We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet, remote” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bo Resort to your Saves list
Bo Resort
Ong Lang Bay, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet, remote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've spent two weeks at bo resort from the end of May till the beginning of June and we've had an amazing vacation.

The resort is located in a pretty remote, beautiful area on the western coast of phu quoc and is divided into a garden and a beach area. After having stayed in two bungalows for one week each, we would recommend taking a bungalow at the beach front to everyone who thinks about staying there because of its beautiful view at the ocean and the extra privacy due to its separated location.

The rooms were clean and do not have any AC, but a fan which helps keeping them at a normal temperature at night. They were cleaned every day (including fresh towels and sheets) and the service ladys were very neat and discrete.
The only thing which one should be aware of is, that you'll find all kinds of insects in your rooms if you stay up late and leave your lights on, but that's a problem, that you'll have in all the resorts on the island due to the archicterue of the bungalows. We always ensured to read in the reception area or at the beach (which are both illuminated at night) so we could avoid this particular problem.

The resort beach is really long and much nicer than the ones you find at all the other resorts we've seen on the island. Due to its size you rarely interfere with other guests and can read or take a nap in peace whenever you like

Bo resort has a good restaurant with reasonable prices in comparison to other resorts (we took some trips because we'd read about the other ones and wanted to see whether we had missed out on anything) but it's still much cheaper to eat out - you'll also find an awesome vietnamese restaurant (sakura) within walking distance if you want to have some variety.

The service is good most of the time and most of the staff speaks english more or less fluently. When we checked out, we had some trouble with the hotel's manager, because he wasn't really interested in giving us insight into the numbers on his hand written bill (2% extra fee for not paying with credit card) but the owners of the resort are really friendly and helpful and so the check-out hassle didn't spoil our over all service impression. We were given a discount, because the bungalow we initally had rented wasn't available at check in and whenever we had any questions the owners helped us out and answered all of them. (e.g. with booking hiking or canoeing trips through the rainforest, restaurant recommendations and they even taught us how to ride a scooter).

Bo resort is located pretty remotely on the island's western coast and it takes you about 15-20min to reach the "city centre" by cab. So on the one hand you'll find beautiful nature, a lovely beach and an absolutely peacful atmosphere without any disturbance by traffic, tourists or any other kinds of distracitons but on the other hand it'll cost you about 8€ each way to go out at night to other restaurants and bars. This applies ony, if you're not able to ride a scooter. If you are, you can rent one for a day for less than the cost of one cab ride, explore the island and move freely back and forth from the resort. You can rent them directly from the hotel's reception and the friendly owners of the hotel will provide you with directions and recommendations for day trips and particularly beautiful places you shouldn't miss out on.

After all we really enjoyed our trip and would always do it again (even for two full weeks) and would fully recommend bo resort to anyone who's looking for a relaxing vacation without a full party shedule or a specific need for a luxurious accomodation.

Room Tip: Definitely the beach front bungalow - absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Well, I have to report a problem with this review:
I cannot add anything for fear of spoiling it :)
Danke Schön !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    40
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

One of the best things about Bo Resort is that you get what they promise in advance - and then a lot more on top. The three of us stayed in two cabins at Bo the last week in May 13, and we enjoyed every minute. We were picked up in the brand new airport, and welcomed by the owners Marie and Regis, with whom you feel in good company.
Bo is situated by the sea in the Northern part of Phu Quoc, which is more tranquille than the more touristic area around the main town, Duong Dong.
The cabins are situated in a garden that is second to none, an abundance of flowers and trees, very well maintained. We were surprised by the low number of mosquitos - might be something seasonal. One night I even slept on the porch without net.
There are around 20 huts. All are basic, no airconditon but fans, hot water by solar cells, but you really don't need it. No room service, no TV, no fridge, spacy, airy and those on the beach with a view. They are properly cleaned every day.
At Bo you can't do much other than relax, walk along the beach, read, swim and eat. They have a very talented cook, that are able to offer a large menu only based on fresh products bought at the market every morning. The food is a tale of it's own. Try the Vietnamese pancake or the stuffed calamar.
Bo's own beach is kept clean every day, but when you walk north, it is a mess of garbage washed in from the sea.
They can arrange diving and snorkeling tours, which are nice and safe, but don't go to Vietnam for the diving. You'll find much better in e.g. Thailand or Indonesia. Ask Regis for a canoo trip up the river into the nearby jungle. Apparently nobody else does it, and it was a great experience. Came to think of "The Heart of Darkness".
The price level is very reasonable. We even had the nice experience of being charged less than agreed in our booking, because in the meantime Bo had launched a special offer.
The way things work at Bo makes you feel more among friends than as a customer.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the waves, take one of the seaside cabins. If you prefer complete silence c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you, Sally. That's all I can add...
It is always a pleasure to welcome and get to know people like you here at BO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Can't ask for much more if you're looking for an escape.... beautiful sunsets, a little bar, simple bungalows, great food. Don't expect swimming pools, fancy rooms, wide screen TVs - this place is an Escape from all that. And what really makes the place rock is the incredible owner - Regis. This guy loves his music, a sunset drink, and is a wealth of information about the island, and life in general. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
For once, I will be short:
Thank you! You make me blush, which is pretty hard to achieve...
DJ Regis, fan from the sixties :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

All right, I am a French guy traveling in Vietnam. I came at Bo Resort in April and it was simply the paradise on earth, the beach it’s idyllic, far away from all the tourists, perfect for relaxing and forget the rest of the world.

I really appreciated the seafood and fishes! Especially the grilled tuna with its chili sauce. Yummy. Nonetheless, like it’s said in the previous reviews, the prices are a little expensive for the food for Vietnam. Anyway you have a plenty of choice of Vietnamese and Western dishes tasty and so good (the pizzas are really good).

I slept in a cozy garden bungalow; everything is well made and arranged, it’s simply but lovely. You just need to wait around 5 minutes for get hot water but who really need hot water when the temperature outside is around 35 degree?

You can easily rent a motorbike for a half or full day and go all around the island. I really recommend going to the north of the island, it took me between 5/6 hours to do the circuit (including all the breaks). The landscape is amazing, you are driving on the edge of the beach and then into the forest and mountain. Just be aware of the road and the other drivers. Don’t drive too fast, take your time and enjoy this beautiful moment of your life!

The service at Bo Resort is pretty good, not all the staff speaks well English but they are all very helpful and friendly. When you ask for something at the reception they answer you the best as they can and they take time to listen your request. Similarly with the waiters, who are
very reactive and autonomous.

Marie and Regis, the owners of this place are also French and very nice persons. Even if this place was build 10 years ago, they still welcome warmly the guests and discuses with them and give you precious advice about the island and things to do and see on the mainland.

What else? Oh yes! I want to come back there! I really recommend this place for people that are looking for authenticity, calm, beautiful beaches, amazing landscape, nature and of course sun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Nicolas,
Thank you very much! I like those reviews: easy to answer :)

I remember you. Your comments are interesting also because you are from Vietnamese origin, coming back on vacation to your native country. So you can appreciate both the Western and the Vietnamese culture.

It’s funny that you mentioned our pizzas! If people want to have a good pretext to have one, here in Vietnam and on the seashore, they can choose the “Tuna Pizza”, or the “Seafood Pizza”. That’s what I do :)It will be harder to explain why you would choose the “Salami Pizza”! But the kids love it and they don’t need any pretext…
Seafood pasta is also yummy, because of the fresh seafood with “al dente” spaghetti.
Little joke here: “I’m on a seafood diet: when I see food, I eat!”

Well, thank you again.
Regis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After much trepidation following some recent reviews we stayed at Bo for 4 days and really enjoyed it ! There's a couple of drawbacks, but overall I'd not hesitate to reccomend to anyone that is looking for good clean accommodation, well away from the crowds besides a beautiful sea!

Plus points - as above, good clean accommodation, well away from the crowds and besides a beautiful sea, and additionally excellent and tasty lunch and dinner (with good size portions), Regis - the very helpful and pleasant owner, always happy to assist or to generally chat. and best of all, the amazing staff who may be a bit young and inexperienced, but who try their absolute best to do whatever they can to help you whenever they can !

Negatives - not really a negative, but you should be aware that rooms are not hermetically sealed (and not advertised as such) so you may get some bugs and lizards in the room - not a problem to us at all, but if you are a "Im really scared of spiders and insects" type person then Bo is not for you (but in fact why would you be going to tropical environment anyway?!). and the other negative would be breakfast which is (IMO) overly restictive with just 4 choices and no "mix and match" opportunity or second helpings.

Overall, a wonderful place to sit back and relax, but dont expect 5 star amenities! (or a second helping of Breakfast!)

and Regis - my wife was correct about the bus trip to Cambodia - it's 4 different buses between Ha Tien ferry port and Phnom Penh! - all went smoothly though and thanks for your help arranging this !

David

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach have more breeze so are cooler in the hot months
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello Dave,
Thank you for your constructive comments.
You responded yourself to the less positive ones, so I have nothing much to add, except that we don’t have that many spiders here and they are not dangerous. You are right, it is a tropical country and, as such, in Vietnam we have a kind of lizard called Gecko but it is too busy eating the flies and mosquitoes (apparently very tasty food :) to really pay attention to us. About the breakfast, we are now adding an item to every type of breakfast, so our guests will feel more satisfied.
Yes, it is true, we don’t have the typical 5 stars amenities, but at BO you have space (at least 10 meters between the bungalows), only 18 units on 2.5 hectares and this amazing 4-km deserted bay. How many stars is this worth?
Regarding your “quirky” comment, English is not my mother language, so I had to google it: “Quirky: having or characterized by peculiar or unexpected traits or aspects”. I would say BO is maybe unexpectedly close to Nature. People who don’t appreciate Nature, or are not romantic at all, should not come to BO Resort (as it is all explained on our website).This is not your case, Dave, as you and your family have liked our place.Your lovely daughters said they like my responses, so I say hello :)

Thank you very much again.
Regis
PS: I am pleased to read that your trip to Cambodia went well, even if it was longer than planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Surprisingly...The paradise for the beach and nature lover is available on earth at Phu Quoc - The largest island in Vietnam, It set along with the charming landscape and structure, I was stay beach front bangalow where is face to the beach with the hill at the behind, This is a place for every people who want "Truely relaxing" and who want to be away from everything, The restaurant and beach bar are simply set up but look good, attractive and colorful with handmade lanterns and sweetly pink table top..that's much more than enough to have your greatest dining experiences and do not miss to try "Calamary stuffed with minced pork in coconut milk" and "Stir fried cubed beef with onion and black pepper" (Bo Luc Lac) with a bottle of "Two Ocean"...more than expected

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Well, thank you very much for your comments. It also very nice for us to have courteous guests like you who are really pleased and take the time to say it… Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have so many mixed feelings regarding Bo Resort. We were trepidacious after reading the consistently up and down reviews, and can understand what previous reviewers have mentioned. There are positive aspects but unfortunately the negatives left us feeling lacklustre about this place.

Positives include a beautiful location with a bar set right on the beach, great sunsets, and a lush-tropical setting. The Vietnamese food was delicious (particularly ban xiao pancake), however the Western style breakfast feels a little underwhelming e.g. giant bread baguette with no butter?! We agree with other reviewers that food and drinks here seemed a bit pricey comparatively.

The bungalows are quaint, romantic and peaceful, but basic and dark (this means during the day, but also at night because a main light was broken in the bedroom). Open air rooms meant plenty of super-sized spiders, as well as a bat and frogs. The bed sheets were stained. Unfortunately there were also holes in the mosquito net which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep until we fixed this with a sewing kit acquired from a nicer hotel earlier on in our Vietnam trip #CinnamonHotelHCMC. It would also be far more convenient (and on par with the rest of Vietnam's hotel standards) to include daily drinking water.

Location: This isn't entirely a criticism, but it would be best to know beforehand that this is quite a remote spot and you're actually unable to 'easily' get anywhere else. This makes it idyllic in terms of being secluded, but limited (and sometimes frustrating) in regards to access to alternative sources of food or entertainment. Riding a scooter, for example, would be hard for first-timers as the driveway is still un-pathed and rocky. The beach outside of Bo Resort is also extremely polluted - as soon as you leave the confines of the resort you hit rubbish immediately. This isn't a complaint about the resort itself, but it is a bit depressing and a word of warning to the people who envision crystal clear water and white sandy beaches.

Service: this area was our largest gripe with Bo Resort, and it mainly stems from the French manager. After getting off to a rocky start where there was some confusion over our booking, we never felt entirely comfortable - certainly not comfortable enough to complain about things which could have been readily fixed by a more approachable manager. We'd originally requested a Beachfront Bungalow, but upon arrival found out we'd been put in a garden bungalow. When we queried this we were kept waiting for half an hour (after having travelled for 12 hours) and the manager was very defensive and rude. Instead of offering any compensation he demanded to know why we hadn't checked the bungalow out - um, because it wasn't ours?! Unfortunately the incident set the general tone for his behaviour the entirety of our stay.

Overall, as long as you can stand the bugs, and as long as your expectations aren't too high, this is still fairly good value for money for such a beautiful setting. It wouldn't take much to improve Bo Resort, and if the managers could read these reviews more constructively perhaps there will be some improvement...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Hilly,
I looked at your profile as a reviewer and I saw that you are a reasonable and fair person. When a senior reviewer and experienced traveler like you says something, we have to listen…

First of all, I would say that you came in January 2013 and you wrote this review in April, that’s 3 months after. Most of your points have been addressed since then. We had to renew our housekeeping team, which, apparently, was not doing such a good job. The new team is much more professional. Also our Manager at the time was doing usually a good job, but what we need is consistency. It has been “thanked” and I hope now he can read this review in an attempt to find areas for improvements… Because, if I analyze your review, I can see that you could have started by the beginning and talk about the fact that you have been ‘welcome’ the wrong way. Then, you took your notepad (or iPad :) and you started counting and making a note of all those details you mention in your review. You believe me, Hilly, if I say we have enough here to offer to let you forget about your notepad, or your “sewing kit”?

Aside from those valid points about keeping the place in good shape, some of your remarks need to be answered. If you had so many bugs in your room, I am sorry. Fortunately it is not usually the case and, if it happens, the frog is reserved for our French guests! Now you say that the place is kind of remote, but that is precisely what we advertise on our website and what people are looking for here. When you arrive from the new airport, you can see clearly that the central portion of the island is going towards the “Costa Brava” directions, not Saint Tropez or Hawaii. So, let me tell you that we are pleased to be away from that type of “development” and we will not change that, neither can we. From BO, you can do the same things as from the hotels closer to town and go explore the island on motorbike, car or boat. We are in the North-West part of the island, which owns the most interesting natural and untouched sites. The only difficult thing to do is going to town every evening for dinner. If people want or need to do that, two choices: 15-minute ride, or stay in town. People who have “sidewalk” food every day will have a chance to complain about their stomach after a while. What about hygiene? Every month we have a check by the authorities, but I am not sure they do it on the sidewalk. Do we eat on the sidewalk in our countries?

Last month we hired a new Manager. He decided with us, in his priorities, to fix those details that are coming back in our latest reviews, those “Nice-beautiful-place-but…” comments, and to fix them consistently, in the most professional way. I am not talking about this “Worst-resort-ever…” comment made by someone who wanted a refund but left early in the morning without paying his bill, that is trash…
I realize that, because of those comments, BO has recently become kind of a controversial place, which is something I don’t like. When I go around our tables to chat with our guests and they are like “stoned” by what they experience here and raving about this place and I go the next morning on TripAdvisor and I see those above-mentioned reviews, I am feeling surprised and sometimes discouraged, but then I get back on my feet and I want to do something more about keeping this place as The Paradise it deserves to remain.
Unfortunately, my experience is that out of 100 people, even if 95 are happy (or more :) about a place, or service, only a small portion will write, but out of the remaining 5, 3 are going to write. So we have 3 happy campers writing very good reviews, and 3 to complain. That’s the way it is
My goal here is to thank the 95% who write (or not), and to listen to what the 5% have to say, but I have to analyze: some people are just “complainers”, everywhere they go. Reviews like yours, Hilly, help putting things in perspective and improve. So, I will leave you the last words:
“It wouldn't take much to improve Bo Resort, and if the managers could read these reviews more constructively perhaps there will be some improvement...”
Yes, we can! Or even, in hospitality words: “Yes, weekend”… 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Resort

Address: Ong Lang Bay, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.