We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 pay 2
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is probably one of the best, if not the best I have stayed at in all my travels. The staff were absolutely gorgeous. Yes, there was abit of noise from the construction site, but it didnt ruin our holiday at all. An amazing stay and would definitely stay here again. Have recommended it to many of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    150
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
87
432
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for one week and despite two emails to say we would not hear the noise from the building work it ruined our holiday.The manager didnt even have the guts to come and speak to us and so we had to deal with his assistant who just said she would speak to him.Lovely hotel but management lacking in so many areas ie very poor bar service and breakfast food tasteless plus again service lacking.General opinion from other guests and us was that needed more hands on from management so could see first hand what was going on.Shame as again lovely hotel although area not a patch on Thailands better small beach resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We got met directly off the plane by a uniformed attendant who arranged for us to take a taxi (they usually have a shuttle bus but I think it had just picked up guests off another plane), unfortunately the taxi driver they chose took a pit stop on the way to the hotel to pick up some medicine leaving us in the car for a few minutes but once we arrived it was all good. They sit you down and give you a pretty full briefing (when in reality, all you want to do is check into your room and have a shower so perhaps it should be scheduled for later).

The place is really stunning, the views from the bar, across the private beach and from the pool are picture postcard perfect. They upgraded us to a better villa which was really lovely and this was spacious, stylish and airy. If we were nitpicking, we found the bed too hard (though typical of Vietnam) and although they say they spray insecticide monthly, there are mosquitoes, so we made use of the net around our bed. The beach and pool are great and as stated they regularly hand out water and snacks. The bar snacks and drinks are pretty reasonably priced (though of course more expensive than local places on the beach) but they don’t take the advantage as some luxury hotels do of keeping Western prices regardless of local prices, which was great. Same goes for laundry which was very reasonable and turned around super quickly. We also tried the spa – again very reasonable and in air-con rooms, only very slightly more expensive than the place next door on the beach which is not in air-con.

One downside we found to the stay was the staff’s level of English – we had by this time travelled pretty extensively in Vietnam and the general level of English we had encountered was better than the staff at Le Veranda – this could be a little frustrating say when we were arranging the spa. Generally if we were visiting a local hotel or restaurant we would be more understanding of the level of English but given this is an International hotel chain, we judge accordingly and it falls short, and shows there could be a better level of training. They were however all very welcoming and lovely.

The food was very good, we tried breakfast on our last morning and the buffet was very extensive, the food in the bar was the best value. The food in the restaurant was on par with other local places on the beach (though of course, better presented etc but a lot more expensive). Our worst meal in Phu Quoc was actually at the night market, to which they run a shuttle bus. We ate a lot at the places along the beach although the ever-present dogs and mosquitoes did spoil that experience that somewhat. One of the things we liked the least was the noise – in the day it was from the renovation, which although wasn’t too bad we were only a couple of villas away, so it was a pretty constant level throughout the day and then in the evening the resident hotel band play pretty loud music (with bass) till 10pm, so from a sit-in-utter-quiet point of view, it wasn’t the best. All in all though, a very relaxing stay and a very beautiful hotel & grounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is ideal for a beach respite after touring Vietnam. I believe the hotel is classed as having four stars but it certainly has aspirations to gain the other star. This is bourne out by the well motivated and professional approach of the staff to the guests needs, the attention to detail and the well appointed rooms. The whole property is well presented and there is a feel that one is staying as a guest in a grand residence. The public rooms are furnished in the art deco style and are very comfortable and partaking of a sundowner or three on the actual veranda is both charming and relaxing.
The hotel occupies a surprisingly small foot print with the accomodation arranged in terraced villas which are fairly close together but this is offeset by the well managed gardens and trees. We found that noise pollution was non existant, not withstanding building work close by.
The beach is immediately in front of the hotel and is clean and tidy but this appears to deteriorate the further one walks away from the hotel either side. There are beach restaurants here and I feel that the operators should be proactive in keeping their beach frontage clean and tidy, afterall it would make good business sense.
The hotel restaurant is very good with a fine ambience and attentive staff, indeed, the whole operation is overseen by Simon, the Food and Beverage manager who is almost always present. He runs his team very well and it is obvious that he is well liked in return, an excellent combination for success.
We stayed in one of the standard rooms which are situated in a two story villa close to to the lobby however we found them well appointed, with a very large bed, and all other amenities normally found in a 5 star hotel.
The hotel is about to open a new wing which has been constructed adjacent to the present buildings and has accounted for the noise mentioned in other reviews. This was present during our stay but should be completed this month.
Phu Quoc is worth visiting even though parts of the main town, which is near to La Veranda, are a little shabby and litter is ever present. The island is changing fast with new tourist investment but for the moment it still retains a certain charm. We enjoyed our five day stay at La Veranda and would certainly recommend it to other Vietnam travellers for a chill out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The pleasure of this beautiful five star resort is diminished by the constant construction noise coming from the building of the hotel's new wing. It starts at 7.30 am and on occasion goes until 8.00 pm. The noise is so penetrating that it can be heard from the beach, in the restaurant and at the pool. We were very irritated that we were given a room right next to the building site and met with a wall of passive aggression from management when we requested a room change. Although this was finally agreed, the experience left us feeling disenchanted with our time here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This must be the time to visit Phu Quoc, an idyllic island, before more hotels line the beaches and the new airport opens and the roads are finished! La Veranda is a lively resort with delightful and attentive staff, the breakfasts and bar snacks are excellent but the restaurant service is slow and the quality of the food patchy. Johnstours do good trips with safe drivers and good guides. Bai Sao is a beautiful unspoilt beach and worth the drive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner and I recently spent a long weekend at La Veranda. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well kept. We went in the off-peak season so the beach was quiet and very relaxing - every hour or so hotel staff were bringing treats of ice-cream, yoghurt or water which was a nice surprise. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was of very high quality and quite reasonably priced for a hotel. We also ate at Amigos next door which is owned by an Australian couple - while they don't have an extensive menu it was a good quick cheap option for a meal and drink.
The room was clean and quite big, it had a comfy bed (sometimes difficult to find in Vietnam) and nice bathroom. The staff were all incredible, always checking that everything was okay and genuinely wanting to help in anyway.
The only negatives (very small) were both remotes for our iPod dock and DVD player had flat batteries and the television was small and outdated- wouldn't normally be a problem but we had a day of rain so made use of the DVDs the hotel loans out. Also the construction work next door at times did get loud - the hotel is currently expanding.
We had an amazing experience at this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection

Address: Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing west onto the gorgeous guff of Thailand, MGallery La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc has an atmosphere of intimate luxury and a wide stretch of white sandy beach which affords wonderful sunset view. Beautifully designed and inspired by the colonial styles of the past, the boutique resort is for those who love the Phu Quoc island ambience and the tranquility that a tropical beach setting brings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, Member Of The Mgallery Collection Hotel
Mercure Phu Quoc Island
Accor Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.