since I was too tired to drive around and find a place to eat, this was a perfect set up for me. If you do plan on taking the train ride, I would suggest you wake up early enough to dine in this restaurant. The ones closer to town are too crowded and have slow service.

As for my room, it was perfect. What you need to rest, wash up and head out on your adventures!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    2
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placitas, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Chama, New Mexico. We stayed at the Elkhorn Lodge, in a cabin by the river. Our cabin was right near the river and we could listen to the river as we fell asleep at night. The property is clean and well maintained. It feels like a summer camp to me, simple. There is a small cafe near the property with good, not great fare. Big breakfast platters.
It provided me a quiet place to immediately forget the stresses and pressures of work.

Room Tip: I loved the cabin by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five days in the motel rooms (not the cabin) and maid service only included a few towels. No trash was removed, no bed linen change, never made the bed, no cups, tissues, tp or anything else. At $89 a night and repeated requests to clean, this is reprehensible. We would never return and STRONGLY advise others to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in the motel room 2nd.floor room was quiet and clean.Because we were riding the train they gave us 1/2 off 2nd. nite thanks.The office didn't open until after 8:30 am.would of liked to get in the office earlier.They have a restaurant at the top of the hill . Food was good and the waitress were great

Room Tip: If you need wi fi .only worked in the office,That was ok sometimes you need to get away from hi tech...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked here for a music event held on site. Booked online what looked like one of the nicer cabins. The cabin was run down and dirty. Although old, they could be fairly nice if they were cleaned up and updated. Couldn't wait to get out of there. The staff was nice, but there's no excuse for the the condition theses cabins are in at the rates they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We made reservations online for the Elk Horn and looked at it on Google Earth beforehand. It's not new by any means, but it has lots of character, the grounds are great, Jim & Jill the owners are awsome, and it's right on the Rio Chama. Some reviews knock it as being old and unclean but we didn't find that at all. It's the kind of place you might want to do a family reunion, or a stop over with a bunch of friends who are going to ride the steam train. If you're used to a brand new Comfort Inn, this ain't it, and you won't like it. If you like nice people who have a great old place for your overnight stay, you will enjoy the Elk Horn, just don't sweat the small stuff. They are pet friendly and have an old cat (Oscar) who totally intimidated our Aussie pup. Even jumped in the truck for a nap when we weren't looking to her dismay. The restraunt next door has great food and service as well. Adios.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, the river is right behind you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We love to camp and stay in camping cabins, so we weren't expecting pristine conditions. On the outside it looks like a quaint cabin, however on the inside it was a decrepid trailer. We discovered a filthy stained sofa, two sagging chairs (one with a huge cigarette burn in the seat), stained wornout sheets, blankets with burn marks, filthy stove, toaster full of breadcrumbs, pots with dried up food, tiles on drop ceiling were stained and sagging, dirty shower curtain. It reeked of cigarette smoke, even though we requested a non-smoking cabin.
On a positive note, check-in was friendly and easy even though the cigarette smoke in the office was unbearable. There is a creek that runs behind the complex.
Should have cost $40 a night at the most. One of the worst places we've ever stayed. Save your money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkhorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge

Address: Rt. 1, Box 45, Chama, NM 87520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chama
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elkhorn Lodge is a rustic get away in the beautiful Chama Valley of Northern, NM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Hotel Chama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkhorn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.