We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety, service with a smile, great quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Star Cafe

Flying Star Cafe
200 S. Camino Del Pueblo, Bernalillo, NM 87004
505-404-2100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Bernalillo
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Vegetarian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At the crossroads of four communities (Bernalillo, Placitas, Northern Rio Rancho, and Algodones), the eighth Flying Star is a 7,500 sq ft restaurant with panoramic mountain views, a dining area fanned with street-opening windows, and a beautiful patio with fireplace. On-site baking of Flying Star’s signature homemade breads, handcrafted pastries, and artisanal cakes and pies, returns Flying Star to its original Nob Hill roots as a neighborhood bakery. Hours:Sun-Thurs 7:00am-9:00pmFri & Sat 7:00am-10:00pm
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great variety, service with a smile, great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are so many Flying Stars in ABQ. We went to the one in Corrales and it was great. A beautiful restaurant, outdoor dining options, and great food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    10
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything they make here is super yummy! The desserts are out of this world. The blue corn stacked enchiladas are smothered in green chile and a remind me of what I miss about living in ABQ!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoy heading over to the Flying Star for a quick meal that's fresher and more interesting than the fast food choices in the area. We like the atmosphere and the menu selection (and of course the free Wi-Fi). The desserts are wonderful and the breakfast menu is much better than most casual/fast food places around here. In Bernalillo, restaurant choices are limited, unless you want Mexican food. So Flying Star is one of our "go-to" places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A true treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Flying Star is a bit pricey for a casual dining experience but once you order, get your food and begin eating you will know why. They do not cut corners on anything there, from drinks and desserts to salads to chicken fried steak. All their desserts are fresh baked with all real and rich ingredients. My guilty pleasure is the eclair! I have eaten at all Flying Star locations a number of times each. The atmosphere at the Bernalillo location is modern with a big, cozy fireplace right in the middle. The outside patios are dog-friendly too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Just a horrid foodie experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wow, I thought as I was driving through Bernalillo today, a Flying Star. Lunch was just around the corner and I just knew a Buddha Bowl with Tofu would be the ticket. It has been a couple of years since I have been to Flying Star since I moved to the boonies so this was going to be a self treat! Disappointment comes to mind. The one person behind the counter was more interested in talking to her friend on the phone (mind you this was during lunch rush) than taking an order from the eleven people standing in line. Flying star was once the place to go for fast counter service. Well this pre-adult nincompoop finally decided to earn her keep and took some food orders.
At $20 for a bowl of rice with some week old noodles, and rancid tofu, I would have done better to go to the Catholic church across the street and stand in the soup line. I am so not recommending Flying Star to anyone stopping in or going through Bernalillo.
Yet, they were very consistent: Bad service, Horrible food and lack of client interest. Dont bother going to Flying Star, go to Denny's across the street

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Star Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Flying Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Star Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.