We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley of Fires Recreation Area

Valley of Fires Recreation Area
Carrizozo, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Carrizozo
Activities: Camping, Camping/rv, Hiking
Attraction details
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had been to 3 Rivers Petroglyphs earlier and from the top of the mountain, you could see the white from white sands and what almost seemed to be a definitive line of what started black. My son then suggested that we drive on to the Valley of Fires. It was great! I had been disappointed the day before at Lake Valley Historic, so this was a welcome change. It was hot--107. The walkway was hot because for some reason they asphalted about half of it. But it was tolerable. Just make sure you take water. There are signs that explain what you are seeing and while parts were reminiscent of Volcano National Parks lava field, the smell of sulphur wasn't there. Of course neither was the vegetation. I wish we had packed a lunch. The bookstore was nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“open-mindedness pays off- fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Black field of stilled lava flow & one can see the cone in the distance from which it all spewed so very long ago. For the cost of $5 for two, and we were in the area after visiting Three Rivers Petroglyphs earlier, we were happy to have brought water & hats to walk the paved trail provided an opportunity to view a slice of the lava field while stopping to read the educational signs posted along the way. A KOA employee in Moab had earlier made her recommendation of what not to miss, at which time I admittedly thought that it didn't sound interesting enough. Sometimes other people's descriptions don't conjure up what the actual experience will be like- But am glad we went, as both of us were bowled over of the expanse.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terriffic place for a day hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lots of information on the native plants and wildlife (beware of snakes during certain times of the year). Easy walking paths but go during the cool season because it gets very hot very quickly. Restrooms and picnic facilities as well as campsites are available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Spectacular geology and flora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was an unplanned stop, a few mils out,of our way, but it turned out to be one of the most enjoyable. Named for the ancient lava flows in the area it offers a fascinating glimpse into the areas geology. There is an easy and well planned trail through the lava formations but you can leave the trail to see the many galleys, sink holes and rock formations caused by the,lava. Even more impressive is that the lava formations provide shelter for all kinds of desert plant life which are in better condition, more beautiful and more accessible than in most of the better known attractions. See it if you can

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and vey unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place looks like another world. So many places to visit in New Mexico, this is a must see. Not far from Ruidoso and Lincoln. RV camping and tent sites, very dark at night.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of Fires Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Valley of Fires Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley of Fires Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.