We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bo Resort to your Saves list
Bo Resort
Ong Lang Bay, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Hue, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Secluded and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed at Bo for three nights in March and very much enjoyed my time there. It's in a secluded spot very close to Freedomland and Mango Bay in the north west of the island.

Bungalows are set on a jungle like hill, with everything else on the beach. The beach directly in front of the bar etc is a bit rocky, but if you walk to the left you can swim without worrying about rocks. Sure the beach outside the resort area has a bit of rubbish, but what beach in Asia doesn't.

The resort may not be great for people with mobility issues. There are steps and paths made from rocks everywhere. Also rooms do not have air con, they have a fan, but the electricity is switched off during the afternoon. Could be an issue for some people.

The food was great. I enjoyed everything that I ate there, some of it was a bit pricey, but not extortionate. The area is more for relaxing than drinking and partying. You will need to get a cab, around 200,000 ($10) each way, if you want to party on Long Beach.

Hire a motorbike from the staff at Bo and spend a couple of days riding around. Make sure you visit Bai Sao beach, it's beautiful!

I would definitely stay at Bo Resort again if I come back to Phu Quoc.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill, the less breeze. Ask for a bungalow closer to the beach, though you will pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    40
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at Bo Resort for 4 nights at the end of a two week trip to Southern Vietnam, and it couldn't have been more perfect. Bo Resort is the vision of Marie and Regis, and they have it exactly right. Simple, rustic huts are set in beautifully tended jungle and gardens, spaced out so guests have space and privacy, lucky guests have a resident gecko in their hut to keep night time bugs at bay. The food here is quite excellent - we found none so good during our whole trip.
Overall, we felt we were staying in high quality, environmentally caring accommodation that valued the natural environment and Vietnamese culture, while encouraging total relaxation.
We found the whole resort to be spotlessly clean (including the beach and the gardens) and well cared for. The whole staff are hardworking, welcoming, generous and professional throughout our stay. Bo Resort is one of those rare places that you hope you will one day return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

we enjoyed a beautifully designed and spacious bungalow in the midst of a lucious garden, the 4km long private bo resort beach was only a few steps away for jogging and snorkeling, divers and snorklers got picked up there for group trips farther out; team, service and food were very good (can walk to sakura restaurant nearby for great and cheaper dishes also). owners and some in the team speak superb english (and french), can rent motorbikes at very good rates. book early and stay long!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Bo Resort in January 2010 and had a lovely stay. At first, I was surprised the cabin is open air and worried about the mosquitoes. But every afternoon, the staff undo the mosquito net on your bed and light coils-very nice touch! It's amazing to listen to the night sounds of the jungle and then wake up, walk a few steps and be on a beautiful white sand beach.

This is really a destination resort because it's so isolated. What more do you need besides a bungalow, good food, lounge chair, gorgeous beach and on-site masseuse? The staff and owners and really friendly and helpful.

Cam on Marie and Regis for a wonderful stay at Phu Quoc!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Beautiful white sandy beach and a charming and friendly host and hostess, Regis and Marie. The food was quite delicious, prices similar to Ha Noi. There's a wide range of choice including chicken, beef and pork with a small vegetarian selection.
Some people have complained about bugs in the bungalows, this is because they are integrated into the jungle setting; there is no point coming to this delightful spot if you are nervous about spiders and insects. You'll be missing a real treat, though.
The place is beautifully quiet and extraordinarily well-run - I ordered Shrimp in Tamarind Sauce on the first evening of our stay and was told that the tamarind sauce was not available. On the following night, the waiter immediately told me that tamarinds had been bought in and the dish could be made for me straight away if I still wanted to try it. I did, of course, and it was delicious. I can't think of many hotels which would pay such careful attention to detail in order to enhance their guests' enjoyment.
The staff were prompt and attentive and the bungalow was kept beautifully clean. Snorkelling equipment is lent free of charge and we were given two (large) extra towels for swimming on request.
A really beautiful place to get away from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Some bungalows have a beach view, but are slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable bungalows. The beach is just splendid. The food was very very good and the staff kind and helpful.
The resort is quite isolated and very quiet so it was a great place to relax
and forget the rest of the world. Don't go there if your idea of holiday is CNN, jet sky and banana boat.
Maybe just a tiny bit expensive?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Owner at Bo Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. In a few words, you got it exactly right: "Forget the rest of the world". Nowadays this can be pretty refreshing...
You can still stay connected by wifi though, if you wish... Some people just need to check their emails every day, or prepare the rest of their trip. They don't need to go to town.

About the prices: yes it is true that we had to raise them a little bit this year. Inflation rate in Vietnam is over 15% and also Phu Quoc is exporting a lot of seafood all over Vietnam and sometimes here, paradoxically, demand is higher than offer on our own market...

Thanks again for your nice somments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for five nights at Bo resort. The location is just amazing right on a beautiful beach, clean sand crystal clear waters. Good and varied snorkelling right off the beach . Bungalows are comfortable, clean and spacious. Could do with softer mattresses.
However, it is the food that makes the place worth it. Without a doubt the best we had in Vietnam. I highly recojo end this place!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegisREMY, Manager at Bo Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Well, thank you for your comments!
It is good to see that some people take the time to express their satisfaction. Most of the time, people only write when do not like. I do not want to answer only to those people and want to take some time also to answer to guests who have appreciated our place. After all, this is why we like to do this activity.
btw, following your advise, we are in the process of checking all the mattresses.
Thank you for being among all the people who appreciate BO and... to say it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Resort

Address: Ong Lang Bay, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.