We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparitivly overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kim Hoa Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kim Hoa Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Kim Hoa Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88/2 Tran Hung Dao | Block 7 , Duong Dong Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Port Hardy, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comparitivly overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Overpriced compared to our other stays though SE Asia. The front office staff were nice and helpful though someone on the numerous person restaurant staff needs to learn a little English. Breakfast as minimal as it gets. Grounds, walks and corners are not maintained well enough to match the price. AC didn't work but that was resolved about as good as one could ask with a room change the first night and then repairs. I personally do no think the beach rooms worth the extra but once reserved and a credit card is given ........ I noticed quite a lot of plastic bags etc. in the water but that is a community training issue.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    35
    46
    29
See reviews for
29
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Hi there,

We stayed for 5 days in this hotel. the location was good. Form this pint you can rent a motorbike and easily access to north and south of the island (worth it).

The rooms are basic and fit the budget. Al tough there look old, we had a clean room every day.

The staff could need some training how to behave towards guests. All (minor) questions were too much for the staff and most ended up in a discussion between hotel and customer.

The last night we got 2 instead of 4 towels and when we checked out, they had to watch the video footage to make sure we didn't took them. So count your stuff ;-)

The last day of our trip we moved to the Neighbors (kim phuong hotel) and for less money we had a see view bungalow. So if you don't book upfront, definitely worth it to check this place.

Ps. In the street towards the hotel is a small and cosy bar, called D.S. bar. People that enter this place, are all in for a drink and some chat to hear about the good stuff to do in Vietnam.

Enjoy Phu quoc. Great place

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for $40 and it was worst value for money in my whole stay in Vietnam and Cambodia. Construction work started at 7am and continued til 11pm
Free breakfast very poor standard

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights, the room is clean, the bed only have a cover, they don't put a linen between you and the cover... The mattress is very comfortable and the pillows too. The towels look very white and clean and they change it every day. The staff is very friendly, they don't have a good english, but they try to help you as they can... The problem there was the breakfast... Poor menu with few options, not the best bread and no fruit. At the first day I ordered a Lemon juice because I don't like so much coffee, but it was ice with a few lemon juice... It's inside the beach and that a good thing! And you can have a massage in front of the hotel and it's very cheap! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

Room is ok for $250,000 vd per night. Room is ok for for the price n good location. At check out I have to wait for check out. We broke the small piece at the end of the tv remote thy already missing the back cover to the battery. The remote still working but they charge me $300,000 for the remote for a 12" old Samsung tv. I ask her that the ratty old tv remote is worth more than one night stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We came back & stayed at the Kim Hoa for two days and enjoyed our stay greatly.

Location was great and the staff was also great. Food was very good with slot of seafood.

All in all a good resort to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Even lots of comments ( bad/good ) , we tried to stay at Kim Hoa resort as introduced by friends . We loved the attentive and personal service that we received. We stayed in the Beach front bungalow and it was so nice. Our children loved the pool . The restaurant this year has improved greatly and served well compared to last year as my friends' opinion . The only thing I have to complain is the weather . It is raining sometimes cat and dogs , next year we will back from November , it is said that the best weather of Phu Quoc is from November till next May . I would come back again for sure because no where I feel like I could completely relaxed like it is here .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kim Hoa Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hoa Resort Hotel

Address: 88/2 Tran Hung Dao | Block 7 , Duong Dong Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kim Hoa Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kim Hoa Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kim Hoa Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim Hoa Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.