We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Club
Save
You added Beach Club to your Saves list
Ap Cua Lap | Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic 7 night stay at the Beach Club and can honestly say that it was the highlight of our 4 week Vietnam Holiday. The Resort is the last "cottage resort" on a beautiful section of Long Beach around a point which means that it has a great feeing of being the only resort on Long Beach! As mentioned in the other reviews the Bungalows are simple and lovely with the two Beach front ones (number 1 and 10) right on the beach only a stones throw from the water. There are 10 Thatch Beach Brollys each with 2 really good Lounges setup in front of the Resort , as well as numerous comfy hammocks for the Guests to use.The Staff are absolutely fabulous and Mike the Owner is a mine of great information on things to do around the Island. So you can choose to either do nothing but relax, eat and swim in the crystal clear water, or go exploring . We did 3 days relaxing & 4 days exploring both the North and South of the beautiful Island on a Motorbike hired from the Resort, stopping for delicious seafood Meals at little fishing villages and swimming off deserted white sand beaches along the way. We returned home Last week and have booked to go back again for another two weeks later in the year - it was Absolute Bliss

  • Liked — The Position, Tranquillity, Staff and Simplicity
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    68
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
139
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

From the moment I was met at the airport to when I left two weeks later I couldn't have wished for a more enjoyable stay. All the staff were most helpful and welcoming, especially Sang who couldn't do enough to help the guests. Mike, the owner, was a great source of infomation and helped everyone enjoy their stay. The bungalows (I had to stay in 3 different ones as the best were fully booked five months earlier!) were clean and comfortable with everything I required including hot water. The small restaurant offered a wide variety of good food and drinks at very reasonable prices. I hope to return in a year or so - before the new international airport and the large hotels are completed.

  • Liked — spacious, clean bungalows with hot water
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I just returned from an amazing stay at The Beach Club - three nights and four days and there was nothing I would change! This place is off the beaten path, and just far enough away that you feel like you're protected from tourists. I can compare it to the Tropicana Resort since we got in a day early, we had to randomly find a hotel. The Beach Club was leaps and bounds better - excellent restaurant (the fruit juices are amazing - we ate there every night since we couldn't imagine anything being better!), the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is so sweet and willing to take care of anything you need. And it's an amazing bargain - 3 nights, 4 days, all food and drink was $137. People staying at other places came to the Beach Club day and night for meals and to hang at the beach. No complaints at all - best part of our vacation!!

  • Liked — Off the beaten path, relaxed and just perfect vacation.
  • Disliked — Cold water showers in the rooms, but can be overlooked and the cool shower is great in the hot weather!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

We contacted Mike, the owner by email and he reserved a beach bungalow for us. that easy. We had similar experiences to the others on this site that have expressed positive reviews. The Beach Club is simple, relaxing, and in a beautiful spot. We just layed about on the beach cots and ate at the restaurant. Everything is within a few feet of each other. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our 3 nights there were a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We had four days here in October. The food is reasonable although prices are 4 times higher than anywhere else in Vietnam as they have you captive here. Also laundry is $4.00 US a kilo, also 4 times higher than anywhere else in Vietnam. The rooms are clean and very basic (fans and cold water only unless you are in the huts that have hot water) and for $20.00 US a night it is what it is.

It was not peaceful while we were here, the large mansion next door is being renovated and there was constant construction noise, diesel motors blowing smoke all over us right next to our deck chairs on the beach.

As you are driving from the aiport you realise how remote you are from anywhere. If you are off on excursions all day diving etc. it is peaceful at night to come back to, a bit too peaceful for us though. Also the beach is kept very clean directly in front of the property however 2 feet either side the rubbish is horrendous and goes for the length of the beach, we would not go back in the water after running into fluorescent light tubes, glass bottles and light globes that littered the water. It may be nice to see the livestock appear on the beach, however they use the sand as their bathroom...not pleasant.

The young lady managing it is great (as is the young man), however when she is out the staff lay around in the hammocks and the local ladies peddling their massages take over the beach lounges, not a good look. Maybe Mike should pop in unannounced once in a while.

There are better choices that Beach Club, do your homework.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed at the Beach Club in October for 4 nights - and it certainly was the absolute highlight of our whole Sotheastasia trip.
The bungalows and rooms are simple but you don't need anything more if you can lie in a hammock watching the ocean, swim in the really warm water, watching the sunset and enjoying the yummy food at the bar/restaurant (the pancakes and the Vietnamese stuff were among our favourites). We could have stayed the whole 4 days just at the beach being lazy but when we arranged a snorkelling trip at the reception, it turned out to be a great time too.
Mike and the rest of the staff were superhelpful and we felt very much at home! Thanks for everything!

  • Liked — the beach, the hammocks, the sunsets, the food
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

I contacted Sang directly who gave me the right advice about making our journey to the hotel. Firstly she is wonderful! The Beach Club itself is also great! We stayed for 2weeks and had a great time. We were there through the rainy season which suited us just fine. Lots of reading, sleeping, walking and swimming when the sun came out. The hotel is a good walk from town which suited us nicely, no noise! We loved evey minute we stayed there and the food is sensational. We are going back for more! We stayed in a room which had no hot water and there is no internet but it wasn't cold and a break from the computer was just what we were looking for. The Beach Club has been the highlight of our 2 month trip through Vietnam. A big thank you to Sang, Com and the wonderful staff there. We think you are fantastic and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Liked — Sang! It is s super friendly, very clean and so cosy!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Address: Ap Cua Lap | Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Beach Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Beach Resort Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.