We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wangchuk Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mongar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wangchuk Hotel
Save
You added Wangchuk Hotel to your Saves list
Mongar, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mongar B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arriving from Bhumtang after a beautiful drive via Trumsing La and then all the way down, I arrived for a one night stay in Mongar. The Wangchuk is a big hotel with a great view over town. Lots of people staying on their way east after the festivals in Jakar, but apparently that happens only a few times a year. Big lobby, big room, big bathroom. Complete, but a bit dark and outdated and still in need of a paint job. My room was under the roof, so I could look outside over the town. Being right above the big prayer wheel, I could hear it till late in the evening and then again early in the morning. The elderly people of the village coming to do their prayers. Colourfull and quite cosy. But gosh, the dogs. In three weeks this has been the one and only night that I really heard dogs and indeed, they are annoying when you want to sleep.
Electricity plug of the bedside lamp was a bit tricky and I was not very convinced of the hot water wiring in the bathroom. I'm not in favour of carpets on the floor in a hotel like this. But the bed was all right and the shower gave plenty of hot water. As there is no shower curtain, all the bathroom floor gets wet but as I always have my own slippers, so what. Dinner was reasanoble, breakfast nice with srambled eggs and cheese.
Best thing of the hotel was the location, perfect to get into the little pittoresque town of Mongar.
In the basement of the hotel is a spa where a nice Bhutanese girl gave me a very good and relaxing foot massage (Nu 1300). I can recommend her!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall it is a good hotel to stay for few days. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and well maintained. Enjoyed my pegs of Black Label at the hotel restaurant after making a long journey to reach there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel , a group of 7 persons on the way to Tashi Gang. The hotel lobby is nice as well as the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
The hotel manager is friendly and helpful .
the rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is enough and even eggs or omelette can be ordered.
of course the traditional Ema Datsi and all others datsis too !!!
They offer massage services, which are very good. The 2 girls are very professionals and careful and know their job very good. Swedish style massage :)
The rooms or location of the SPA needs a big renovation to make it more cosy and warm. NEW paiting , some relaxing music as well maybe more spacious the rooms wont be bad.
all in all a nice place to stay and relax after the long and heavy drives in the country roads.
WI FI is for free available in the lobby and business center área. Great.

Room Tip: rooms facing the town have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pleasant to arrive here after a long exhilarating drive from Bumthang to enjoy a drink on the balcony with the most fantastic view. We had 1 night here before moving further east. The room was nice and clean. Staff were very nice and the food was ok, a bit too Western for our liking. Close to the town centre and we walked the next morning around town and to the dzong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I arrived after a long day of driving, and relaxed with a cup of tea on the balcony overlooking the valley. Rooms are clean with hot water showers (a big plus in Eastern Bhutan!), and the restaurant served good food with a smile. The rooms could do with a paint job, but thats a minor point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at the Wangchuk Hotel for a work related trip with 6 other colleagues.

The hotel is the largest in Mongar. Although the reception area is a bit drab, the rooms offer a relaxing sanctuary after the rigors of a long drive in Eastern Bhutan. The deluxe rooms are large with wooden floors, whilst the bathroom, although basic, offers a good shower with excellent water pressure.

Breakfast was good, lunch decent. The bar offers cool beers with an outdoor seating area offer looking the fantastic views across Mongar and beyond.

Internet access was possible via a dialup connection using the computer in the business centre.

Staff are friendly and smiling as in most places across Bhutan!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a modern property, part of a small chain, and is conveniently located close to Mongar town centre, which has a good variety of shops and a small vegetable market.
The outside looks a bit run-down and the reception hall lacks character, but the rooms are attractively arranged around an open central courtyard and are well appointed, with large, comfortable beds, T.V. and spotless bathrooms with a plentiful supply of hot water. We stayed the first night in an 'attic' bedroom with wonderful views over the town, which our agent apologised for but I thought charming, and thereafter in a first floor room. Both were very clean, and housekeeping staff much in evidence. As elsewhere in Bhutan, there is no central heating, but an electric heater and extra quilt were supplied on request, and we were grateful for a good night's sleep and a piping hot shower after the rigours of Eastern Bhutan's roads and the hard beds we had slept in elsewhere.
The internet connection was not working during our visit, the dining room and attached bar are rather soulless, and the food, as elsewhere, unimaginative. But the smiling service in both bar and dining room by four lovely ladies more than compensated for any shortcomings. These ladies worked hard to satisfy the requests of the various small tour groups of different nationalities, and lined up to wave us off on departure. They are a real asset to the hotel company, and made a comfortable but rather dull stay a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wangchuk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangchuk Hotel

Address: Mongar, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Mongar District > Mongar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mongar
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wangchuk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.