We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Renovated, Quiet and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Druk Phuentsholing

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phuntsholing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Druk Phuentsholing
Save
You added Hotel Druk Phuentsholing to your Saves list
Zhunglam | Post Box No. 148, Phuntsholing, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Phuntsholing
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Completely Renovated, Quiet and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place felt like it was totally new. We were concerned at check-in that it might be noisy as our room faced the street. This turned out to not be an issue as the windows kept out the noise.

They told me that the normally provide WIFI but it was broken when I stayed there.

Net-Totally decent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
7
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is great to travel to Thimphu by road from India. And if you are doing this, it is a must to stay at this hotel. Though I traveled to Bhutan many times and mainly by air, I always loved my road trips to Thimphu or from Thimphu, though I used to avail these in emergencies only. While traveling to Thmphu, take a car from Bagdogra or New Jalpaiguri and reach Jaigram. At the border, it is Jaigram ion Indian side and Phuntsholing on Bhutan side. I always reached here at evening. The only decent hotel in this area is this hotel. You can stay in this hotel without immigrating into Bhutan. After staying the night, the next morning, I used to get my immigration formalities completed and then proceed to Thimphu

The hotel is good for a 3-start hotel. The rooms are good and decent sized and reasonably comfortable. However, for food, it is better to cross the border and avail what is available on the Indian side. There ia mple parking space and so if you travelling by own car, parking here is no issue

The staff are decent, though their behaviour is a bit like government employees. In any case, people of Bhutan are very polite and soft spoken people and in most times never get excited

If you start for Thimphu at around 10 AM, you can expect to reach Thimphu by around 5 PM in the evening

If you are coming from Thimphu, start at around 10AM to reach Phuntsholing by about 5 or 6 PM. Stay at Hotel Druk and start about 5 hours prior to your flights departure time from here to reach Bagdogra in time for the flight. However, before planning travel to Bagdogra, study the local situation as there are frequent strikes on the Indian side in this region

I stayed here on many occassion between 2005 to 2010

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Probably the best hotel in Phuntsholing. About 75 feet away from the Border entry to India.

Newly done up rooms are plush, with flat-screen TVs, climate control and classical touches. The bathrooms are small but adequate (requires about 5 minutes to work out the hot water controls).

Dinner was buffet style, serving Indian and Bhutanase food of good quality. Breakfast was better - freshly prepared to order.

Only let down was wifi which was weak in some parts of the room - this has probably been sorted by now.

All in all one can't go wrong with a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We spend a night at this hotel on our way to Thimpu. The location of the hotel right next to the entry point from Jaigoan , India is most suitable. The receptionist was helpful, and the room service very quick and effecient. Vegetarians can find enough choices in the menu. The rooms are large and comfortable and squeaky clean. Choose a room facing the road. The windows are sound proof and it gives you a glimpse of Bhutanese life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel is very closely located near the border. The rooms are well furnished & bathrooms very clean & sanitised. The restaurant serves good Indian food.

Room Tip: In case of a couple, the hotel has twin bedded rooms. Only King size rooms have double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is perhaps the only hotel you should stay in while in Phuentsholing... it has the right mix of attributes that one looks for in a hotel.

Good room, easy check-in, clear and transparent policy, affordable price and service with a smile. As a business traveller, I highly recommend this hotel to one and all. Situated right in the middle of town, next to the Indian border. All rooms are the same, so dont worry about which ones to choose. Although there is no buffet breakfast in the off-season, the restaurant operates well and you wont go hungry.

For sure, this is a good place to stay !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Recently renovated......and now very comfortable. Large rooms and bathrooms. Pity no internet in the rooms and can be noisy.....!!!
Food is good as they make an effort to add Indian delicacies.....!!! Very conveniently located and definitely worth the money
Stayed here several times and have never been disappointed .

Room Tip: Get your guide to get you the best room......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Druk Phuentsholing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Druk Phuentsholing

Address: Zhunglam | Post Box No. 148, Phuntsholing, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Chukha District > Phuntsholing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Phuntsholing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Druk Phuentsholing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.