We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAD to BAD FOOD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Paisano Restaurant

El Paisano Restaurant
442 Smokey Bear Blvd Hwy 380, Capitan, NM 88316
(505) 354-2206
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Capitan
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SAD to BAD FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We ate at the El Paisano Restaurant Saturday evening. I have to say that was the worst Mexican food I have ever eaten in NM. Homemade chips and salsa my foot. Tacos were dry , can beans, boxed rice yuck! So much for the Capitian Mountain Muffins boy were they a joke, My 6 year pld niece makes better muffins. Way over priced, and the service sucked. I know what you are saying about the tea too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highway Robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The exterior of the building is a coy plan. It is the first reasonable looking place one sees for a while, so it lures the unwary who arrive at Capitan feeling peckish. The interior seemed nice until the ice tea arrived. They committed the great travesty of serving powered mix and even put in crushed ice so there could be no mistaking the cloudy murk. Then we got our order and things went from bad to worse. The silverware was dirty. The "nachos" was a handful of chips with a small toss of shredded cheese backed into them. The enchiladas were basically really spicy taco soup, with raw corn tortillas and more lettuce than meat. The portions were so small that even though it was awful, we felt annoyed. The bill was the final blow: 34.50.

Where it got even worse was finding out there was a festival going on in Lincoln, with food trucks and everything.

Never eat at the El Paisan. It's a trap.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Day trip to Capitan, NM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were on a day trip from Las Cruces to Capitan and stopped for lunch at this restaurant in Capitan. We were warmly greeted and seated. The decor was southwestern and rustic. We loved the wooden tables and chairs trimmed in cactus wood. The menu is on a board and is plentiful all made fresh daily. We ordered the Green Chili stew, homemade and delicious with home made tortillas. Chips and salsa came complimentary too. For desert we had a brownie with ice cream also fresh made. Don't miss this place when traveling through Capitan, worth the drive from Las Cruces or Albuquerque.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent home made New Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were just passing through New Mexico when we stopped here. We invited the owner/cook/waitress to sit down and have lunch with us. Her cooking and company were both excellent. Her home made sauce was wonderful. She also has items for sale in her restaurant like books, ceramics and paintings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprise Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've been there before, but this time I paid close attention. There wasn't a large selection to choose from but the selections I made over a course of 3 days was quite a surprise. Each entrée had a splash of color which made the meal very appetizing. The taste coupled with the arrangement of color was exemplary. Each meal made me want for more.......I will go back and have another fine eating experience at this restaurant.
BA

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paisano Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Paisano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paisano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.