We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Hotel prides itself on its colonial French theme (it is owned by a French company) and is simple beautiful. I have a slight issue with the whole concept of colonialism but as long as you can brush it aside as well as the pure opulence on a poor fishing island, then it is paradise. The room is large and welcoming as are the staff and they cannot do enough for you. the only problem I had is that I do not eat meat and trying to translate that to a culture that has, by necessity, eaten just about everything, was not easy...I wished I had taken a basic course in Vietnamese as I felt totally inadequate and rather ignorant.
Beach is on the door step and it is tropical heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    165
    55
    13
    5
See reviews for
99
479
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The setting of this colonial style hotel is very nice. Lovely gardens overlooking the beach. Very well decorated and appointed. We chose the suites and were lucky to have one on the front row with a uninterrupted view of the sea.
It was very relaxing to sit on our little veranda at night and watch the sunset.
Our children, however, were tucked away at the far end of the building were the rooms are located. Although the rooms are very nice as well we felt it a little strange that our children got allocated the room as far from ours as they could possibly find. When I asked reception their answer was "the travel agency did not ask for the children to be close to their parents". As there was no other room available according to reception (hotel was definitely not full on our first night), we had to book them into a suite as well, at extra cost of course.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, service was always with a smile. Some staff clearly lacked a basic level of English but they made up for that with their willingness to please the guests.

Had lunch at "the Garden" restaurant and really enjoyed it. Had a superb dinner at the Peppertree Restaurant as well. In both cases however, the service was unexpectedly slow.
The management clearly has to work on some issues. We were quite surprised to be put on a "waiting list" for Saturday morning breakfast.....; On the busiest morning of the week, staff were busy mowing the lawn and started on maintenance work right in front of the restaurant.
We asked for a late check out and were offered a room to stay in until our departure to the airport. After checking out of our suites at 12 noon we had to wait until 2 pm before we could go to the room, which left us with just 30 minutes to "enjoy" the room...
On Thursday and Friday night there was a live band playing on the veranda. Quite nice, but personally we did not enjoy them continuing until well after 11 pm. And very unfortunately the DJ from the bar next door took over after that........

These were all not major issues, but not things you would expect for a hotel of this level and for the price we paid for the suites.

The beach at La Veranda was kept clean, unfortunately the same can not be said about the direct neighbours. We made long walks along Long Beach and were saddened to see so many hotels/hostels being very unkept with dirty beaches.
It makes you wonder were Phu Quoc is heading, especially with all the new "over the top" construction they are planning......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I spent almost two weeks on Phu Quoc in October 2013. It was our second visit to the island and we split the days in two places, Chen Sea Resort and La Veranda. We expected La Veranda to be the best of the two places, but it was not.
The location is nice with a lot of restaurants along the beach, but still a relaxing location. The architecture of La Veranda is very nice, but the service could have been better. The breakfast is fantastic with a selection of everything you can imagine to eat in the morning. Evening dinner was a disappointment. It was the most expensive one we had on the island, and maybe the worst of all meals. My wife had a chicken dish as main cource and I had a beef dich. Both meals had meat with bone, fat and other parts you could not eat. The service was poor, so it was our only meal at the resort. Some of the much cheaper places along the beach turned out to be a lot nicer.

We had a free sunset drink included in our booking and when we asked where and when we could get it, the response was just a question if we had booked a table for the evening dinner, which we did not wanted.

There was some maintenance work going on at the beach and when the painters are cleaning their equipment in the sea, turning the water all white in paint, I tried to complain to the staff since it is not what you expect from a luxury resort. The staff did not speak English, but I told the general manager who reacted promptly and excused the behaviour of the painters.

No big issues maybe, but issues like this made us like Chen Sea Resort much more than La Veranda.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear RagnarfromOslo ,
Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent stay at La Veranda Resort.
I am sorry to figure some did not meet your expectations.

Am sure your comments are made in a very constructive manner and I thank you for that.
We appreciate all feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service.

Your notes were shared immediately with our Food & Beverage Team and our Executive Chef who will endeavor to adjust his cuisine to larger number of guests. Sequences of service have recently been reviewed to allow a faster and smoother service. We usually ensure our staff communicate specificities of Vietnamese cuisine whereas some dishes are expected to be served with bones or more fat it is expected in other countries so this can be adjusted to your taste.

It seems there was also a miscommunication when you wanted to take advantage of the free cocktail and I would like to address my apologies or that. Please kindly note English classes are part of our ongoing training to all our service staff.

I sincerely hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Veranda for nine days in October. We decided on the suite room which I would strongly recommend we had an uninterrupted view of the sea from the bedroom and the patio area. The room itself was large and very tastefully furnished. The patio had two large loungers table and two chairs when we came back in the evening candles had been lit on the table of the patio and a plate full of sweet treats which unfortunately we did not have the willpower to resist. We cannot fault the staff, they were courteous and efficient.The beach was very clean but as the dry season had not arrived we had high winds and large waves nearly every day but the swimming pool was great. The breakfast was good but the a la carte menu for dinner was amazing, expensive by Vietnamese standards but good value by European, wine at the time was reduced by 20% as they introduced a new selection and as a result we tried quiet a few of them.There are bars and restaurants nearby if you feel like a change of scenery.My wife was disappointed with two treatments in the spa and went elsewhere I had one treatment but found it poor quality

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear gd330,

We very much appreciate you have taken the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Veranda Resort, Phu Quoc, part of the unique MGallery Collection of hotels and resorts.

It's always a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback and it will be a big encouragement to all of our staff as we always strive hard to exceed guests' expectation.

We do thank you for the positive comments you have made about the property in general and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

When intimate, beautifully designed hotels are an integral part of any author's mystery novels, they must first experience staying at La Veranda Phu Quoc Island. Placed in a serene tropical setting, this is a gem at truly international standard, stylish small hotel (44 rooms) colonial inspired building, situated right on the beach - Long Beach - reached by car. It is a short ride from the new international airport that enters along a windy unsealed road lined with palm trees, small cafes and shops. You will know you have arrived at a very special corner of the world. A place unique, intimate and beyond compare - an oasis away from the mainland's hustle, bustle and noise of motor biles and other traffic.

The verandas surrounding the hotel after which the hotel is named, are the perfect serene spot for writing a thriller or mystery novel as I can see a potential Agatha Christie or even Somserset Maughan lounging in a cane chair spending hours quietly sipping a gin and tonic or even having a Vietnamese version of tiffin in the peace and quiet listening to the surf, bird song and rustle of the wind in the palm trees plus watching the butterflies flitter through the foliage. There is loads of inspirational atmosphere here! Fans stir the air, beating down from high ceilings that ensure a breeze and enhance the tropical atmosphere. The gardens have lovely flowers, vines and palm trees abound. Th internal decor is wonderful and painted in very stylish colours with generous ensuited bedrooms, a small veranda and romantic but practical mosquito netted beds.

A short taxi ride to the main township and small village of Duong Dong - which seems still unchanged in it's unspoilt state (but not very clean) - is quite picturesque overlooking the water and various colourful fishing boats.

To get a sense and sight of the island, I recommend a south island tour. It won't be long before Long Beach has big international hotels lined up along the foreshore; the tour includes a visit to the Museum which was a former prison for many years. It is an interesting spot to stop offering a potted history of the American War along with tiger cages; a drive past pepper trees and lunch at Sao Beach at your own cost which is a protected white sand beach located on the south east side of the island.

Phu Quoc is only an hour away by air from Ho Chi Minh city so a short flight lands you right into a different atmosphere entirely from elsewhere in Vietnam that I have experienced. Highly recommended, La Veranda's staff were marvellous to me and full of concern as I arrived suffering from food poisoning from my dinner the night before in HCMC - make sure the seafood is fresh and the eyes of the prawns aren't dull!!!

A delightful secluded hotel in amongst the palm trees.

Room Tip: Don't expect views over the sea as this hotel is settled into palm trees and tropical foliage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Hawaiijr,

Thank you for taking the time to fill these comments on our best communication channel Tripadvisor.

This will definitely allow others who have not enjoyed Vietnam nor Phu Quoc Island yet to get a realistic and objective overview of what they are missing.

We are delighted that you had enjoyed your time here. We are actually enjoying a lot too!!

Having such poetic verbs written about Phu Quoc Island and La Veranda Resort certainly puts you on the top list of our ambassadors of La Veranda and we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort is gorgeous. The room was really large and looked lovely. There isn't a whole lot to do on the island but the resort is a great place to relax.

Make sure to book a table on the veranda in the restaurant at sunset, the view is gorgeous.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Nicola E,

Thank you for choosing La Veranda during your holiday in Phu Quoc!

It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your accommodation and had fantastic moment at our Pepper Tree at sunset. For your information, relish the delicious meal while looking over the magnificent views of ocean and sunset is one of the most memorable moments that our valued guests highly appreciate at La Veranda.

Again, thank you for your nice comments about the resort in general. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and your loved ones back to us soon.

Yours sincerely,

La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in La Veranda for 3 nights and we really enjoyed it. The room was very beautiful even if it was quite small, the staff welcomed us very warmly, and all the facilities were great. It's the perfect place for a honeymoon ! The only thing I didn't enjoy much was the spa, not at the same level as the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Andrea P,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us!

We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodation and your compliment in relation to our room, facility and service will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Regarding spa service, any of your specific comment or opinion on this will be precious to enhance our wellness service, so please do not hesitate to email us.

We also do appreciate your valuable recommendation to further visitors and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Veranda in near future.

Yours sincerely,

La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection

Address: Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing west onto the gorgeous guff of Thailand, MGallery La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc has an atmosphere of intimate luxury and a wide stretch of white sandy beach which affords wonderful sunset view. Beautifully designed and inspired by the colonial styles of the past, the boutique resort is for those who love the Phu Quoc island ambience and the tranquility that a tropical beach setting brings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, Member Of The Mgallery Collection Hotel
Mercure Phu Quoc Island
Accor Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.