We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Not Grand” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Hacienda Grande

La Hacienda Grande
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bernalillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Hacienda Grande
Save
You added La Hacienda Grande to your Saves list
21 Baros Lane, Bernalillo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bernalillo B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Definitely Not Grand”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

After reading so many favorable TA reviews of Hacienda Grande we were looking forward to an overnight stay there. I can sum up our experience in one word: terrible. Was it just our room (Sandia)? Was it just an off-night? I don't know, but we definitely won't go back.

I don't mind not having a TV, or air conditioning, or phone in the room; that often goes with the territory in a "historic" B&B. But guests should not have to put up with a musty smell, mildew on the walls and and large areas of paint peeling off the walls. The roof and/or walls obviously has a leak, but there was no evidence of repair.

It also would have been nice to have a fresh small bar of soap in the bathroom and new small bottle of shampoo rather than half-used bottles of liquid soap and shampoos bought at a discount store. The shower head had not been cleaned in some time and so there were only a few streams of water coming from it. The rugs were stained and dirty.

The place should be renamed La Hacienda Dumpe.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

I just returned from a 3 night's stay at La Hacienda Grande and wanted to share my experience. The location of La Hacienda Grande is very convenient. Not very far north of Albuquerque and the airport and on the way to Santa Fe in Bernalillo. You're away from all the traffic here yet close enough to Albuquerque, Corrales, the Turquoise Trail, and Santa Fe that you don't feel as if you've spent your entire day driving to reach these places. The hosts, Melody & Troy, are very welcoming and laid back. I loved the hacienda with its central courtyard and I enjoyed the tasty breakfasts (with a southwest flare) on the covered portico in the courtyard. My room (San Felipe) was very comfortable. I liked the brick floors and the windows which opened to the courtyard and to the exterior. Melody and Troy are very helpful with suggesting places to eat (Range Cafe in Bernalillo and Indigo Crow in Corrales) and places to visit (Casa San Ysidro in Corrales). The price is very reasonable. When in New Mexico, why stay at a chain motel/hotel when you can experience staying in an authentic adobe hacienda and all the character that comes with it?!

  • Liked — Hosts, historical character of the place
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

I spent two nights and wish it had been longer. After staying in so many pleasant but dull chain motels, I wanted something REAL, and La Hacienda Grande as it. I had as much comfort and room and amenities as a motel, but so much more.

First, the warm welcome and genuine friendliness of the owners, Melody and Troy Scott, made me feel that I was a special friend. They clearly were prepared to do what it took to make my stay enjoyable.

Second, the breakfasts! Fabulous. Every day different, every day tasty and straight from the kitchen, with all the coffee and juice you could drink. Not to mention the other little treats (fruit, snacks) left out in the common areas.

Third, the history. You are truly staying in a treasure, one of the oldest non-religious buildings (heck, even including them) in New Mexico. That is, in the whole country. Its proportions are charming, the central courtyard a delight . I sat out there enjoying a wireless connection as the sun went down and the lights came on in the branches of the tree in the centre of the courtyard. I'm sorry, you just don't find that at a motel!

You can be private, or you can join the conversation with the other guests. This wonderful place attracts interesting people! Be prepared to have fun and to be surrounded by delights.

  • Liked — Both the friendliness of the hosts and the history of the building.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a single 'liked least'. It was that great.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2007

If you want to feel like part of the family, stay at this wonderful adobe B & B. Troy and Melody are delightful inn keepers and will do whatever they can to make your trip to New Mexico a wonderful one. I have all sorts of food restrictions and was fully expecting to eat cereal everyday instead of the wonderful B & B breakfasts, but Melody always managed to modify whatever dish she was serving so I could partake as well. I consider that to be way above and beyond the call of duty!

The setting is wonderful, the Inn is quiet and the location could not be better for exploring ABQ, Santa Fe and all the surrounding areas (Jemez was my favorite!!). You feel like you are in the country but highway access is very close by so you can get anywhere fast.

LOVED IT!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful owners and location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, TA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

I chose this B&B based on its closeness to my reunion site and really lucked out. I've stayed in a good many B&Bs and have found that many don't quite live up to their billing. This one does. Our room and the whole inn was just as described. It's also a bargain. Go out of your way for this one.

  • Liked — Lovely decor. Beautiful without being feminine.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

The host and hostess of the property were excellent. They were very accommodating to the needs for the individual traveler. The atmosphere was relaxed and made you feel very welcome and at home. There are so many excellent things that they are all hard to list. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, all of the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated with local accessories and antiques. It was a very nice retreat, a beautiful place to relax and a great place to have a wedding. I had one of the best omelettes that I have ever had, it was such a nice touch to have homemade jellies and jams. I look forward to visiting soon.

  • Liked — The were cozy and beautifully decorated.
  • Disliked — The mattress was a little firm.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

Our stay at La Hacienda Grande could hardly have been better. Our host and hostess have done a wonderful job of making this comfortable, inviting and thoroughly enjoyable. The hacienda itself is rustic, authentic and charming, but no comforts were missing. It was a wonderful value for the very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Hacienda Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hacienda Grande

Address: 21 Baros Lane, Bernalillo, NM 87004
Location: United States > New Mexico > Bernalillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bernalillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Hacienda Grande Hotel Bernalillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hacienda Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.