We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chama Trails Inn (Trail's End)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chama Trails Inn (Trail's End)
2362 Hwy. 17, Chama, NM 87520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Chama B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed here several times, and have not been disappointed in Rooms 5 and 6. They have actually remodeled since our last stay, and our beds were very comfortable, with nice linens. The rooms are rustic and clean, and yes, this is the old style motel, but it is Chama. The owners are very accomadating and friendly. We will certainly stay here again. The visitors center and a restuarant are right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is wonderful. The rooms are rustic and charming, and we were comfortable our whole stay. The bed was nice, and the temperature was nice without use of the heater, we just opened the windows up a bit for some cool air. Starla and Chester are great people, and they made us feel so welcome. In fact, we are getting married in Chama next year, and we booked the entire motel as accommodations for our guests. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here one night. Read reviews and thought this is the place to stay in Chama N M . Was taking the early train trip so i did not want to be a long ways away. Well.. when i checked in i was greeted by an elderly lady who was also the wife of the owner. she went on about how her place was extremely clean and that the beds were the "adjustable number beds." I was shown a room two doors down from the front office (this is an old style motel with outside entrances - you park in front of your room). Room looked great. Had wood on walls , floor, vaulted ceiling. Looked like a cozy cabin inside. i took the room for one night.

All was nice, for a while. Cars pull in just in front of our room. Doors slam. Peoples voices are plan to hear . Then bikers pull in with all there quite machines. So you go to bed when they do. There even is a place just out front that management allows people to "drink all they want at. "

Finally the night quiets down. we get in the bed and ... with every move it creaks. Wood on wood. Every move ..all night. As far as the adjustable beds... i asked the owner (husband) how i adjust the bed ? His response was," don't touch them.,there are 5 beds tied together and any adjustment changes all 5 rooms. So much for personal comfort that i was sold on.

Well after spending most of the night awake, at 6.00 AM we are awoke to the sounds of MOTORCYCLES. Not just starting up but warming up - reeving up and down .
So its wake up time for all.
If this place is "charming " i do not understand the word.

Oh ya one last thing. The office at this hotel closes at 10.00 PM and does not open until 8.00 AM. So if you need anything during these hours no-one is there to assist ( or police outside activity). Grin and bear it seems to work best. And just drop your room key in the box when you leave so the owners don't need to respond to your concerns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Chama trails is scenic, not difficult to find. The big thing for me, having fibromyalgia and lupus was their beds, so comfortable that you couldn't help but get a good night's sleep. That's often what I look for in a motel.

The lack of air conditioning wasn't a problem because our stay was over Labor Day and the nighttime temperature really dropped. Nice and quiet place that I'd recommend for an overnight's stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here for one night, in the two upstairs rooms. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean, and the showers were decent, but no air conditioning, and it was difficult to get any air flowing through the room. The windows would open, but had shutters and no curtains, so at night you had your choice of air flow with no privacy, or privacy with a warm room. The carpeting on the stairs up to the rooms smelled a bit musty.
We could have handled the warm night, but the real letdown was the mattress, which was terrible! so lumpy and soft that my spouse had to get a sleeping pad out of the car and lie on the floor to get any sleep at all, while I twisted and turned until I found that I could get a little support by lying across the end of the bed.
When I reported the problem mattress to the front desk the next morning (thinking it surely had some broken springs and needed to be replaced), the young man stated that it was a new mattress. I felt as if he was actually trying to argue with me about whether we had slept well or not!
On the up side, the woman who checked us in was very nice, and they have laundry facilities that are free to the guests, which was very convenient after camping for days. (one top-loading washer and one dryer.) They also had a very sweet cat who greeted us at the laundry room.
The location was convenient, on a main highway through town, with a couple of restaurants in walking distance. The facility seemed generally clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wow, what friendly people. The owners were very nice and helped me with a repair of my equipment. The owners went above and beyond to help me. We were in the room for 3 nights and never heard a sound from other guests. I asked and was advised that the hotel had solid walls between each room. Really quiet and the decor was great. Rooms were very clean and the bathroom was super clean! Can't wait to back next year. I have stayed at other places in Chama and this is the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayer, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The beds and pillows are very good. Bathrooms small but clean. Everything great for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chama Trails Inn (Trail's End)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chama Trails Inn (Trail's End)

Address: 2362 Hwy. 17, Chama, NM 87520
Location: United States > New Mexico > Chama
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chama Trails Inn (Trail's End), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chama Trails Inn (Trail's End) to your Saves list