We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and feel good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rinchenling Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bumthang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rinchenling Lodge
Save
You added Rinchenling Lodge to your Saves list
Tashi Gatshel | Jambey Lhakhang, Bumthang, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Allschwil, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay and feel good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent place, everything fits nicely together:
Friendly run, alert and efficient staff, good rooms, nicely cooked food. We can't single out one key highlight, just everything fitted nicely together to make it the best place we stayed during our 17 day trip.
We had 4 nights at the place and a 6 day trek around Bumthang with Tahsi Jambee (the owner). He is an excellent guide with in depths knowledge about people, culture and nature. If you manage to arrange a trek with him as your guide, you are luky. You may stay in Dhur village, visit some of his friends in Tang Value and plunge into local village life. (this seems however to be difficult as usually you are book with one of the travel agents).
We will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building, they are modern and come with electric heater and electric boile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were here for 4 nights during the Jambay Lhakhang Drup festival in Bumthang. Location great as you could walk for 10 minutes to the festival when you wanted to. The staff were lovely especially the Dasho (Lord) who was so interesting and informative. The food was great with dishes that were authentic Bhutanese. On request by our guide Jigme, we were also able to have chilli and cheese at every meal. The room was fine and we had a wonderful wood stove that kept us warm. Hot water always at hand. As the town started to get overcrowded with tourists for the festival, and the power went off...having the wood stove was a great asset. The complex has a fantastic hot stone bath that is set up on request.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Switserland meets Bhutan in Bhumtang. We loved our two nights in this place. The food is great (after a few days you get tired of the red rice with chilli-cheese...), staff very friendly and our room even had a cosy fireplace. There is a lovely garden full of apple trees. Free wifi, good collection of books on Bhutan (and some for exchange). This was the best hotel during our 10 day Bhutan trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in Rinchenling Lodge in Bumthang for 3 days to witness the Jambhay Lhakhang festival.

I would say the lodge was pretty interesting. The whole place was covered with wood so my first impression of the lodge looks like a sauna room!

Nothing much to complain about this place as it is really a simple lodge. The staff there are really nice, and seems like this place is managed by a family. The son is managing the lodge in general and pretty often you can see the parents helping out. Really nice folks who try to initiate chats with the hotel guests.

There are some improvements for the lodge though, but I think some might not see this as big issues.

There seems to be electricity disruption everyday during my stay, it happened usually around 530 - 7pm. It's not a full disruption but it happens a couple of times within the time.

Wifi is not very stable in the lodge, I did highlight to the staff though there are 2 networks available, they cannot be connected. The staff told me there are too many people using the wifi hence the network was not able to support. True enough, when I am in the lodge when I'm back from sightseeing early, I was able to surf without any issues.

Lights in the room are pretty dim. Since there is no tv in the room, some people might choose to read, but I found it quite difficult to read under the dim light. Was having a hard time and I gave up after 5 minutes.

I must say the food that the lodge serve are pretty good as well. I remember the variety of the food they serve, the dishes are different everyday and I get to try someone interesting for breakfast every morning.

Also this is the best place to stay if you are going for the Jambhay Lhakhang festival, it is the nearest accommodation you can get by walking to Jambhay Lhakhang to enjoy the festival at it's maximum, and the most happening activities tend to happen at night so its easy access. Not to mention this place have their own hot stone bath as well.

Do try if you get to stay in the Rinchenling Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

At first we were very disappointed about this lodge, after having stayed in wonderful hotels in Bhutan. But once we were there, its charm overwhelmed us. And finally we stayed there for 4 nights. The rooms are small, compared to other hotels where we stayed with always huge rooms. The rooms here are set around an apple courtyard. A stove in the room is lit, whenever you want and makes the room very cosy. The staff is very friendly. The hotel owner is an utmost interesting person. He can tell you a lot about Bhutan and it is not the conversation you have with the guides. We really enjoyed very much all the conversation we had with hime.
The food was really ok. When you ask to prepare something you have read in a travel guide, they do it. What a friendly place. You really feel at home.
A new building is going to be used from October onwards. We only saw it from the outside and look very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed three nights in cozy little rooms separated from the dining area where we ate around a large table mostly. I'm not a rustic person and had no experience with a wood stove that was hard to open. I still have a souvenir scar from burning my hand, but no worries. The staff brought plenty of wood around along with kindling. Good thing because we needed it. I wore my clothes to bed to keep warm. Plenty of hot water, thankfully. They offered laundry service and we all laughed and laughed when we recognized whose clothes were flapping in the breeze. From talking to friends who traveled with other companies it seems they stayed in less rustic places. Honestly I sort of loved the place. No wifi which we all were craving. Silly of us, but my phone worked. Stayed October, 2009.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
207 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Rinchenling is a small, rustic lodge some distance outside of Jakar, on the west side of the river. My wife and I stayed here for a total of four nights – two on our way to eastern Bhutan, and two more on our way back.

Rooms are arranged around a small courtyard planted with apple trees. Both of the rooms we were assigned were large, pine-paneled with built-in desk and window seat, and firm queen beds. Each had a small wood stove for heat, and electric baseboard panels as an alternative. There was a fair amount of storage in a built-in open closet for folded items, but pretty sparse for hanging clothes. The tiled bathroom was large with a shower only, and probably best described as functional rather than attractive.

Meals were served in the cozy dining room/lounge area, and were pretty good for Bhutan. An interesting variation was the weekly serving of buckwheat pancakes.

Wi-fi was available but hit or miss.

All in all I’d say the Rincheling served us well, but there are probably better options in this area if you are after something closer to town and with more upscale amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rinchenling Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rinchenling Lodge

Address: Tashi Gatshel | Jambey Lhakhang, Bumthang, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Bumthang District > Bumthang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bumthang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rinchenling Lodge is a unique family owned hotel in a safe environment rendering special care to our guest. It is located at the edge of pristine blue pine forest near the oldest temple(Jampa lhakhang)built in 746 AD by Tibetan King Songtsen Gyempo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rinchenling Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.