We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for westerners who are used to the basic comforts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kim Hoa Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kim Hoa Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Kim Hoa Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88/2 Tran Hung Dao | Block 7 , Duong Dong Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not for westerners who are used to the basic comforts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 1 night, we read the reveiws but were desperate to arrange first nights accomodation, the lodging and food is very basic, the rooms have hard foam beds, airconditioners that don't seem to work, antiquated TV where all english speaking stations are static, and non of the staff speak English. The hotel is maybe 10% full, the staff indifferent and there seems to be more staff than guests. The pool itself is clean, the dirty wooden slat pool lounges are beyond repair and there are no facilities at all to suggest a "resort", the only inkling that this is a resort come from the words above the hotels name

On the good side the beach is clean and there are plenty of shade trees, the seating there is nearly as dismal as the pools, this is definately a resort for domestic tourists, if you like the constant hcccchup, the coughing up of phlegm, spittinng in the garden this is the place for you, I have heard it no less than 10 times in the past 2 minutes.

I would definately not recomment this hotel, for the price we would have been better off in a homestay for a week

Room Tip: maybe the more expensive bungalows, doubt the sleep quality would be any better but y9u might avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    38
    50
    32
See reviews for
31
74
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just got back from 6 days in a beach bungalow at the resort ... The reveiws do not give it justice .. Our room was cleaned perfectly everyday .. the A/C and fan worked fine and the Location was perfect .. The beach weas cleaned everyday when the tide brough in unwanted rubbish.. And massages for 5 dollars at my door step.. The pool was fantastic.. Yes there is renovations but they are almost complete and I did not hear them once. The communication with staff isnt amazing but Phu Quoc is a new destination and I found this to be an issue across the whole island.. Staff were able to book us tours however and we even found an amazing cooking class which was a highlight.. I will say the table cloths in the breakfats room were in dire need of a wash .. That was the only thing that I was not happy about.. The beach location is also perfect i think its one of the best parts of long beach and walking into town was only 15 minutes ..We felt so safe there I even slept in a hammock on the beach one night ! Go Kim Hoa !

Room Tip: Definalty a beach bungalow absoloute paradise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I am certain that "back in the day" Kim Hoa was a fine resort. Not now, it is family run that clearly is more about collecting money than creating a good guest experience. The grounds and pool are lovely one you get past the trash at the entrance. That is the best I can do. The rooms are very old and in bad shape. Our room was musty and the shower area filthy. The beach area is very un-kept and very small compared to other beaches. We wandered to other beaches to enjoy the offerings at other hotel area's. the staff speaks little or no English (normally not an issue) however come check out time we had a very difficult time with our bill. One interesting fact is that "Mother Hoa's" mansion is also on the property so you can at least see where your money is going.

You can do a lot better on this lovely island. Give the hotel some space and maybe they will get the message.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ideal location on the beach in Phu Quoc. To be a 2 star hotel and the rate you pay this is what you can expect.

Staff friendly however it can be a bit tricky communicating as most staff only speak vietnamese. The beach bar serves delicious noodle and rice dishes, drinks and snacks at, to Europeans, very decent prices.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Kim Hoa Resort is an old Hotel built with the same charm as a hotel from 1960 in former East Berlin. It has two large emty restaurants and huge emty conference rooms. It is flanked by two hotel buiding with guest rooms where most guests live, 8 or 9 bungalows close to/almost on the beach, 2 pool view bungalows and 4 garden view bungalows. We booked one pool view room with separate beds and a garden view room with a king size bed. Both rooms where clean and OK even if they were getting old now.
It seems like also the hotel management believe it is time to make the hotel more modern. A big building project which among other things will add a third floor to the old hotel building is taking place while the hotel is booking guest too full price in all rooms. The hole area is filled with building dust and rubbish from the workers. Especially the pool view rooms should not have been used at all. The workers start seven o clock all days.
The breakfast buffet is definitely big enough, unfortunately is the vegetables and fruit not very fresh. We had early breakfast and it looked anyhow as everything has been on the tables for hours. The personell in the restaurant as well as the lobby were many persons, all friendly, with very poor English and totally ineffective. The said yes to all requests but nothing happened.
The beach, which is part of Long Beach, was pretty full but OK for the current number of rooms. There is however a big risk it will be crowded when the building project is finished. What was not very pleasant was the waste pipes coming from the hotel area directly into the beach. The smell was not nice, it was definitely sewers! Unfortunately this was not specific for this hotel. Sewers came from many other hotels as well. Long beach is crowded with hotels and nice restaurants and is close to the city. The question yo must ask yourself is if it is worth the smell. We have tested Ong Lang beach and Bay Sao beach as well and both are better beaches. Plenty of space and cleaner. It is far from the city which means no nightlife but also less dirt and sewers.
For the moment we dont recommend to book Kim Hoa due to the building works, and when it is finished wait till you can read reviews telling you if it get overcrowded.

Room Tip: For the moment we dont recommend to book Kim Hoa due to the building works, and when it is finished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked for the Christmas period on a last minute decision to come to Phu Quoc - it's beautiful by the way! Te only hotel really left was this one and it is indeed a poor hotel. The room was filthy when we arrived. Dust everywhere and the bathroom was also not at all clean. If we could have moved we would have. There was not even a bed sheet on the bed!! And I'm not kidding. We mustered the courage to try the breakfast on day 2 only to arrive at the restaurant to find dust across the floors and dirty soy sauce stained tablecloths on the only available table. Why anyone else would try this is beyond me. I should mention that at checking they even tried to upsell us $2 per day for a buffet breakfast. (Not born yesterday....). The restaurant on the beach is poor and served us warm beers the only one time we tried it; and the housekeeping staff even removed our aircon remote on day 3. Why? we will never know....... No ability to change singapore dollars to Dong by the way..... The ONE redeeming feature - it's on the beach and its close to some good restaurants! Thank God for that.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had been reading the adverse comments about this resort on trip adviser after booking but still decided to go and see for ourselves. What we found was a lovely setting in amongst huge amounts of greenery with coconut trees lining the beach. The pool was clean and the beach was clear only with the occasional plastic bag that would wash down from other locations.

We had 3 bungalows on the beach and although this resort was only 2 star rated we found everything we wanted for the price and the star rating. We had a little trouble understanding the staff sometimes but on the whole they were pleasant and went out of their way to assist us. The breakfast was limited but sufficient to get you through to lunch time. They were opening their BBQ and bar on the beach the day after we arrived and the selection of seafood along with chicken and beef dishes for BBQing was adequate. There was plenty of other restaurants around the area and within walking distance. On the whole it was an enjoyable experience and we WILL be going back there early next year .

Thanks KIM HOA for a fun time.

Gregg Sydney Australia

Room Tip: The bungalows on the beach are the best but for a lot less money you can have rooms away from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#3 of 6 in Duong To
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
0.9 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#25 of 51 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boulevard Hotel and Restaurant
Boulevard Hotel and Restaurant
#10 of 18 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Resort
Sea Star Resort
#6 of 18 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
#40 of 51 in Phu Quoc Island
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Hoa Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hoa Resort Hotel

Address: 88/2 Tran Hung Dao | Block 7 , Duong Dong Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kim Hoa Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kim Hoa Resort is located in heart of the Duong Dong Center, which designed as Colonial Style & morden style with coastline. It take 10 minutes from Phu Quoc Airport, 05 minutes from Dinh Cau night Market & 30 minutes from Bai Vong port by bus. The resort where has the best convenient position and beautiful landscapes, you can enjoy your nature life. Kim Hoa resort comprises 94 room: 80 hotel-rooms, 04 garden view bungalow,02 Swimming pool Bungalow, 08 Beach Front Bungalow and 01 VIP rooms. All room have their own terrace or private balcony with all amenities and comforts of a 3-star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kim Hoa Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kim Hoa Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim Hoa Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.