We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in an amazing country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma by COMO, Punakha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punakha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uma by COMO, Punakha
Save
You added Uma by COMO, Punakha to your Saves list
Botokha, Punakha, Bhutan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in an amazing country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Uma Hotel in Punaka is a delightful surprise in every respect - the location is unique and outstanding, the architecture is modern and local at the same time, the rooms are spacious and open up to the fantastic landscape in full privacy, and the staff are all very friendly, helpful and natural in their ways. Usually one would expect this level of service, luxury and sophistication in a more affluent setting; so considering that the hotel is in Bhutan, a low-middle income country with all sorts of socio-economic struggles, this place deserves all praise and is well worth the hefty surcharge to the usual daily tourist rates. A great introduction to UMA's hotel brand!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear HBDutytravel,
Greetings from Bhutan, Land of thunder dragon.
Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meets your service expectations.
I am also pleased that you are recommending to other guest that Uma is great brand, great service , luxury and sophistication
Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence. Thank you again for your patronage Uma Punakha.
Best regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk res
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is quite possibly one of the world's best hotels......not a "grand hotel" in the traditional sense but a marvellous place to spend a few days.
Up a quiet valley with snow covered mountains in the distance...interesting history nearby, and lovely walks around (go over the little suspension bridge).
The rooms are just everything you would wish for. The staff are delightful...and speak excellent English.
The food is good....wholesome..not fancy..
You will wish like us,that you had chosen to spend a few more days!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear kattyukres,
Greeting from Punakha Valley
Many thanks indeed for your comments following your recent stay with us in Uma Punakha. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your recommendation. I am particularly pleased to hear your comments that you rated, Uma by COMO, Punakha “ONE OF THE WORLD’S BEST HOTEL and as well as the food and friendly staff

Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit. Do stay in contact if I can be of any help

Warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Uma Punakha Hotel, with only eleven well appointed rooms, occupies a truly spectacular site overlooking the Punakha valley. Large windows and private balconies provide breathtaking views of the valley with its twin rivers and the surrounding mountains, including snow covered peaks of the great Himalaya range. Dining is available in the attractive dining room or on the outdoor patio area, which offer scenery so overwhelmingly beautiful, that it creates almost a distraction from the fine food that is served. The extensive, english-speaking staff is very efficient and extremely friendly. In addition to its great natural beauty the area offers many attractions, including the magnificent Punakha Dzong. We spent a delightful three nights at Uma Punakha and enjoyed every minute of the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear HP-MM
Greetings form Punakha Valley, Bhutan
It's such a pleasure to read your kind and generous review of Uma Punakha. We hope your time in Bhutan, and then your long journey home was easy and complication free.

We appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience at Uma by COMO, Punakha and for acknowledging that view from your room was breathtaking, friendly staff and fine cuisine and enjoyed every minute of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit. Do stay in contact if I can be of any help.

With warmest regards and Tashi Delek,
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful Boutique hotel set in the most gorgeous valley with sensational views. The rooms have spectacular views and the whole experience is like staying in a huge chalet with an emphasis on privacy. Very personal service and outstanding cuisine. Totally worth the drive with some interesting sites in the area. Perfect for a few night's stay for total pampering (especially at the spa).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear KiwiCanadians
Firstly, I would like to thank you for the kind correspondence you penned upon your departure to all of us at Uma by COMO, Punakha. Thank you also for joining Trip Advisor and for making Uma in your review.

I'm very happy to know that the time you spent with us was so memorable and you have enjoy every services in Uma Punakha even you mention that like staying in huge Chalet and this experience will guarantee your return. The entire Uma team joins me in saying that we cannot wait to welcome you back.

With warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

the road from paro to Punakha is quite challenging but it makes the arrival in Punakha even more magic. the villas there are great and the views are stunning. Management is very friendly and helpful. the common areas are well designed and beautiful as well.
excursions in the area are worth it. stay at least 4 nights!

Room Tip: great spa and setting as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear virginie m ,
Greetings from Bhutan, Land of thunder dragon.
Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and each and every one of our team members meets your service expectations.
I am also pleased that you are recommending other guest to stay 4 nights as well in Uma by COMO , Punakha.
Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence. Thank you again for your patronage Uma Punakha.
Best regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What an experience... Amazing rooms with a great balcony.. Great view..Great nature...Great service..Great breakfast..Organic breakfast..every morning delicious breakfast...Bhutan can not be missed without Uma Punakha.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear zeldush b,
Greeting from Punakha Valley
Many thanks indeed for your comments following your recent stay with us in Uma by COMO, Punakha. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your recommendation. I am particularly pleased to hear your comments that you had great experience with our organic breakfast and service

Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit. Do stay in contact if I can be of any help

Warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Fab boutique hotel. Nice spa where we had hot stone bath and massage together. Rooms are modern, less than a year old i think, good free wifi, good tv, nice bathroom and great service.
Dinner, after drinks soaking in the view by the lit chimnee, was great. Western or Bhutanese. We chose western and had the best lamb shank ever. The chef us from Bali and is super. Brekkie also great and super service.
Food and drink are not overpriced.
A very nice GM from Malaysia made us feel very welcome.

This is a top class hotel, no wonder it was full.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, Manager at Uma by COMO, Punakha, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Herts Fred
Firstly, I would like to thank you for the kind correspondence you penned upon your departure to all of us at Uma by COMO, Punakha. Thank you also for joining Trip Advisor and for making Uma in your review.

I'm very happy to know that the time you spent with us was so memorable and you have enjoy every services in Uma Punakha especially restaurant service, Lamb shank one of our best dish and this will guarantee your return. The entire Uma team joins me in saying that we cannot wait to welcome you back.

With warmest regards and Tashi Delek.
Thamu Krishnan
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uma by COMO, Punakha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma by COMO, Punakha

Address: Botokha, Punakha, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Punakha District > Punakha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punakha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Punakha is our second hotel in Bhutan after Uma by COMO, Paro. Positioned on a river bend in the Punakha Valley - one of Bhutan's key destinations - Uma Punakha delivers soul-stirring views from its eight light-filled rooms. Two villas - an intimate one-bedroom COMO Villa and a family-friendly two-bedroom COMO Villa - provide more luxury in the wilderness, alongside our restaurant and COMO Shambhala spa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma by COMO, Punakha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.